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Highlights

®  The Ohio Vision Professionals Board will realize one-time administrative and information
technology costs due to the bill’s provisions requiring biennial licensing and registration
rather than annual. In addition, the bill makes a number of fee adjustments that could
result in an overall reduction in fee revenues. There could be a corresponding decrease
in staff time for processing licenses less frequently. The Board uses the Occupational
Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90).

® The State Board of Psychology will realize one-time administrative and information
technology costs and a loss of fee revenues due to licensing process changes for school
psychologists (under the bill school psychologists will pay $200 every five years rather
than the current $365 renewal fee every two years). There could be a corresponding
decrease in staff time for processing licenses less frequently. The Board uses the
Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90).

" Other specific boards may also realize a loss of fee revenues in non-GRF funds due to the
provisions modifying their licensing processes, including eliminating certain licenses.
However, most of these impacts are anticipated to be minimal. There could be a
corresponding decrease in staff time since certain licenses will no longer be issued.
Impacts are discussed under each individual board below.

" Specific boards mentioned below could have minimal costs to make any necessary
adjustments to rules, websites, or printed materials due to the bill’s provisions modifying
licensing processes.

® All occupational licensing boards will experience a minimal increase in administrative
costs to prepare and submit the required report. A board that does not currently use the
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elLicense system may be required to do so if their report finds that the system could
improve the board’s issuing process. The Department of Administrative Services
administers the elicense system.

Detailed Analysis

The bill contains several provisions that affect specific boards or agencies. Individual
impacts are discussed under each board below. It is possible that all boards could experience a
minimal one-time increase in costs to modify any relevant rules or to update websites and
printed materials to address any process changes. In addition, there are general board provisions
that impact all boards.

Specific board or agency provisions
Attorney General

The bill eliminates an existing registration requirement for a person acting as fundraising
counsel and the associated fees and bonding requirement. According to the House State and
Local Government Committee’s Occupational License Review Report dated December 7, 2021, in
2018-2019, there were three fundraising counsels registered with the Ohio Attorney General.
Fundraising counsel is only required to complete registration if that counsel has custody of the
contributions during their campaign in Ohio. If not, fundraising counsel may be active in Ohio,
but is not required to register. The annual registration fee is $200 and is credited to the Charitable
Law Fund (Fund 4180), which is part of the Attorney General’s operating budget. Removal of this
registration requirement will have a negligible fiscal impact on the Office of the Attorney General.

Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist
Board

The bill eliminates temporary licenses for independent social workers, professional
clinical counselors, and independent marriage and family therapists. The Board does not appear
to issue these temporary licenses, so this elimination should not have a fiscal effect.

Department of Developmental Disabilities

The bill states that individuals employed by a county board of developmental disabilities
are not required to be certified to provide adult services or supervise the provision of adult
services. The bill also removes references to early intervention supervisor certificates, which
were created through a rule that has been rescinded.

State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation
Services

The bill limits the amount of training that may be required by the State Board of
Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services for full-time paid firefighters and part-time
paid firefighters to 36 hours. This is the same limit that applies to volunteer firefighters under
continuing law. Current administrative rules generally require 160 hours of training for a
Firefighter | certification, and 240 hours of training for a Firefighter Il certification.!

1 Ohio Emergency Medical Services, EMS & Fire Certifications.
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Locally operated fire departments that currently pay for the cost of training for its
firefighters may experience a cost savings. The bill does not prevent a local department from
requiring more than 36 hours of continuing training.

Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors

The bill allows individuals enrolled at a college or university to apply to be a funeral
director apprentice, embalmer apprentice, or combined funeral director and embalmer
apprentice. Depending on how many additional individuals apply for apprenticeship, this could
increase administrative costs for the Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors by some small
amount. These costs would be offset by the $35 application fee which accompanies each
application and is deposited into the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90).

Board of Nursing

The bill eliminates dialysis technician intern certificates, but continues to authorize an
individual who has successfully completed an approved dialysis training program within the
previous 18 months to practice as a dialysis technician intern. However, the bill requires both
dialysis technicians and interns to be under the supervision of a physician, physician assistant, or
registered nurse (under current law these professionals must be supervised by a physician or
registered nurse). According to the Board of Nursing’s FY 2021 Annual Report, there were 560
active certificates and the Board issued about 300 new certificates in FY 2021 at $35 per license.
These certificates are valid for 18 months from the date the applicant completed an approved
training program. As a result, the Board will realize a loss of revenue of about $10,500 per fiscal
year (300 new x $35). Board revenues are deposited into the Occupational Licensing and
Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90).

State Board of Pharmacy

The bill sets pharmacist continuing education at 30 hours every two years, instead of
having continuing education requirements set by the Pharmacy Board in rules. This change will
have a negligible impact on the Board’s operations.

State Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers
Board

The bill eliminates temporary licenses to practice orthotics, prosthetics, orthotics and
prosthetics, and pedorthics, but maintains requirements applicable to an unlicensed individual
providing orthotic, prosthetic, or pedorthic services under the supervision of a licensee. The bill
also eliminates a prohibition against using a title or initials representing a person that has a
temporary orthotics, prosthetics, orthotics and prosthetics, or pedorthics license when the
individual does not have such a license. Currently, the cost for a temporary license is $100 for the
initial license and $70 for any renewed license. Once an individual with a temporary license meets
requirements for full licensure, it costs S50 to upgrade to the full license. According to LSC’s
Occupational License Report, there are a handful of temporary licenses in both FY 2020 and
FY 2021. As a result, this elimination will have a minimal impact on the Board. Board revenues
are deposited into the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90).

State Board of Psychology

The bill changes the license renewal period for school psychologists from two years to five
years, reduces the hours of continuing education required for school psychologists to 18 hours
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every five years, and reduces the school psychologist license registration fee to $200 every five
years.? This could result in one-time administrative and information technology costs associated
with adjusting the renewal schedule. In addition, the change in the renewal schedule will impact
the timing of licensing revenue deposits. However, this impact should resolve after the first
licensing cycle is complete. In addition, the provisions will reduce the licensing fee revenue the
State Board of Psychology receives. Currently, the license fee for a school psychologist is $365
for biennial renewal. In FY 2021, there were 192 active school psychologist licenses, which would
result in about $70,000 in fee revenue for the Board every two years.? Under the bill, the Board
would receive $38,400 every five years. Board revenues are deposited into the Occupational
Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). Additionally, there could be a reduction in
administrative costs for the Board as a result of processing license renewals less frequently.

Ohio Vision Professionals Board

The bill makes a number of changes impacting the Ohio Vision Professionals Board. Under
the bill, the Board’s licenses and certificates are required to be renewed biennially rather than
annually as required under current law, including (1) certificates of licensure to practice
optometry, (2) topical ocular pharmaceutical agents certificates, (3) therapeutic pharmaceutical
agents certificates, (4) dispensing optician licenses, and (5) ocularist licenses. The bill extends the
duration of licenses or certificates issued or renewed on or after the bill’s effective date to
(1) December 31 of the even-numbered year following the bill’s effective date for optometrists
or (2) January 1 of the odd-numbered year following the bill’s effective date for opticians or
ocularists. This could result in one-time administrative and information technology costs
associated with adjusting the renewal schedule. In addition, the change in the renewal schedule
will impact the timing of licensing revenue deposits. However, this impact should resolve after
the first licensing cycle is complete. Additionally, there could be a corresponding decrease in staff
time for processing licenses less frequently. The bill also makes conforming changes regarding
continuing education requirements, so that a licensee must complete the current law
requirements annually, but report compliance biennially.

In conjunction with the bill’s renewal cycle changes, the bill establishes a $345 fee for
issuance and renewal of a biennial optometrist license with a therapeutic pharmaceutical agents
certificate. The current annual fee for the license and certificate is $175 (S350 over two years).
Thus, the Board will experience a decrease in revenue of S5 per licensee over the biennial
renewal cycle. According to the Board’s FY 2021 Annual Report, there are approximately 2,360
licensed optometrists* in Ohio. As such, revenue loss over the biennial renewal cycle could
amount to approximately $11,800. Board revenues are deposited into the Occupational Licensing
and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90); thus, any losses will be realized in Fund 4K90.

2 According to the Board, the school psychologist license issued by the Board authorizes independent
practice of school psychology outside of schools and other settings where the Department of Education
license is the required credential.

3 This amount could differ slightly due to the number of new initial licenses issued. The current fee for an
initial license is $300.

4 According to the Ohio Administrative Code, annual renewal fees for active duty military licensees are
waived. There were 12 military licenses, which are not included in the number above.
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The bill also establishes a $195 fee for issuance and renewal of a biennial dispensing
optician or ocularist license. The current annual fee for each is $50 for an initial license or $100
for a renewal. For dispensing opticians or ocularists renewing licenses, the biennial cost will be
$195 under the bill rather than $200 under current law (5100 annually). Thus, the Board will
experience a decrease in renewal revenue of S5 per licensee over the biennial renewal cycle.
However, for those getting an initial license the biennial cost will be $195 under the bill rather
than $150 under current law (S50 initial plus $100 renewal). Thus, for initial licenses, the Board
will gain $45 over the biennial license cycle. According to the Board’s FY 2021 Annual Report,
there are approximately 3,130 licensed opticians (includes contact, spectacle, and dual) and eight
licensed ocularists in Ohio. The total impact with this provision will depend on the number of
initial versus renewal licenses. However, since there are typically many more renewals than initial
licenses issued, the net impact will likely be a loss. Any revenue fee impacts will be realized in
Fund 4K90.

The bill eliminates the fee for a dispensing optician apprentice to renew the apprentice’s
registration and prohibits, if the Board requires a person gaining experience for an ocularist
license to register with the Board, the Board from charging the person a fee to renew the
registration. There will be a loss of fee revenue associated with these provisions, depending on
the number of apprentice registration renewals that the Board receives each year (apprentice
registrations remain annual under the bill).

The bill also permits the Board to issue a cease and desist order if a person is engaging in
prohibited conduct that has caused, is causing, or is about to cause substantial and material
harm. The bill specifies that a cease and desist order is cumulative and concurrent with other
disciplinary actions the Board may take against a person for a violation of the law governing the
practice of optometry or the law governing dispensing opticians and ocularists. With respect to
an unlicensed person, the bill specifies that the Board may investigate a person engaging in the
practice of optometry without a license and, if the person has engaged in optical dispensing
without a license, notify the appropriate prosecuting attorney for further action. The Board could
experience some administrative or hearing costs if cease and desist orders are issued.

All licensing boards

The bill requires all occupational licensing boards to issue a report within six months of
the bill’s effective date that addresses the following: the fee structure for each occupational
license issued by the board, whether it can more competitively align with the surrounding states,
and whether it serves as a financial barrier to licensure. Additionally, the report must also address
whether the board’s process for issuing occupational licenses could be improved by using the
eLicense system maintained by the Department of Administrative Services (DAS), and if so, the
board must begin using that system. Each board will experience a minimal increase in
administrative costs to prepare and submit the report. There are 21 boards that currently use the
elicense system,® including most of the standalone occupational licensing boards. Any boards
that do not might experience an increase in costs to use the system, depending on the findings

> See the elicense Ohio page, which can be accessed by searching for “eLicense” on the state of Ohio’s
website: https://ohio.gov/.
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in their report. Charges to use elicense are paid to DAS. The costs would depend on many factors,
including the number of licenses and licensees.

Synopsis of Fiscal Effect Changes

The fiscal effects of the substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) differ from the previous version
(1 134 _2222-2) in several ways, which are described below:

®  The substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) removes a provision that eliminated temporary
marriage and family therapist licenses. Therefore, the anticipated minimal loss of
associated fee revenue will not occur.

®  The substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) makes two changes affecting firefighters. First, it
removes a provision that modified firefighter certification so education credits would
have been determined at the local level instead of by the State Board of Emergency
Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services. Certain administrative costs for this duty
would have shifted from the state to local entities operating emergency medical, fire, and
transportation services. The potential magnitude of this cost shift was not readily
guantifiable. Second, the substitute bill adds a provision requiring the Board to adopt
rules allowing local entities with paid firefighters to determine the minimum number of
training hours required for certification. However, it limits the amount of training that
may be required for full-time and part-time firefighters to 36 hours. Locally operated fire
departments that currently pay for the cost of training for its firefighters may experience
a cost savings.

®  The substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) adds a provision allowing individuals enrolled at a
college or university to apply to be a funeral director apprentice, embalmer apprentice,
or combined funeral director and embalmer apprentice. This could increase
administrative costs for the Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors by some small
amount, although any such increase would be offset by the S35 processing fee
accompanying each application.

®  The substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) adds provisions that: change the license renewal period
for school psychologists from two years to five years, reduces the hours of continuing
education required for school psychologists to 18 hours every five years, and reduces the
school psychologist license registration fee to $200 every five years. This will result in a
decrease in license fee revenue for the State Board of Psychology, and also a decrease in
administrative costs for the Board since licenses will be processed less frequently. In
addition, there will be one-time costs including administrative and information
technology to adjust to this cycle change.

®  The substitute bill (I_134_2222-3) restores the registration requirement for dispensing
optician apprentices that the previous substitute version (I_134_2222-2) proposed to
eliminate. However, |_134 2222-3 eliminates the fee for a dispensing optician apprentice
to renew the apprentice’s registration and prohibits the Ohio Vision Professionals Board
from charging a person gaining experience for an ocularist license a renewal fee for
registration, if the Board requires such registration. Thus, the Board will only realize the
revenue loss for apprentice renewals, rather than initial apprentice registrations and
renewals as under |_134 2222-2. The amount depends on the number of apprentice
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registration renewal requests the Board receives each year. All other abovementioned
changes specifically related to the Board are new in the |_134 2222-3 version of the bill,
including the change to the renewal cycle from annual to biennial and the modification of
fees. There is anticipated to be an overall loss of fee revenue due to fee adjustments. In
addition, there will be one-time costs including administrative and information
technology to adjust to this cycle change.
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