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SUMMARY 

 Authorizes a person between 21 and 65 to apply for and renew an Ohio commercial 
driver’s license, driver’s license (motor vehicles and motorcycles), a motorcycle 
operator’s endorsement, or a motorized bicycle license on an eight-year renewal cycle. 

 Authorizes a person, regardless of age, to request and renew an Ohio identification card 
on an eight-year renewal cycle. 

 Makes the cost of an eight-year license, endorsement, or card twice the cost of a four-
year license, endorsement, or card, minus $1.  

 Makes the eight-year renewal option available on and after July 1, 2021. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Eight-year renewal cycle 

Under current law, most driver’s licenses (commercial and standard), motorcycle 
licenses, motorcycle operator’s endorsements, motorized bicycle licenses, and identification 
cards are renewable every four years. That is, when issued, the license or card has an expiration 
date that is on the licensee’s or cardholder’s birthday, four years after the date of issuance. 
There are a couple of exceptions to the rule, for instance: licenses issued to a person under 21, 
certain commercial driver’s licenses with a hazmat endorsement, or identification cards issued 
to a person who is permanently and irreversibly disabled.1 

                                                      

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the House Transportation and Public Safety Committee 
appeared in the House Journal. Note that the legislative history may be incomplete. 
1 R.C. 4506.14(A)(3) and (4), 4507.09(B), and 4507.52(A)(8)(b). 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-0
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The bill creates the option for anyone between the ages of 21 and 65 to apply for and 
renew a commercial driver’s license, a standard driver’s license, a motorcycle license, a 
motorcycle operator’s endorsement, or a motorized bicycle license on an eight-year renewal 
cycle. The bill does not require any person to use the eight-year renewal cycle and allows an 
individual to still apply for and renew a license with a four-year renewal cycle. However, the bill 
retains the requirement that persons over 65 apply for a license on a four-year renewal cycle.2 

The bill maintains current law’s initial expiration date (on the 21st birthday of the 
licensee) for all licenses issued to someone under 21.3 Additionally, a person with a commercial 
driver’s license with a hazmat endorsement must continue to use the four-year or less renewal 
cycle because of the five-year federal renewal period for the endorsement.4 

The bill also creates the option for anyone, regardless of age, to apply for and renew a 
state identification card on an eight-year renewal cycle, as an alternative to the four-year cycle 
required for most cardholders under current law.5 Similar to driver’s licenses, the bill does not 
require any person to use the eight-year renewal cycle and allows an individual to apply for and 
renew an identification card with a four-year renewal cycle. 

Costs and fees 

The bill keeps the cost of a four-year driver’s license or identification card the same as 
under current law. The cost of an eight-year license or card is twice the amount of a four-year 
license or card, minus $1. A cost comparison of the four-year to the eight-year option is 
provided in the table below: 

 

Breakdown of the renewal costs and fees under H.B. 372 

Type of 
identification 

Base Fee BMV Fee 

Deputy 
Registrar 

Fee6 

Vision 
Screening 

Fee 

Document 
Authentication 

Fee 
Total 

CDL (4-year)7 $25 $12 $5 $2.75 $1.50 $46.25 

CDL (8-year)8 $49.50 $23.50 $10 $5.50 $3 $91.50 

                                                      

2 R.C. 4506.14(A)(1) and (2), 4507.09(A), and 4511.521. 
3 R.C. 4506.14(A)(4) and 4507.09(B). 
4 R.C. 4506.14(A)(3). 
5 R.C. 4507.52(A)(8)(a). 
6 R.C. 4503.038 was amended in Am. Sub. H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly, raising the deputy 
registrar fee from $3.50 to $5. 
7 R.C. 4506.08(A)(3)(b), (B)(1), and (C)(1)(c). 
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Breakdown of the renewal costs and fees under H.B. 372 

Type of 
identification 

Base Fee BMV Fee 

Deputy 
Registrar 

Fee6 

Vision 
Screening 

Fee 

Document 
Authentication 

Fee 
Total 

Driver’s 
license (4-

year)9 
$6 $12 $6.2510 $1.50 $25.75 

Driver’s 
license (8-

year)11 
$11.50 $23.50 $12.5012 $3 $50.50 

Motorized 
bicycle 

license (4-

year)13 

$2.50 $12 $5 N/A $1.50 $21 

Motorized 
bicycle 

license (8-

year)14 

$4.50 $23.50 $10 N/A $3 $41 

Identification 
card (4-

year)15 

$3.50 N/A $5 N/A $1.50 $10 

                                                                                                                                                                           

8 R.C. 4506.08(A)(3)(c), (B)(2), and (C)(1)(f). 
9 R.C. 4507.23(C)(1), (F)(3), and (G)(3) and 4507.24(A)(1). A motorcycle license and an initial motorcycle 
operator’s endorsement are on the same fee schedule as a driver’s license. Subsequent renewal of an 
endorsement is linked to the renewal of the driver’s license and the BMV does not charge an additional 
fee for the endorsement. 
10 The deputy registrar fee and vision screening fee are combined in the statute with a presumed $3.50 
deputy registrar fee and a $2.75 vision screening fee. R.C. 4507.24(A)(1). 
11 R.C. 4507.23(C)(1), (F)(4), and (G)(4) and 4507.24(A)(2). 
12 The 4-year fees were doubled for the 8-year license. R.C. 4507.24(A)(2). 
13 R.C. 4507.23(D), (F)(3), and (G)(3) and 4507.24(A)(3). 
14 R.C. 4507.23(D), (F)(4), and (G)(4) and 4507.24(A)(4). 
15 R.C. 4507.50(B)(1). 
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Breakdown of the renewal costs and fees under H.B. 372 

Type of 
identification 

Base Fee BMV Fee 

Deputy 
Registrar 

Fee6 

Vision 
Screening 

Fee 

Document 
Authentication 

Fee 
Total 

Identification 
card (8-

year)16 
$6 N/A $10 N/A $3.00 $19 

 

Availability of the program 

The bill makes the eight-year renewal option available on and after July 1, 2021.17 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 10-17-19 

Reported, H. Transportation & Public Safety --- 
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16 R.C. 4507.50(B)(1). 
17 Section 3. 


