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SUMMARY

®  Decreases the minimum duration of active-duty service for a veteran, or a veteran’s
spouse or dependents, to qualify for in-state tuition from one or more years to 15 or
more days.

DETAILED ANALYSIS

Expanded eligibility for veterans to receive in-state tuition

The bill expands eligibility for in-state tuition at state institutions of higher education by
revising one of the pathways that a veteran, or a veteran’s spouse or dependents, may use to
qualify as an Ohio resident. Specifically, the bill qualifies any of those individuals for in-state
tuition if the veteran served 15 or more days on active military duty or activity duty for training
in any year of service. Under current law, the veteran must have served one or more years on
active military duty.?

Continuing law, unchanged by the bill, further requires the veteran to have been
honorably discharged or received a medical discharge related to military service. It also requires
the veteran, spouse, or dependent to have established a permanent home in Ohio as of the first
day of the institution’s term of enrollment, unless the veteran died subsequent to being
discharged. In that case, only the spouse or dependent must establish a permanent home.?

LR.C. 3333.31(B)(1)(a).
2 R.C. 3333.31(B)(2).
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A state institution of higher education is any of the 13 state universities, the Northeast
Ohio Medical University, a community college, a state community college, a technical college,
or a university branch campus.?

Background
Other pathways for veterans to receive in-state tuition
Unaffected by the bill, continuing law qualifies for in-state tuition:

1. The spouse or dependent of a veteran who was killed while serving on active duty,
declared to be missing in action, or declared to be a prisoner of war, provided the
spouse or dependent establishes a permanent home in Ohio as of the first day of the
institution’s term of enrollment;*

2. Aveteran who:

a. Receives federal veterans’ education benefits under the All-Volunteer Force
Educational Assistance Program (also called the Montgomery G.I. Bill) or the Post
9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Program (also called the Post 9/11 G.I. Bill);

b. Lives in Ohio as of the first day of the institution’s term of enroliment; and
c. Served on active duty for at least 90 days;> or
3. Anindividual who:

a. Receives either the federal Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship or
transferred education benefits under either of the G.I. bills;

b. Lives in Ohio as of the first day of the institution’s term of enrollment; and

c. Receives the benefits from either a member of the armed forces who is on active
duty or a veteran who served on active duty for at least 90 days.®

In-state tuition — generally

Continuing law requires the Chancellor to adopt rules defining in-state tuition status for
individuals enrolled at state institutions of higher education. Generally, the Chancellor must
deny in-state tuition status to any individual living in Ohio primarily to attend a state institution.
However, the General Assembly has prescribed a number of exceptions to the Chancellor’s
rules (including for veterans, their spouse, and dependents, as described above).’

3R.C. 3345.011, not in the bill.
4R.C. 3333.31(B)(1)(b) and (2).
> R.C. 3333.31(C)(1).

6 R.C. 3333.31(C)(2).
7R.C.3333.31.
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