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Highlights 

Reinstatement fee waiver program 

 The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will incur one-time, likely no more than minimal, 
costs to establish a reinstatement fee waiver program. The ongoing annual costs for the 
BMV to operate the program will depend on the number of applicants.  

 The costs of any additional work for municipal and county courts to monitor compliance 
with community service programs and perform other related tasks is indeterminate, as 
the frequency with which a presiding judge will permit community service in lieu of 
driver’s license reinstatement fees is uncertain. 

 The bill may result in a loss of reinstatement fee revenue generated and primarily 
deposited to the credit of the Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0) if 
reinstatement fee waivers are granted to indigent persons, or if courts authorize 
offenders to complete community service in lieu of payment of driver’s license 
reinstatement fees, the annual magnitude of which is uncertain. 

 The bill may reduce the number of driving under suspension citations issued, which 
could create an expenditure savings effect for: (1) the courts and clerks of courts that 
process these matters and (2) the BMV, which administers the license suspension 
system. Fewer citations could mean a related loss in fines, fees, and court costs retained 
by counties and municipalities, as well as court costs forwarded to the state. Any 
expenditure savings and revenue loss would be minimal at most annually. 

Eight-year identification cards and driver’s licenses 

 The potential fiscal effects on the BMV can be summarized in the following manner. For 
each individual that opts for an eight-year identification card or driver’s license, there is 
a $1 loss in renewal fee revenue, a $1.86 decrease in card or license production and 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-68
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distribution costs, and a resulting net expenditure savings of 86¢. The magnitude of any 
net savings will depend upon the number of individuals who ultimately elect to obtain 
an eight-year card or license. 

Police and driver interaction education 

 The Department of Education may incur minimal costs to develop a model curriculum 
for instruction in grades 9-12 on proper interactions with peace officers. 

 Public districts and schools may incur minimal costs to update their high school 
curriculum to provide the required instruction on proper interactions with peace officers. 

 The training requirements are not expected to create additional costs for state or local 
law enforcement agencies, as the existing basic training curriculum satisfies the 
requirements and the number of continuing professional training hours that may be set 
by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, based on availability of funds for 
reimbursement, are unchanged. 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles procedural changes 

 The bill’s BMV policy and procedural changes will generally result in efficiencies for the 
Registrar of Motor Vehicles and deputy registrars. To the extent that any additional 
costs are incurred, they are likely to be minimal or offset by a corresponding fee.  

Orthotics and prosthetics licensure 

 The Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board may incur 
additional administrative costs to adopt rules establishing requirements for an applicant 
with unique and exceptional qualifications to be eligible for an orthotics, prosthetics, or 
orthotics and prosthetics license.  

Detailed Analysis 

Reinstatement fee waiver program 

The bill: (1) requires the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to establish a reinstatement 
fee waiver program, and (2) authorizes a municipal or county court to allow an offender to 
perform community service in lieu of payment of driver’s license reinstatement fees when the 
court determines the offender cannot reasonably pay those fees.  

Under current law, reinstatement fees are required in order to reinstate the driver’s 
license of an offender under a license suspension; however, the court may establish an 
installment payment plan or payment extension plan for an offender who cannot pay those fees.  

Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

The BMV will incur one-time, likely no more than minimal, costs to establish a fee 
waiver program for indigent persons to apply for and receive a waiver of all reinstatement fees. 
According to the Department of Public Safety, the bill’s fee waiver program would likely be 
modeled, at least in part, after the Reinstatement Fee Amnesty Initiative enacted by H.B. 336 of 
the 132nd General Assembly that was in effect from January 31, 2019 until July 31, 2019. The 
ongoing annual cost for the BMV to process applications, including making determinations as to 
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whether or not the person is indigent based on the bill’s definition, will depend on the number 
of people who submit applications for the fee waiver. 

County and municipal court workloads 

To the extent that a given court chooses to utilize its authority to grant community 
service, the court may experience some increase in administrative costs, as court personnel will 
need to establish service plans and monitor compliance. Considering this option would be 
exercised at the discretion of the presiding judge, the frequency with which community service 
requests would be granted is likely to vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction.  

Revenue loss 

License reinstatement fees 

The bill’s waiver program could have a negative, but indeterminate, fiscal impact on the 
state due to a decrease in fee revenue collected annually, the magnitude of which will depend 
on the number of offenders eligible for, and subsequently granted, a fee waiver or community 
service in lieu of payment. In addition to the number of requests granted, the magnitude of any 
loss experienced would also depend on the fee amount associated with the suspension for 
which community service was granted in lieu of payment, or the fee was waived. A precise 
estimate is problematic to calculate, as an unknown number of requests granted may involve 
offenders who otherwise would have not paid the reinstatement fee. Reinstatement fees range 
from $15 to $650 depending on the type of suspension. These fees are generally deposited into 
the state treasury to the credit of the Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0).1 

In Ohio, the most common type of suspension relates to noncompliance, or failure to 
show proof of insurance at a traffic stop or accident, which accounted for 1,291,905, or nearly 
39%, of the total number (3,293,740) of statewide suspensions in calendar year 2017. The 
reinstatement fee for this type of suspension is $100 for the first offense and up to $600 for 
each subsequent violation. 

Fines for driving under suspension 

As a result of the waiver program, some drivers who would have opted to drive under 
suspension if unable to pay their reinstatement fee would not be doing so if given the 
opportunity to perform community service in lieu of payment or had their reinstatement fee 
waived by the BMV. The result will be some reduction in the number of driving under 
suspension citations issued.  

Driving under suspension or in violation of a license restriction is generally a first degree 
misdemeanor, subject to a fine of up to $1,000, a jail term not to exceed 180 days, or both. Any 
resulting decrease in citations issued creates a potential expenditure savings effect for the courts 
and clerks of courts that process these matters, as well as the BMV that administers the license 
suspension system. Fewer subsequent convictions would mean a related loss in fine, fee, and 
court cost revenue retained by counties and municipalities, as well as statutorily required court 

                                                        

1 In addition to a contribution to Fund 5TM0, the reinstatement fee for certain license suspensions may 
be distributed to other funds as required by statute.  
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costs that are forwarded to the state. Any expenditure savings and revenue loss resulting from a 
decrease in driving under suspension citations would be minimal at most annually. 

Eight-year identification cards and driver’s licenses 

The bill, beginning July 1, 2021:  

 Authorizes a person between 21 and 65 to apply for and renew an Ohio commercial 
driver’s license, driver’s license (motor vehicles and motorcycles), a motorcycle 
operator’s endorsement, or a motorized bicycle license on an eight-year renewal cycle; 
and 

 Authorizes a person, regardless of age, to request and renew an Ohio identification card 
on an eight-year renewal cycle. 

The current renewal cycle for each is four years. The bill makes the cost of an eight-year 
license or card twice the cost of a four-year license or card, minus $1. 

These provisions may produce three state fiscal effects. First, there may be an initial 
increase in the amount of revenue generated by state identification cards and driver’s licenses, 
since an individual who elects to obtain an eight-year card or license would be paying the 
required fee at the beginning of the eight-year period as opposed to splitting the payment over 
two four-year periods. Essentially, for each eight-year card or license issued, the BMV would 
collect money four years earlier than it otherwise would have under current law.  

The second state fiscal effect would be a longer term decrease in the amount of state 
identification card and driver’s license revenue collected and available for use by the BMV. 
Since the bill sets the fee for an eight-year card or license at double the amount of a four-year 
card or license, minus $1, the BMV would ultimately collect a lesser amount from those cards 
and licenses than they otherwise would have collected for two four-year cards or licenses under 
current law. Since the card or license under current law is valid for a four-year period, the BMV 
would not begin to experience effects from any decrease in card and license revenue until the 
fifth year of an eight-year renewal cycle.  

The amount of any initial increase or eventual decrease in fee revenue noted in the 
preceding two paragraphs will depend upon the number of individuals who elect to obtain an 
eight-year card or license.  

The third state fiscal effect would be a potential savings in state identification card and 
driver’s license production and distribution costs that would occur in the fifth year of an 
eight-year renewal cycle. Currently, the BMV issues a new card or license to individuals every 
four years. For each eight-year card or license issued under the bill, the BMV would experience 
a savings in production and distribution costs because of not having to issue a new card or 
license when they otherwise would have under current law. The cost for the BMV to produce 
and distribute a state identification card or driver’s license is $1.86 per card or license. The 
amount of any potential savings in production and distribution costs experienced by the BMV 
will depend upon the number of individuals who elect to obtain an eight-year card or license.  

The result of the three above-described potential state fiscal effects on the BMV can be 
summarized in the following manner. For each individual that opts for an eight-year 
identification card or driver’s license, there is a $1 loss in renewal fee revenue, a $1.86 decrease 
in card or license production and distribution costs, and a resulting net expenditure savings of 
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86¢. The magnitude of any net savings will depend upon the number of individuals who 
ultimately elect to obtain an eight-year card or license. 

Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund 

As mentioned in the bill analysis, the amount charged for a state identification card or 
driver’s license is a compilation of several separate fees (base fee, BMV fee, deputy registrar 
fee, vision screening fee (if applicable), and a document authentication fee). The bill explicitly 
states that the $1 savings realized when purchasing an eight-year card is to be from the base 
fee, and for a license is to be from the base fee (50¢) and the BMV fee (50¢). Under current law, 
unchanged by the bill, these fees are credited to the existing Public Safety – Highway Purposes 
Fund (Fund 5TM0). The fund is used for the purpose of enforcing and paying the expenses of 
administering the laws relative to the registration and operation of motor vehicles on public 
roads and highways. The production and distribution costs for state identification cards and 
driver’s licenses are paid for with money appropriated from Fund 5TM0. 

State identification cards and driver’s license holders 

In calendar year 2018, approximately 7.8 million individuals had state identification 
cards and licenses that would qualify under the bill for an eight-year renewal cycle option. The 
following table shows the number of active state identification cards and licenses by type in 
that year. The renewal dates for those cards and licenses are uncertain. 

 

Active State Identification Cards & Licenses,  
Calendar Year 2018 

Type of Identification Card Total 

Permanent State Identification Cards 1,366,524 

Temporary State Identification Cards  95,658 

Total State Identification Cards 1,462,182 

Type of License Total 

Driver’s License Holders, Ages 21-64 5,990,157 

Commercial Driver’s License Holders, Ages 21-64 318,731 

Motorcycle License Holders, Ages 21-64 238 

Motorized Bicycle License Holders, Ages 21-64 36 

Total Licenses 6,309,162 

Total Identification Cards & Licenses 7,771,344 
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Police and driver interaction education 

The bill instructs the State Board of Education, in collaboration with the Department of 
Public Safety, to develop a model curriculum for instruction in grades 9-12 on proper 
interactions with peace officers that public districts and schools must use as part of their high 
school curriculum, and the Department of Public Safety to adopt the model curriculum for 
instruction in driver training schools. In addition, the Attorney General must adopt rules for the 
training of peace officers on proper interactions with civilians.  

Curriculum development and high school instruction 

There will likely be minimal costs to the Department of Education, acting 
administratively on behalf of the State Board, to develop, in collaboration with the Director of 
Public Safety, the model curriculum for instruction in grades 9-12. The state of Texas passed a 
similar bill in 2017. The Texas Education Agency anticipated minimal costs at the time of 
passage and found no additional costs in complying with the proposed rules to implement the 
law. In FY 2021, GRF funding of $4.5 million is specifically appropriated to the Department of 
Education to develop and communicate to school districts academic content standards and 
curriculum models.  

Public districts and schools may incur minimal costs to update their high school 
curriculum to provide the required instruction using the State Board-adopted model curriculum 
in at least one course already required for graduation. However, districts and schools can tailor 
the curriculum as necessary for their community, though any modification requires soliciting 
input from law enforcement agencies and driver training schools. 

Law enforcement training 

The bill requires the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission to recommend rules to the 
Attorney General to set forth rules governing the training of peace officers on proper 
interactions with civilians during traffic stops and other in-person encounters. The Commission, 
a unit of the Attorney General’s Office, oversees training requirements, curriculum, and 
certification standards for peace officers. According to staff, the bill’s training requirements 
already exist in the basic training received by peace officers. Thus, the bill will not create any 
additional basic training costs for the Attorney General or local law enforcement agencies. 

Under continuing law, the Attorney General, with the advice of the Commission, is 
required to adopt rules that set forth minimum standards for continuing professional training 
(CPT) for peace officers and troopers. The bill adds peace officer training on proper interactions 
with civilians during traffic stops and other in-person encounters to the list of specified training 
included in the minimum number of CPT hours. The Commission sets the required minimum 
number of training hours, up to 24 hours each calendar year, unchanged by the bill, based on 
the availability of funding for reimbursement. If no funding is available for reimbursement, then 
CPT is not required for that year. 

Department of Public Safety 

There will be no discernible impact on the Department of Public Safety to adopt the 
bill’s model curriculum on proper interaction with peace officers or to amend the Digest of 
Motor Vehicle Laws or any other related documents.  
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Bureau of Motor Vehicles procedural changes 

The bill makes changes to various BMV policies and procedures that will generally result 
in efficiencies for the Registrar of Motor Vehicles and deputy registrars. Those changes relate to 
motor vehicle titling, CDL medical examiner’s certificates, electronic services and transactions, 
driver’s license skills tests, adult abbreviated driving training, and Ohio credential reprints (i.e., 
a learner’s permit, driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, motorcycle operator’s permit, 
motorized bicycle license, or state identification card). To the extent that any additional costs 
are incurred, they are likely to be minimal or offset by a corresponding fee.  

Orthotics and prosthetics licensure 

The bill requires the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers 
Board to adopt rules establishing requirements for an applicant with unique and exceptional 
qualifications to be eligible for an orthotics, prosthetics, or orthotics and prosthetics license, 
posing an administrative cost. Expanding the number of applicants eligible for a license may 
result in additional fee revenue, although any increase is expected to be minimal. The bill also 
requires the Orthotics, Prosthetics, and Pedorthics Advisory Council to provide 
recommendations for the requirements. Current law requires the Council to advise the Board 
on matters concerning these professions and meet at least four times per year. If developing 
these recommendations required additional meetings, the Board could experience additional 
costs to reimburse Council members for expenses and provide any required stipends.  
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