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Highlights 

 The bill creates 33 new nonstandard license plates, 32 of which are subject to current 
law’s minimum registration requirements of 150 applicants for the first year and 25 
applicants annually thereafter. 

 For each of the new nonstandard license plates where demand reaches the minimum 
threshold of 150 plates, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will: (1) collect at least 
$1,500 in fee revenues and (2) incur at least $615 in license plate production costs. The 
designated recipient organization will receive, depending upon the amount of the 
required contribution, a minimum of between $1,500 and $4,500.  

 Beginning in the second year, for each of the new nonstandard license plates that stays 
in circulation, the BMV will collect at least $250 in fee revenues and incur $4.10 in costs 
for each new set of plates issued. The designated recipient organization will receive, 
depending upon the amount of the required contribution, a minimum of between $250 
and $750. 

 For each “Ohio Sons of the American Legion” license plate issued, which is exempt from 
implementation and termination requirements, the BMV will collect a $10 
administrative fee and incur $4.10 in license plate production costs; the Ohio Sons of 
the American Legion will receive a $10 contribution. 

 The actual annual BMV fee revenue and cost, and related annual contributions paid to 
designated organizational recipients, depend upon demand for each of the bill’s 
nonstandard license plates each year. 

  

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-163
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 A person who applies for one of the bill’s 33 new nonstandard license plates generally 
must pay: (1) a $10 BMV administrative fee, and (2) a contribution ranging from $10 to 
$30. The “Ohio Carpenters” and “Stop Elder Abuse” license plates do not require a 
contribution.  

 The bill’s license plate provisions generally will have no direct fiscal effect on political 
subdivisions, the exceptions related to six of the new nonstandard license plates for 
which the recipient of the required contribution is a designated public school or a 
municipal corporation. 

 Starting with FY 2022, the bill’s prorated electric and hybrid motor vehicle registration 
fee provision will result in an annual decrease in revenue collected by the Registrar of 
Motor Vehicles and then distributed by the Treasurer of State to the Highway Operating 
Fund (55%) and political subdivisions (45%) for specified purposes related to roads and 
bridges. That decrease is expected to be less than $1 million per year but will ultimately 
depend upon the number of new such vehicles registered annually that otherwise 
would have been required to pay the full amount.  

 The bill’s modification of the amounts withheld from state Local Government Fund (LGF) 
payments to political subdivisions that operate traffic cameras may decrease the 
amount of LGF payments withheld from such subdivisions by approximately $1.6 million 
in FY 2021, and by roughly double that amount in subsequent fiscal years.  

 Currently, any LGF amounts withheld from local authorities that operate traffic cameras 
are credited to the Ohio Highway and Transportation Safety Fund; thus, the reduced 
amounts withheld from local governments would reduce revenue to the Ohio Highway 
and Transportation Safety Fund. 

Detailed Analysis 

New nonstandard license plates 

The bill creates 33 nonstandard license plates generally available to all persons with an 
eligible vehicle registered in Ohio.1 A person applying for a plate must pay: (1) a $10 Bureau of 
Motor Vehicles (BMV) administrative fee, and (2) a contribution ranging from $10 to $30.2 The 
table below summarizes each plate by name, including the contribution amount and recipient 
organization. 

 

                                                      

1 The “Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police” license plate is available only to a member or staff of the 
Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police or that person’s spouse. 
2 The “Stop Elder Abuse” and “Ohio Carpenters” license plates do not require a contribution. 
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Nonstandard License Plates 

Nonstandard License Plate BMV Fee 
Required 

Contribution 
Contribution Recipient 

A Kid Again $10 $25 A Kid Again, Inc. 

ALS Awareness $10 $25 ALS Association Central & Southern 
Ohio Chapter 

American Foundation for Suicide 
Prevention 

$10 $20 Ohio Chapter of the American 
Foundation for Suicide Prevention 

Archbishop Moeller High School $10 $25 Archbishop Moeller High School 

Bottoms Up Diaper Drive $10 $20 Bottoms Up Diaper Drive 

City of Twinsburg $10 $15 Municipal corporation of Twinsburg 

Cleveland Clinic Children’s $10 $25 Cleveland Clinic Foundation 

Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad $10 $15 Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad 

East Europeans of Ohio $10 $25 Eastern European Congress of Ohio 

Elder High School $10 $30 Elder High School 

Fairfield Senior High School $10 $30 Fairfield Senior High School 

Fallen Timbers Battlefield $10 $20 Fallen Timbers Battlefield 
Preservation Commission 

Folds of Honor $10 $25 Folds of Honor of Central Ohio 

Habitat for Humanity of Ohio $10 $20 Habitat for Humanity of Ohio, Inc. 

Hamilton High School $10 $30 Hamilton High School 

Harrison Central Huskies $10 $20 Harrison Central Jr./Sr. High School 

Healthy New Albany $10 $25 Healthy New Albany 

John F. Kennedy Catholic School $10 $20 John F. Kennedy Catholic School 

La Salle High School $10 $30 La Salle High School 

Liberty Center Local Schools $10 $25 Liberty Center Local School District 

National Council of Negro 
Women 

$10 $25 National Council of Negro Women, 
Inc. 
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Nonstandard License Plates 

Nonstandard License Plate BMV Fee 
Required 

Contribution 
Contribution Recipient 

Ohio Association of Chiefs of 
Police 

$10 $10 Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police 

Ohio Bullfrog $10 $15 Ohio Department of Natural 
Resources 

Ohio Carpenters $10 None N/A 

Ohio DeMolay $10 $15 Ohio DeMolay 

Ohio Sons of the American Legion $10 $10 Ohio Sons of the American Legion 

Ronald McDonald House Charities $10 $25 Central Ohio Chapter of the Ronald 
McDonald House Charities 

Ross High School $10 $30 Ross High School 

St. Charles Preparatory School $10 $30 St. Charles Preparatory School 

St. John’s Jesuit High School and 
Academy 

$10 $26 St. John’s Jesuit High School and 
Academy 

Stop Elder Abuse $10 None N/A 

Summit Metro Parks $10 $10 Summit Metro Parks Foundation 

Zero $10 $25 Zero, The End of Prostate Cancer, 
Incorporated 

 

License plate implementation and termination procedures 

Under existing law, a nonstandard license plate generally is subject to a minimum 
registration requirement and to related termination and revival procedures. For example, the 
BMV Registrar is not required to implement any legislation that creates a new nonstandard 
license plate until the Registrar receives written statements from at least 150 persons indicating 
that they intend to apply for and obtain the special license plate (R.C. 4503.78). If, during any 
calendar year, the number of new and renewal motor vehicle registrations involving the plate is 
less than 25, the issuance of that license plate may cease as of December 31 of the following 
year (R.C. 4503.77).  

Thirty-two of the bill’s 33 new nonstandard license plates are subject to these 
procedures. The bill specifies that those procedures do not apply to the “Ohio Sons of the 
American Legion” license plate. 
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Production costs and administrative fees 

The BMV currently produces nonstandard license plates via a digital print-on-demand 
process. The total cost to produce a pair of these plates is $4.10.3 Under the bill, a person 
obtaining such a plate must pay an administrative fee of $10, the purpose of which is to 
compensate the BMV for additional services required in issuing the plate. The administrative 
fees will be credited to the Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0), which is used 
in part to pay the BMV’s expenses related to titling motor vehicles, licensing drivers, and 
registering motor vehicles. 

 For each license plate that satisfies the minimum 150-person registration requirement, 
then, in the first year, the annual production costs for each license plate will total $615 
(150 persons x $4.10) and the administrative fees collected will total $1,500 
(150 persons x $10). 

 For each license plate in subsequent years that satisfies the minimum 25-person 
registration requirement (new and renewals), the administrative fees collected will total 
$250 (25 persons x $10). The annual production costs will total $4.10 for each new set 
issued.  

Contributions 

The required contribution paid for the issuance of 30 of the bill’s 33 new nonstandard 
license plates is credited to the existing License Plate Contribution Fund (Fund 5V10) and then 
paid to the designated recipient organization.4 The amount paid annually to such an 
organization will depend on the number of persons obtaining the plate for which it is the 
designated recipient.  

Changes to existing nonstandard license plates 

“Freemason” license plate 

The bill eliminates the requirement that a person be in good standing of the Grand 
Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of Ohio in order to obtain the license plate, which in effect 
makes it available to all persons with an eligible vehicle registered in Ohio. The bill also 
establishes a $15 contribution to be paid to the Charitable Foundation of the Grand Lodge of 
Ohio for scholarship purposes. Under current law, there is no required contribution. This 
provision has no direct fiscal effect on the state or political subdivisions. 

                                                      

3 Effective July 1, 2020, H.B. 62 of the 133rd General Assembly replaced the two license plate 
requirement that was previously in effect for most motor vehicles, including passenger cars, with a 
single license plate requirement. As a result, special license plate production costs may decrease by 
some amount. 
4 The “Stop Elder Abuse” and “Ohio Carpenters” license plates do not require a contribution, and the 
contribution for the “Ohio Bullfrog” license plate will be deposited to the credit of the existing Wildlife 
Habitat Fund. 
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“Girl Scouts” license plate 

The bill: (1) redirects the annual $15 contribution from the existing “Girl Scouts” license 
plate from the Great River Council of the Girl Scouts to the Girl Scouts of Ohio’s Heartland, and 
(2) requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles and a representative from the Girl Scouts of Ohio’s 
Heartland to contract for the national Girl Scout logo to continue to be displayed on the license 
plates. This provision has no direct fiscal effect on the state or political subdivisions. 

“Glen Helen Nature Preserve” license plates 

The bill redirects the $15 contribution received from the purchase of a “Glen Helen 
Nature Preserve” license plate from the Glen Helen Ecology Institute of Antioch College to the 
Glen Helen Association since the Association acquired the Glen Helen Nature Preserve from 
Antioch College in September 2020. This provision has no direct fiscal effect on the state or 
political subdivisions. 

“Gold Star Family” license plate 

The bill exempts an immediate family member of a person who died in a combat zone 
while serving in the armed forces who applies for, and is subsequently issued, a “Gold Star 
Family” license plate from paying all vehicle registration taxes and fees. These taxes and fees 
include the base vehicle tax, the deputy registrar fee, and any local permissive motor vehicle 
taxes. Under current law, applicants for the “Gold Star Family” license plate do not pay an 
additional fee for the license plate, but do pay standard registration taxes and fees. As a result, 
the state and local governments will lose some amount of revenue annually for each “Gold Star 
Family” license plate and vehicle registration that is either issued or renewed at no cost. In 
calendar year 2018, there were 842 active “Gold Star Family” license plates.  

The total annual cost to register a passenger car (state taxes and fees, plus local 
permissive motor vehicle license taxes) ranges from $36 to $66, depending upon the amount of 
local permissive taxes imposed in the district within which the vehicle is registered. The state 
taxes and fees total $36 and are distributed as follows: $20 to local governments, $11 to the 
Department of Public Safety for expenses incurred in the administration and enforcement of 
motor vehicle and traffic laws, and $5 to the deputy registrar (or the Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
for mail-in and online transactions) as a service fee. The remainder, up to $30, consists of 
permissive local motor vehicle taxes that are levied by local governments in $5 increments, and 
cannot exceed $30 per vehicle.  

“Purple Heart” license plate 

The bill permits a person, who is eligible for both a “Purple Heart” license plate and a 
license plate imprinted with the International Symbol of Access indicating that the person is 
disabled, to apply for a single plate that displays both symbols provided the disability that 
necessitates the International Symbol of Access is a service-connected disability. The bill also 
specifies that after a person issued a “Purple Heart” license plate dies, the Registrar of Motor 
Vehicles must ensure its replacement with another type of license plate when the title to the 
vehicle is transferred. These provisions have no direct fiscal effect on the state or political 
subdivisions. 
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Electric and hybrid motor vehicle registration fees 

Effective January 1, 2020, state law imposed an additional $200 for each application for 
registration or registration renewal received for any plug-in electric motor vehicle, and an 
additional $100 for each application for registration or registration renewal received for any 
hybrid motor vehicle. The fees are transmitted by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to the 
Treasurer of State.  

The Treasurer is required to divide the money as follows: 55% to the Highway Operating 
Fund (Fund 7002), which is used by the Department of Transportation, and 45% among 
municipal corporations, counties, and townships. Use of the money is limited to: 
(1) construction, maintenance, and repair of roads and bridges, (2) operational costs of 
applicable state agencies, and (3) as a match for other revenue for these purposes. 

Registration fee proration 

The bill prorates the additional registration fees for plug-in electric motor vehicles 
($200) and hybrid motor vehicles ($100) based on the number of months for which the vehicle 
is registered. Currently, the fees are not prorated. As a result of the bill, the amount of fee 
revenue collected by the Registrar and then distributed by the Treasurer of State that otherwise 
would have been collected under current law will decrease. LBO estimates that, starting with 
FY 2022, under $1 million in fee revenue will be foregone annually. The actual amount of 
foregone fee revenue in any given year will depend on the number of new such vehicles being 
registered that otherwise would have been required to pay the full amount.  

Local Government Fund adjustments for subdivisions that use 
traffic cameras 

Under current law, a political subdivision (i.e., a municipal corporation, county, or 
township) that operated, directly or indirectly, a traffic camera during the preceding fiscal year 
is required to notify the Tax Commissioner, on or before July 31 in each year, of the gross 
amount of all fines collected from operating such cameras, including the gross amount of such 
fines that took place in school zones. Payments to such political subdivisions from the state 
Local Government Fund (LGF) are reduced by the amount of fine revenue collected by the 
political subdivision; any LGF amounts withheld from those local authorities are to be credited 
to the Ohio Highway and Transportation Safety Fund. The amount of fines for violations that 
took place in school zones will be refunded to local authorities, but that amount is required to 
be used for school safety purposes. Current law was enacted in H.B. 62 of the 133rd General 
Assembly, and the initial reductions in LGF payments are scheduled to begin in January 2021. 

The bill modifies the current penalties for a political subdivision that operates traffic 
cameras in the following ways:  

 Limits the amount of any reduction to a county undivided local government fund 
(CULGF) to the amount of the LGF payment the subdivision using traffic cameras would 
have otherwise received from that fund (it thereby holds other subdivisions in the same 
county harmless in the event that a subdivision in the same county collects a large 
amount of traffic camera fines); 

 Requires an LGF adjustment for a village with a population of less than 1,000 or a 
township also be applied against the supplemental LGF payments that village or 
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township would otherwise receive pursuant to a $12 million annual earmark for that 
purpose;  

 Limits the amount of state reimbursement of traffic camera fines to political 
subdivisions for violations in school zones to the amount of the subdivision’s LGF 
reductions; and  

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to increase the next CULGF payment for any county 
that incurred an LGF penalty in FY 2021 due to the operation of traffic cameras by 
another subdivision located within the county. 

The bill also clarifies that subdivisions are required to report, and LGF adjustments are 
based upon, traffic camera fines that are collected in the preceding fiscal year rather than 
traffic camera fines based on violations that occurred in the preceding fiscal year. The bill also 
establishes temporary procedures and computations to implement the bill’s changes in 
FY 2021. 

The bill would ensure that no political subdivision in the state experiences a reduction in 
payments from the LGF because of the policy choices of its neighboring subdivisions within a 
county. Department of Taxation officials report that 14 political subdivisions collected a total of 
$5.84 million in traffic violation fines using traffic cameras during the most recent fiscal year,5 
based on filings of the required report with the Department. Factoring in estimated LGF 
distributions prepared by the Department in calendar year 2021, the bill may decrease the 
amount of LGF payments withheld from local governments by approximately $1.6 million in 
FY 2021. The estimated amount is due to higher estimated fines for certain local governments 
that operated traffic camera programs in the previous fiscal year compared to the estimated 
distributions from the LGF.  

Department officials report that the current policy will be implemented starting 
January 1, 2021, implying the actual loss of LGF payments that will be withheld from local 
governments that operate traffic cameras in future fiscal years would be very roughly twice the 
estimated $1.6 million but would depend on the amount of fines collected from authorities that 
operate such cameras and actual LGF distributions. The reduced amounts withheld from such 
local governments would reduce revenue to the Ohio Highway and Transportation Safety Fund. 

The bill requires the Director of Budget and Management to transfer the necessary 
amount of money from the Ohio Highway and Transportation Safety Fund to the Local 
Government Fund (Fund 7069) for making the increased payments. The bill appropriates up to 
$3.2 million in FY 2021 for Revenue Distribution Fund (RDF) appropriation item 110969, Local 
Government Fund, for such payments.  

Currently, LGF payments can be made directly to municipalities or indirectly via a 
CULGF. In addition to those two channels by which a political subdivision may receive funding 
from the LGF, eligible small villages (i.e., villages with less than 1,000 in total population) and 

                                                      

5 A substantial majority of the fine revenue was collected in three counties: Trumbull, Columbiana, and 
Cuyahoga. 
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townships receive funding through supplemental LGF payments.6 Current traffic camera LGF 
adjustment law does not affect supplemental LGF payments to small villages with less than 
1,000 in total population and townships, but the bill subjects these supplemental payments to 
reduction for subdivisions that operate traffic cameras. 
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6 In each month, $1 million is set aside from the allocation of the LGF direct payment to municipalities 
and is reallocated through CULGFs for eligible small villages and townships. 


