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SUMMARY 

 Authorizes a nonrefundable personal income tax credit for certain primary and 
secondary education expenses of a taxpayer’s student or dependent, up to $1,500 per 
student or dependent. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Income tax credit for educational expenses 

The bill allows an individual whose dependent received home instruction or instruction 
from a public, chartered nonpublic, or nonchartered nonpublic school during the school year or 
an educator of such students, to claim a nonrefundable personal income tax credit. The credit 
equals the taxpayer’s unreimbursed expenses for the taxpayer’s dependents or students on 
items such as books, supplementary materials, supplies, tutoring, educational field trips, and 
lessons (referred to for the purpose of this analysis as “unreimbursed educational expenses”) 
but excluding tuition fees or room and board expenses. The credit may not exceed $1,500 of 
unreimbursed educational expenses for each such student or dependent.1 The credit applies to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021.2 

For an educator to qualify for the credit, the taxpayer must be licensed as a teacher in 
Ohio, hold an Ohio-issued teacher certificate or permit, or provide home schooling to a 
student.3  

                                                      

1 R.C. 5747.38, 5747.08, and 5747.98. 
2 Section 3. 
3 R.C. 5747.38(A)(2). 
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Current educator tax incentives 

The credit authorized by the bill may be claimed in addition to existing state and federal 
income tax deductions that allow a qualified educator to deduct some of the educator’s 
unreimbursed educational expenses. Under continuing law, a kindergarten through 12th grade 
teacher, instructor, counselor, principal, or aide who works in a primary or secondary school for 
at least 900 hours per school year, may claim a $250 federal income tax deduction for 
unreimbursed educational expenses, as well as expenses paid to participate in professional 
development courses related to the teacher’s curriculum or students.4 Additionally, a teacher 
who is licensed in Ohio or holds an Ohio-issued certificate or permit may claim a similar state 
deduction of $250 for such expenses that exceed what the teacher may claim under the federal 
deduction.5  
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4 26 United States Code 62(a)(2)(D). 
5 R.C. 5747.01(A)(31), not in the bill. 


