

Ohio Legislative Service Commission

Office of Research and Drafting

Legislative Budget Office

Substitute Bill Comparative Synopsis

Sub. H.B. 509

134th General Assembly

House State and Local Government

Joe McDaniels, Division Chief/Attorney and other LSC staff

This table summarizes how the latest substitute version of the bill differs from the immediately preceding version. It addresses only the topics on which the two versions differ substantively. It does not list topics on which the two bills are substantively the same.

Previous Version (I_134_2222-2)	Latest Version (I_134_2222-3)
Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board	
Eliminates temporary licenses for independent social workers, professional clinical counselors, marriage and family therapists, and independent marriage and family therapists (R.C. 4757.02, 4757.22, 4757.27, and 4757.301, repealed).	Similar to I_134_2222-2, but restores current law permitting the Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board to issue a temporary marriage and family therapist license (R.C. 4757.02 and 4757.301).

Previous Version (I_134_2222-2)	Latest Version (I_134_2222-3)	
State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services		
Requires the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services to adopt rules to allow local entities that employ firefighters to determine the minimum number of training hours required for certification (<i>R.C. 4765.55</i>).	Restores current law requiring the Executive Director of the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services to adopt rules prescribing the number of training hours for certification as a firefighter. Limits the amount of training that may be required for full-time paid firefighters and part-time paid firefighters to 36 hours, the same limit that applies to volunteer firefighters under continuing law (current administrative rules generally require 160 hours of training for a Firefighter I certification, and 240 hours of training for a Firefighter II certification). (R.C. 4765.55.) ¹	
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors		
No provision.	Allows a college student to apply to be a funeral director apprentice, embalmer apprentice, or combined funeral director and embalmer apprentice (R.C. 4717.05).	
Board of Nursing		
Eliminates dialysis technician intern certificates, but continues to authorize an individual who has successfully completed an approved dialysis training program within the previous 18 months to practice as a dialysis technician intern, so long as the individual is under the supervision of a certified dialysis technician.	Similar to l_134_2222-2, but removes the requirement that a dialysis technician intern must practice under the supervision of a dialysis technician, and instead specifies that both dialysis technicians and interns must be supervised by a physician, physician assistant, or registered nurse (under current law dialysis technicians and interns must be supervised by a physician or registered nurse).	

¹ EMS & Fire Certifications, which may be accessed by conducting a keyword "fire service certificates to practice" search on the Ohio Emergency Medical Services website: ems.ohio.gov.

Previous Version (I_134_2222-2)	Latest Version (I_134_2222-3)
Eliminates a requirement that the Advisory Group on Dialysis, which exists under the Board of Nursing, must advise the Board regarding the qualifications, standards for training, and competence of dialysis technician interns. (R.C. 4723.01, 4723.08, 4723.091, 4723.092, 4723.71, 4723.72, 4723.73, 4723.75, 4723.76, repealed, 4723.79, and 4723.88.)	Restores current law. (R.C. 4723.71 and 4723.72.)
Board of Pharmacy	
Sets pharmacist continuing education at 30 hours every 2 years, instead of having continuing education requirements set by the Pharmacy Board in rules (R.C. 4729.12).	Same as I_134_2222-2, but clarifies that the change does not apply to pharmacy interns, which do not have specific continuing education requirements under continuing law (R.C. 4729.12).
Board of Psychology	
No provision.	Changes the license renewal period for school psychologists from 2 years to 5 years.
No provision.	Reduces the hours of continuing education required for school psychologists to 18 hours every 5 years (currently 23 hours every 2 years).
No provision.	Reduces the school psychologist license registration fee to \$200 every 5 years (currently \$365 every two years). (R.C. 4732.14, 4723.141, and 4732.142).

Previous Version (I_134_2222-2)	Latest Version (I_134_2222-3)
State Vision Professionals Board	
Eliminates the registration requirement for apprentices and instead specifies that a person gaining experience under a licensed professional may do so without a license or other approval from the State Vision Professionals Board (R.C. 4725.41, 4725.48, and 4725.52, repealed, with conforming changes in R.C. 4725.07, 4725.40, 4725.44, 4725.54, 4725.59, 4725.66, and 4725.67).	Restores the current law registration requirement for dispensing optician apprentices and eliminates the fee for a dispensing optician apprentice to renew the apprentice's registration. Eliminates the proposed provision to allow a person to gain experience as an ocularist apprentice without a license or other approval from the Board. Prohibits, if the Board requires a person gaining experience for an ocularist license to register with the Board, the Board from charging the person a fee to renew the registration. (R.C. 4725.48 and 4725.52.)
No provision.	Requires to following licenses and certificates to be renewed biennially instead of annually as under current law: Certificates of licensure to practice optometry; Topical ocular pharmaceutical agents certificates; Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents certificates; Dispensing optician licenses; Ocularist licenses.
No provision.	Establishes a \$345 fee for issuance and renewal of a biennial optometrist license with a therapeutic pharmaceutical agents certificate (the current fee for issuance and renewal of an annual license with a certificate is \$175).
No provision.	Establishes a \$195 biennial initial license fee and \$195 renewal fee for a dispensing optician license (under current law, an applicant must pay a \$50 annual fee for an initial dispensing optician license and an annual renewal fee of \$100 established by the Board in rule).

Previous Version (I_134_2222-2)	Latest Version (I_134_2222-3)
No provision.	Establishes a \$195 biennial initial license fee and \$195 renewal fee for an ocularist license (under current law, the Board establishes these fees in rule; the initial license fee is \$50 and the annual renewal fee is \$100).
No provision.	Requires a licensee must complete the current law continuing education requirements annually but report compliance biennially. (R.C. 4725.16, 4725.17, 4725.171, 4725.34, 4725.48, and 4725.51.)
No provision.	Extends the duration of licenses or certificates issued or renewed on or after the bill's effective date and specifies that an optometrist license, topical ocular pharmaceutical agents certificate, or therapeutic pharmaceutical agents certificate in effect on the bill's effective date expires on December 31 of the even-numbered year following the bill's effective date and a dispensing optician or ocularist license in effect on the bill's effective date expires on January 1 of the odd-numbered year following the bill's effective date. Specifies that the licenses and certificates are subject to the continuing education requirements in effect before the bill's effective date. (Section 5.)
No provision.	Permits the Board to issue a cease and desist order if a person is engaging in prohibited conduct that has caused, is causing, or is about to cause substantial and material harm. With respect to a licensee, specifies that a cease and desist order is cumulative and concurrent with other disciplinary actions the Board may take against a person for a violation of the law governing the practice of optometry or the law governing dispensing opticians and ocularists. With respect to an unlicensed person, specifies that the Board may investigate a person engaged in the practice of optometry without a license and, if the person has engaged in optical dispensing without a license, notify the appropriate prosecuting attorney for further action. (R.C. 4725.19, 4725.231, 4725.53, and 4725.541.)