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Highlights 

 Permitting parents or guardians to opt out their eleventh grade children from the state-
funded administration of the ACT and SAT college admissions tests may reduce GRF 
expenditures for these tests. For every 1% decrease in participation, the state’s costs for 
the tests are projected to decrease by about $49,000 each fiscal year. 

 GRF costs to develop and provide a new, condensed end-of-course examination in 
American history and government will likely offset any cost savings to provide one less 
examination, at least in the near term. There may be some administrative costs for the 
Ohio Department of Education to implement the change in the state accountability 
system and graduation requirements and for districts and schools to realign curriculum 
or course offerings.  

 School districts and other public schools may avoid the costs of providing additional 
reading supports to students who otherwise would have been retained in the third 
grade due to performance on the third grade English language arts state test for the 
2020-2021 school year. 

 School districts may incur minimal administrative costs to form testing work groups that 
will examine testing and report findings and recommendations for testing reductions.  

Detailed Analysis 

Opt out of state-funded administration of ACT and SAT 

Current law generally requires all students in eleventh grade to take a college 
admissions test as part of the state’s College and Work Ready Assessment System. The bill 
permits a parent or guardian of a student in the Class of 2022 and onward to opt out their child 
from the test by submitting an opt-out notice to the student’s school. The Ohio Department of 
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Education (ODE) must prescribe procedures to opt out. The state contracts with ACT Inc. and 
the College Board to administer the ACT and SAT, respectively, to eleventh grade students in 
the spring of each school year. School districts choose annually which of the two college 
admissions examinations that their students will take. The state pays $40 per student for the 
ACT and $36.35 per student for the SAT. The ACT is, by far, the most popular option. For 
FY 2019, the state spent approximately $4.9 million from the GRF to administer both tests. A 
large majority of this amount, $4.4 million, was for the ACT. That year, about 122,600 eleventh 
grade students in public and nonpublic schools took either the ACT or SAT.  

Not all high school students intend to or will enroll in college. According to data from 
the Pell Institute, around 60% of Ohio high school graduates go directly to college. However, 
the percentage that will take the test is likely higher (perhaps substantially so) than 60%. Some 
students may plan to defer enrollment in college but still would be interested in taking one of 
the tests as a junior. In addition, the parental opt-out notice requirement makes it somewhat 
more difficult for students to forego the test than if it was purely voluntary. Ultimately, for 
every 1% decrease in participation, the state’s costs for the college admissions tests are 
projected to decrease by about $49,000 each fiscal year, assuming no change in the state’s cost 
per test. The table below estimates the state’s annual costs of administering the ACT and SAT at 
various hypothetical student participation rates, starting with a baseline of 100% under current 
policy, and the state savings under reduced participation rate scenarios. Any reduction in state 
costs for these tests would begin to accrue in FY 2021, when the Class of 2022 is generally 
required to take one of the college admissions examinations under current law.  

 

Estimated Cost of State-Administered ACT/SAT Under Various Participation Scenarios 

Test 
100% of 

11th Graders 
95% of 

11th Graders 
90% of 

11th Graders 
80% of 

11th Graders 
70% of 

11th Graders 
60% of 

11th Graders 

ACT $4,394,080 $4,174,376 $3,954,672 $3,515,264 $3,075,856 $2,636,448 

SAT $465,062 $441,809 $418,556 $372,050 $325,543 $279,037 

Total $4,859,142 $4,616,185 $4,373,228 $3,887,314 $3,401,399 $2,915,485 

Difference 
from 100% 
Scenario 

 
-$242,957 -$485,914 -$971,828 -$1,457,743 -$1,943,657 

 

End-of-course examinations 

Effective for students entering the ninth grade on or after July 1, 2019 (the Class of 
2023), the bill reduces the required number of end-of-course examinations from five to four by 
combining the American history and American government end-of-course examinations into 
one examination. Each examination costs the state $1.2 million annually to provide to school 
districts, other public schools, and nonpublic schools; however, ODE will incur costs to develop 
and provide the new, condensed examination and does not envision any cost savings due to the 
combination. It is possible that the state may realize savings in future years. The costs for these 
end-of-course examinations are paid from the GRF. ODE may also incur some related 
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administrative costs to implement the change in the report card and accountability system 
(including educator value-added reports used for evaluation purposes) and citizenship diploma 
seal requirements. There also may be some minimal costs for school districts and other public 
schools to realign curriculum or course offerings depending on how classes currently are 
structured. The bill does not change the state minimum curriculum students must successfully 
complete in order to graduate. High school students must complete one-half unit each of 
American history and American government.1  

Third grade reading guarantee 

The bill prohibits, for the 2020-2021 school year only, any school district, community 
school, STEM school, or chartered nonpublic school from retaining in the third grade a student 
who fails to attain the required promotion score on the third grade reading English language 
arts state test for that school year. A similar provision, enacted in H.B. 197 of the 133rd General 
Assembly, applies to the 2019-2020 school year. Under the third grade reading guarantee, 
schools provide additional supports in reading comprehension for a student in grades K-3 
determined to be off track in order to help the student meet the promotion score by the end of 
the third grade. In general, students who do not meet the promotion score are retained in the 
third grade. Students retained in the third grade receive intensive reading intervention services. 
Therefore, since fewer students will be retained in the third grade under the bill, schools may 
avoid costs associated with providing extra supports to the students who otherwise would have 
been retained (schools may opt to continue providing additional supports for students who do 
not meet the promotion score). As a point of reference, 5% (about 5,700) of third grade 
students statewide who were subject to the third grade reading guarantee in the 2018-2019 
school year did not meet the promotion score.  

School district testing workgroups; ODE report 

The bill also may minimally increase the administrative costs of school districts due to a 
requirement that each school district form a work group within 90 days of the bill’s effective 
date to examine the amount of time students spend on required testing and various other 
aspects of testing and to make recommendations within six months of forming on how to 
reduce testing amounts. Districts may incur at least one-time costs to start these work groups, 
which, in general, are to consist of the following individuals: (1) the district superintendent, 
(2) a district curriculum or testing administrator or designee of the superintendent, (3) three 
principals, (4) three teachers selected by the local teacher’s association, and (5) three parents 
of students enrolled in the district selected by the local parent teacher organization (or similar 
organization). If a district does not employ enough of the specified work group members, the 
bill exempts the district from the requirements it cannot meet. Upon completion of the report, 
a district’s work group may be dissolved, continue to meet, or be reconstituted in the future 
based on local need. Additionally, the bill requires a district board of education to consider the 
work group’s recommendations and to adopt an annual (instead of a single) resolution if it 
wishes to exceed statutory limitations on testing time. 

                                                      

1 One-half unit is generally equivalent to 60 hours of course instruction.  
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The bill will increase ODE’s administrative workload by requiring the Department to 
annually publish a report on the amount of time students spend on required state and district 
testing, including the following: (1) a disaggregation of testing required by the state and 
additional testing required by a district, (2) efforts to reduce testing time and increase 
instructional time, (3) caps on testing as described in current law and a list of districts that 
exceeded them, (4) the purpose and use of the required state and district tests, and 
(5) resources for parents.  
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