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Highlights 

 The bill imposes a 4% fee on purchasers of 1.4G consumer fireworks sold in the state 
beginning 100 days after the bill’s effective date, to be deposited into the Fireworks Fee 
Receipts Fund, which the bill creates. The revenue that might be generated from the 4% 
fee on consumer fireworks purchases in Ohio is uncertain, but could be very substantial 
based on national sales data. The Fireworks Law is overseen by the State Fire Marshal 
within the Department of Commerce. 

 Seven-eighths of the revenue deposited into the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund will support 
firefighter training programs. One-eighth of the fee revenue will support the State Fire 
Marshal’s expenses in administering the Fireworks Law.  

 The bill creates a fountain device fireworks retailer license. The license fee is not to exceed 
$25 and is to be renewed annually, with the proceeds to be deposited into the State Fire 
Marshal Fund (Fund 5460). According to the Department of Commerce, it is estimated 
that over 2,000 locations could be licensed, thus yielding a potential $50,000 in annual 
fees from this source. 

 The State Fire Marshal will require four new staff (three fire safety inspectors and one 
assistant fire chief) to oversee these fountain device retailers. Pay and fringe benefits 
costs would be between $62,000 and $76,000 per inspector and $69,000 and $83,000 for 
the assistant fire chief. These costs would be paid from Fund 5460. 

 The bill extends an existing moratorium on issuing new and geographic transfers of 
existing fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2021, to 
December 31, 2022. The bill declares an emergency on extending these moratoriums and 
related provisions, meaning these particular provisions go into effect immediately. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-HB-172
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Detailed Analysis 

State Fire Marshal 

Four percent fee on consumer fireworks  

The revenue generated by the 4% fee on gross receipts of retail sales of consumer 
fireworks slated to begin 100 days after the bill’s effective date under the bill would be used by 
the State Fire Marshal within the Department of Commerce to (1) carry out firefighter training 
programs and (2) cover expenses related to administering the Fireworks Law. Specifically, the bill 
specifies seven-eighths of the 4% fee collected is to be used solely to fund firefighter training 
programs, while the remaining one-eighth of the proceeds from the new fee is to be used to 
regulate the fireworks industry. The fee will be deposited into the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund 
which the bill creates.  

The amount of fee revenue that may be received under the bill is uncertain but could be 
significant. According to the American Pyrotechnics Association (APA), overall sales of consumer 
fireworks in the United States totaled $1.90 billion in 2020. Although the amount of sales 
attributable to Ohio purchases is unknown, if the national sales data from the APA were prorated 
in proportion to Ohio’s population, the 4% fee on gross retail fireworks receipts could generate 
a substantial amount of revenue for firefighter training programs and administering the 
Fireworks Law. 

Fountain device retailer license 

The State Fire Marshal will also incur costs to oversee the bill’s requirement that fountain 
device sellers be licensed beginning 260 days after the bill’s effective date. The State Fire Marshal 
estimates that over 2,000 retail locations would require licensure. Consequently, new staff will 
need to be hired to oversee these locations and conduct inspections as required under the bill. 
The bill defines a fountain device as a specific type of 1.4G firework if it is all of the following: 
(1) nonaerial and nonreport producing, (2) recognized and manufactured in accordance with 
sections 3.1.1 and 3.5 of APA standard 87-1 (2001 edition), (3) a ground-based or hand-held 
sparkler with one or more tubes containing a nonexplosive pyrotechnic mixture that produces a 
shower of sparks, with or without additional effects that may include a colored flame, audible 
crackling effect, audible whistle effect, or smoke, and (4) contains no more than 75 grams of this 
mixture in any individual tube and no more than 500 grams of this mixture in total in multiple 
tubes. 

To cover these responsibilities, the State Fire Marshal estimates that it will need to hire 
three fire safety inspectors and one assistant fire chief. If that is so, based on the state’s employee 
classification plan, if fire safety inspectors are hired at the starting annual salary of approximately 
$46,000, it will bring the Department’s potential payroll costs to between $62,000 and $76,000 
per inspector. This includes $8,300 (18.1% of annual salary) to cover the employer’s share of 
retirement and the employer’s share of health insurance ($7,890 for single coverage or $21,601 
for family coverage under the state’s traditional health plan). Based on a starting annual salary of 
approximately $52,000 for an assistant fire chief, the Department’s potential payroll costs for that 
position would be between $69,000 and $83,000. This also includes $9,400 (the employer’s share 
of retirement as described above) and the employer’s share of health insurance (single coverage 
or family coverage as described above). The payroll costs for both the new fire safety inspectors 
and the assistant fire chief would be paid from the State Fire Marshal Fund (Fund 5460).  
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Under the bill, the fee for a fountain device fireworks retailer license is not to exceed $25 
and is to be renewed annually. The license fees will be deposited into Fund 5460. Given 
approximately 2,000 retail locations, the license fee could generate $50,000 annually (2,000 
locations x $25 license fee). 

Other administrative expenses 

The State Fire Marshal will also incur costs for enforcing the changes related to consumer 
fireworks in the Fireworks Law. The State Fire Marshal is required to adopt several rules including 
administering and enforcing the 4% fee and regulating the time, manner, and location consumer 
grade fireworks can be discharged. These costs would at least partially be offset by the additional 
funding from the 4% fee, one-eighth of which is to be used for these purposes. 

Geographic transfer moratorium 

The bill extends the existing moratorium on the geographic transfer of existing fireworks 
manufacturer and wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2021, as under current law, to 
December 31, 2022.  

Fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler license moratorium and 
one-time license period 

The bill also extends a general moratorium on the issuance of new licenses for fireworks 
manufacturers and fireworks wholesalers for a particular location until December 31, 2022, as 
opposed to December 31, 2021, as under current law. Additionally, the bill includes a one-time 
license period for new fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers to coincide with the end of the 
moratorium. Under the bill, any person, not already licensed, may submit an application by 
November 1, 2022, and receive a license on January 1, 2023. A license issued is valid through 
November 30, 2023. The current law fee for these licenses is $2,750, with the proceeds to be 
deposited into Fund 5460. Any additional license revenue collected as a result of the moratorium 
ending will depend on the number of new manufacturers and wholesalers wishing to sell 
fireworks in Ohio. Currently, there are six licensed manufacturers and 44 licensed wholesalers.  

Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee 

The bill creates the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review any 
sections of the Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. The 
Committee, to consist of 16 members from the public and private sectors selected according to 
criteria specified in the bill, is to submit a report and recommendations by not more than 100 
days after the bill’s effective date. Presumably, the State Fire Marshal could incur some costs for 
providing support to the committee and carrying out any recommendation the committee 
suggests and that are implemented. 

Usage of consumer-grade fireworks 

The bill contains several other provisions that affect local government oversight of 
fireworks. Chief among them is a provision that allows individuals to purchase and use consumer 
fireworks in the state. Under current law, consumer fireworks may be purchased legally in Ohio, 
but must be transported out of Ohio within 48 hours of purchase and may not be set off 
anywhere within the state. The bill changes this by allowing these fireworks to be set off within 
Ohio beginning on specific dates after July 1, 2022. These dates are: New Year’s Eve; New Year’s 
Day; Chinese New Year; Cinco de Mayo; Memorial Day weekend; Juneteenth; July 3, 4, and 5; as 
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well as the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following; Labor Day weekend; and 
Diwali. However, the bill also permits counties and townships, with regard to their 
unincorporated areas, as well as municipalities, to restrict the dates and times when consumer-
grade fireworks may be used or to impose a ban on their use. Altogether, allowing for fireworks 
to be used on certain dates, even with restrictions enforced by local governments, will probably 
reduce the number of fireworks violations issued by local law enforcement. 

New prohibitions  

Finally, the bill establishes new prohibitions on the negligent use of fireworks. The first 
new prohibition bars anyone from using fireworks of any kind while under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor, alcohol, or controlled substances. This would be a first degree misdemeanor, 
to which a disorderly conduct violation could also attach. The second new violation would 
prohibit anyone from negligently using fireworks on someone else’s property without their 
permission, a minor misdemeanor. Altogether, it may be that local governments incur additional 
enforcement costs as a result of these violations. The additional cost would to some degree be 
offset by revenue from the additional fines collected for these violations. 

Emergency clause 

The bill declares an emergency on extending a moratorium on new, and geographic 
transfer of existing, fireworks wholesaler and manufacturer licenses, and related end-of-
moratorium provisions. Due to the emergency clause, those provisions will be effective 
immediately. 
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