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SUMMARY 

 Requires a licensing authority to issue a license or government certification under 
certain circumstances to an applicant who holds an out-of-state occupational license. 

 Requires a licensing authority to issue a license or government certification under 
certain circumstances to an applicant who has a government certification, a private 
certification, or satisfactory work experience in a state that does not issue a license or 
government certification for the respective occupation. 

 Requires an applicant to submit to a criminal records check to receive a license or 
government certification under the bill if a licensing authority requires an applicant 
under the law governing the applicable profession, occupation, or occupational activity 
to do so. 

 Allows a licensing authority to require an applicant to pass an examination on Ohio’s 
laws and rules governing the applicable profession, occupation, or occupational activity 
if a licensing authority requires an applicant to pass the examination under the 
applicable law. 

 Requires, if a licensing authority requires an applicant under the law governing the 
applicable profession, occupation, or occupational activity to satisfy a financial 
responsibility requirement to receive a license or government certification, an applicant 
to satisfy the requirement to receive a license or government certification under the bill. 

 Prohibits a licensing authority from issuing or denying a license or government 
certification under the bill to the applicant while the applicant is the subject of certain 
pending complaints, allegations, or investigations. 

 Requires a licensing authority to provide an applicant with a written decision to issue or 
reject a license or government certification under the bill within 60 days after receiving 
a complete application. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-HB-203
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 Specifies that an applicant who is issued a license or government certification under the 
bill is subject to the laws regulating the practice of the applicable occupation or 
profession in Ohio and is subject to the licensing authority’s jurisdiction. 

 Requires that a license or government certification issued under the bill be considered a 
license or government certification issued under the laws regulating the practice of the 
applicable occupation or profession in Ohio. 

 Specifies that provisions of law applicable to a license or government certification issued 
to an applicant who does not obtain a license or government certification under the bill 
apply in the same manner to licenses and government certifications issued under the 
bill. 

 Prohibits a political subdivision from prohibiting an individual who holds a license or 
government certification issued by a state agency under the bill from engaging in the 
respective profession, occupation, or occupational activity in the political subdivision’s 
jurisdiction. 

 Exempts certain licenses and activities from the bill. 

 Requires each licensing authority to adopt rules as necessary to implement the bill. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Occupational license reciprocity 

Beginning 90 days after its effective date, the bill requires a licensing authority to issue a 
license or government certification under certain circumstances to an applicant who holds an 
out-of-state occupational license or who has a government certification, a private certification, 
or satisfactory work experience in a state that does not issue the respective license. The three 
circumstances under which a licensing authority must issue a license or government 
certification are described under “Issuance to out-of-state license or government 

certification holders,” “Issuance to private certification holders,” and 
“Issuance to individuals with satisfactory work experience,” below.1 

Beginning on the bill’s effective date, each licensing authority must adopt rules as 
necessary to implement the bill.2 

Definitions 

For purposes of the bill: 

1. “Licensing authority” means a state agency or political subdivision that issues licenses 
or government certifications. 

                                                      

1 R.C. Chapter 4796, with conforming changes throughout the bill, and Section 7. 
2 R.C. 4796.18 and Section 7. 
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2. “License” means an authorization evidenced by a license, certificate, registration, 
permit, card, or other authority that is issued or conferred by a licensing authority to an 
individual by which the individual has or claims the privilege to engage in a profession, 
occupation, or occupational activity over which the licensing authority has jurisdiction. 

3. “Government certification” means authorization from a licensing authority, one of the 
uniformed services, or another state’s government to an individual who meets 
qualifications related to a profession, occupation, or occupational activity to which 
both of the following apply: 

a. Only an individual holding the authorization may use a specific title or titles when 
advertising or holding the individual’s self out to engage in the profession, 
occupation, or occupational activity. 

b. An individual is not required to have the authorization to engage in the profession, 
occupation, or occupational activity in the respective jurisdiction. 

4. “Out-of-state occupational license” means a license, certificate, registration, permit, 
card, or other authority that is issued or conferred by one of the uniformed services or 
the government of another state to an individual by which the individual has or claims 
the privilege to engage in a profession, occupation, or occupational activity over which 
that service or state has jurisdiction. 

5. “Private certification” means authorization from a private organization to an individual 
who meets qualifications determined by the organization related to the performance 
of a profession, occupation, or occupational activity and by which the individual may 
hold the individual’s self out as certified by the organization. 

6. “Uniformed services” means the U.S. armed forces; the Commissioned Corps of the 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; the Commissioned Corps of the 
Public Health Service; or any reserve components of those forces; and such other 
service as may be designated by Congress.3 

Issuance to out-of-state license or government certification 
holders 

Except as otherwise provided below, the bill requires a licensing authority to issue a 
license or government certification to an applicant if the licensing authority determines that all 
of the following apply: 

1. The applicant holds either of the following: 

a. An out-of-state occupational license that authorizes the applicant to engage in the 
same profession, occupation, or occupational activity, and at the same practice 
level, as the license or government certification for which the applicant is applying in 
Ohio. 

                                                      

3 R.C. 4796.01. 
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b. A government certification in the same profession, occupation, or occupational 
activity as the license or government certification for which the applicant is applying 
in Ohio from one of the uniformed services or a state that does not issue an out-of-
state occupational license for the respective profession, occupation, or occupational 
activity. 

2. The applicant has held the out-of-state occupational license or government 
certification for at least one year and is in good standing in all jurisdictions in which the 
applicant holds an out-of-state occupational license or government certification to 
practice the same profession, occupation, or occupational activity for which the 
applicant is applying in Ohio. 

3. The applicant was required to satisfy minimum education, training, or experience 
requirements or pass an examination to receive the out-of-state occupational license 
or government certification. 

4. The applicant has not surrendered or had revoked a license, out-of-state occupational 
license, or government certification because of negligence or intentional misconduct 
related to the applicant’s work in the same profession, occupation, or occupational 
activity for which the applicant is applying in Ohio. 

5. The applicant pays to the licensing authority a fee equal to one of the following: 

a. The renewal fee required for license or government certification holders under the 
applicable law; 

b. The initial licensure fee, if the license or government certification for which the 
applicant is applying in Ohio does not have a renewal fee. 

6. The applicant is not disqualified from obtaining the license or government certification 
because of a conviction, judicial finding of guilt, or plea of guilty to a disqualifying 
criminal offense specified on the list the licensing authority makes available pursuant to 
continuing law and in accordance with the continuing law procedures for a state 
licensing authority to follow when considering a conviction, judicial finding of guilt, or 
plea of guilty of an offense.4 

For purposes of any law requiring a licensing authority to issue a license or government 
certification under the bill, an applicant who holds a license or government certification issued 
by the uniformed services is treated as though the applicant holds a license or certification 
issued by another state.5 However, it does not appear that the uniformed services issue licenses 
or government certifications as those terms are defined in the bill. 

Continuing law requires a licensing authority, under certain circumstances, to issue a 
temporary license or certificate to a member of the military or the member’s spouse when the 
member or spouse is licensed in another jurisdiction. Continuing law also permits a licensing 

                                                      

4 R.C. 4796.03. 
5 R.C. 4796.02. 
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authority, under the same circumstances, to issue a regular license or certificate in lieu of a 
temporary license or certificate to the member or the member’s spouse. 

The bill specifies that it does not apply to a temporary or permanent license or 
certificate issued to a member of the military or the member’s spouse under continuing law. 
The bill also prohibits a licensing authority from requiring a member or spouse who meets 
continuing law requirements to apply for a license or certificate under the bill. The member or 
spouse may, however, elect to apply for a license or certificate under the bill.6 

Issuance to private certification holders 

Except as provided below, the bill requires a licensing authority to issue a license or 
government certification to an applicant if the licensing authority determines that all of the 
following apply: 

1. The applicant holds a private certification and has at least two years of work 
experience in the same profession, occupation, or occupational activity, and at the 
same practice level, as the license or government certification for which the applicant is 
applying in Ohio in a state that does not issue an out-of-state occupational license or 
government certification for the respective profession, occupation, or occupational 
activity. 

2. The applicant is in good standing with the private organization that issued the private 
certification. 

3. The applicant meets the requirements specified under (4) through (6) of “Issuance 

to out-of-state license or government certification holders,” above.7 

Issuance to individuals with satisfactory work experience 

Except as provided below, the bill requires a licensing authority to issue a license or 
government certification to an applicant if the licensing authority determines that both of the 
following apply:  

1. The applicant has at least three years of work experience in the same profession, 
occupation, or occupational activity, and at the same practice level, as the license or 
government certification for which the applicant is applying in Ohio in a state that does 
not issue an out-of-state occupational license or government certification for the 
respective profession, occupation, or occupational activity. 

2. The applicant meets the requirements under (4) through (6) of “Issuance to out-

of-state license or government certification holders,” above.8 

However, the bill requires the State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and 
Surveyors, when issuing a professional engineer or surveyor registration under the bill’s 

                                                      

6 R.C. 4743.04 and 4743.041. 
7 R.C. 4796.04. 
8 R.C. 4796.05. 
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requirements, to require an applicant who has satisfactory work experience in a state that does 
not license engineers or surveyors to satisfy a minimum education requirement and pass an 
examination.9 

Criminal records check 

If a licensing authority requires an applicant under the law governing the applicable 
profession, occupation, or occupational activity to submit to a criminal records check to receive 
a license or government certification, an applicant must submit to the criminal records check to 
receive a license or government certification under the bill.10 

Examination on Ohio’s laws and rules 

If a licensing authority requires an applicant to pass an examination on Ohio’s laws and 
rules governing the applicable profession, occupation, or occupational activity to receive a 
license or government certification under the applicable law, a licensing authority may require 
an applicant to pass the examination to receive a license or government certification under the 
bill.11 

Financial responsibility requirement 

If a licensing authority requires an applicant under the law governing the applicable 
profession, occupation, or occupational activity to satisfy a financial responsibility requirement 
to receive a license or government certification, an applicant must satisfy the requirement to 
receive a license or government certification under the bill.12 An example of this type of 
requirement is the requirement that an applicant for an auctioneer license must provide proof 
of financial responsibility in the form of either an irrevocable letter of credit, cash bond, or a 
surety bond in the amount of $25,000 to receive an initial license.13 

Decision to issue or deny a license or government certification 

If an applicant is the subject of a complaint, allegation, or investigation that relates to 
unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime pending before a court, administrative agency, or 
entity that regulates a license, out-of-state occupational license, or government certification, 
the bill prohibits a licensing authority from issuing or denying a license or government 
certification to the applicant until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved. 

A licensing authority must provide an applicant with a written decision to issue or reject 
a license or government certification within 60 days after receiving a complete application. An 

                                                      

9 R.C. 4733.19. 
10 R.C. 4796.08(B). 
11 R.C. 4796.08(A). 
12 R.C. 4796.08(C). 
13 R.C. 4707.11, not in the bill. 
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application is not considered complete until any required examination or criminal records check 
is complete.14 

Law regulating the practice of the occupation or profession 

An applicant who is issued a license or government certification under the bill is subject 
to the laws regulating the practice of the applicable occupation or profession in Ohio and is 
subject to the licensing authority’s jurisdiction. Additionally, the bill specifies that a license or 
government certification issued under the bill is considered a license or government 
certification issued under the laws regulating the practice of the applicable occupation or 
profession in Ohio. Provisions of law applicable to a license or government certification issued 
to an applicant who does not obtain a license or government certification under the bill apply in 
the same manner to licenses and government certifications issued under the bill.15 

Exempt licenses 

The bill does not apply to any of the following licenses:16 

1. Medical marijuana cultivator and retail dispensary licenses, which are subject to a limit 
on the number of licenses allowed at any one time.17 

2. Licenses issued pursuant to rules of the Supreme Court of Ohio governing admission to 
the practice of law.18 

3. Commercial fishing licenses.19 

4. Licenses issued under the Commercial Driver’s Licensing Law.20 

5. A permit issued to a nonlicensed individual to teach in schools under limited 
circumstances.21 

6. Credit services organization certificates of registration.22 

7. Provisional veterinary graduate licenses.23 

 

                                                      

14 R.C. 4796.10. 
15 R.C. 4796.12. 
16 R.C. 4796.15. 
17 R.C. 3796.09 and 3796.10, not in the bill. 

18 Ohio Constitution, Article IV, Section 5. 
19 R.C. 1533.342, not in the bill. 
20 R.C. Chapter 4506. 
21 R.C. 3319.301. 
22 R.C. Chapter 4712. 
23 R.C. 4741.15. 
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8. Fantasy contest operator licenses.24 

9. Specialty contractor licenses issued by the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board 
(OCILB) (but see “Specialty contractor license,” below) and licenses issued by a 
political subdivision to an individual by which the individual has or claims the privilege 
to act as a tradesperson for a specialty contractor in the political subdivision’s 
jurisdiction.25 

The bill does not apply to licenses that authorize a person to engage in a profession, 
occupation, or occupational activity as a volunteer.26 

Political subdivision recognition 

Consistent with Struthers v. Sokol, the bill prohibits a political subdivision from 
prohibiting an individual who holds a license or government certification issued by a state 
agency under the bill from engaging in the respective profession, occupation, or occupational 
activity in the political subdivision’s jurisdiction. Under the Home Rule amendment to the Ohio 
Constitution, a municipal ordinance adopted under a municipality’s police powers cannot 
conflict with a “general law.” Under Sokol, the test for conflict is whether the ordinance 
prohibits what the state law permits or vice versa. Because state law under the bill requires 
issuance of a reciprocal license that allows an individual to practice in Ohio, a municipal 
ordinance that would prohibit what state law allows seemingly would be in direct conflict with 
the state’s “general law” for home rule purposes.27 

Temporary training licenses 

Under continuing law, some state licensing authorities issue temporary training licenses 
that allow an individual who is working to obtain full licensure or gain supervised practice hours 
to engage in a profession, occupation, or occupational activity. The bill applies to these 
temporary training licenses.28  

Limited time and limited basis licenses 

Under continuing law, some state licensing authorities currently issue licenses that allow 
an out-of-state professional to engage in a profession, occupation, or occupational activity for a 
limited time or on a limited basis. Other laws exempt certain individuals from obtaining a 
license under the applicable law if the individual meets specified requirements and practices for 
a limited time. The bill’s reciprocity provisions do not apply to these limited time and limited 
basis licenses, and a licensing authority cannot require an exempt individual to obtain a license 

                                                      

24 R.C. 3774.02. 
25 R.C. 4796.15. 
26 Multiple sections throughout the bill, examples include R.C. 4715.42, 4723.26, and 4731.295. 
27 R.C. 4796.20 and Ohio Const., art. XVIII, sec. 3, and Struthers v. Sokol, 108 Ohio St. 263 (1923). 
28 Multiple sections throughout the bill, examples include R.C. 4723.76, 4729.11, 4731.291, and 
4731.573. 
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under the reciprocity provisions. However, the bill limits these licenses and exemptions to 
individuals who are not Ohio residents, thus requiring an Ohio resident to obtain a full license 
or a license under the bill.29 

Real estate brokers and salespersons 

The bill requires an out-of-state individual seeking a real estate broker’s or salesperson’s 
license to satisfy the bill’s requirements listed above, as applicable, and the following 
requirements, as applicable: 

1. The individual must have no less than two years of work experience as a real estate 
broker if the person is seeking a broker’s license; 

2. The individual must have completed no less than six transactions as a real estate 
salesperson if the individual is seeking a salesperson’s license, and no less than 20 
transactions as a real estate broker if the person is seeking a broker’s license; 

3. The individual must pass an examination on Ohio real estate law. 

Currently, the Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing may waive one 
or more of the continuing law application requirements in the case of an applicant who is a 
licensed real estate broker or salesperson in another state pursuant to a reciprocity agreement 
with the licensing authority of the state from which the applicant holds a valid real estate 
salesperson’s or broker’s license.30 

Specialty contractor licenses 

As noted above, the bill exempts specialty contractor licenses issued by OCILB from the 
general occupational license reciprocity requirement and process. However, the bill instead 
requires the OCILB to allow an individual to take the appropriate specialty contractor license 
examination if the individual holds a substantially similar out-of-state occupational license and 
does all of the following: 

1. Provides proof that the individual was issued at least five authorizations for 
construction, erection, equipment, alteration, or addition of any building by an authority 
with responsibility for enforcing building regulations in the jurisdiction (essentially, 
building permits) where the individual holds the out-of-state occupational license; 

2. Provides at least one tax return that reflects income earned for services provided under 
the individual’s out-of-state occupational license; 

3. Provides proof that the contracting company with whom the individual is employed in 
the jurisdiction where the individual holds the out-of-state occupational license is 
licensed as a foreign corporation or registered as a foreign limited liability company 
under Ohio law and that the corporation or company has designated an agent in Ohio. 

                                                      

29 Multiple sections throughout the bill, examples include R.C. 1565.06, 3723.03, 4717.10, 4713.37, 
4715.09, 4725.26, and 4755.65. 
30 R.C. 4735.07 and 4735.09. 
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A specialty contractor licensed in another state who is unable to satisfy the 
requirements above to sit for the examination can still sit for the examination by satisfying the 
current law requirements. Under current law, to sit for the examination an individual must 
satisfy the following requirements: 

1. Be at least 18 years old; 

2. Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien residing in the U.S.; 

3. Be a tradesperson in the trade for which the individual seeks a contractor license for not 
less than five years, be an Ohio registered engineer with three years of business 
experience in the applicable trade, or have other acceptable experience; 

4. Maintain contractor’s liability insurance in an amount determined by OCILB; 

5. Not have violated the OCILB Law or engaged in specific activities involving fraud, 
misrepresentation, or deception.31 

Currently, if a written reciprocity agreement between the states exists, and an individual 
who is registered, licensed, or certified in another state applies to the appropriate OCILB 
specialty section, the individual is issued a license without examination if all of the following 
apply: 

1. The individual submits a copy of the reciprocity agreement. 

2. The individual pays the licensure fee. 

3. The specialty section determines, pursuant to rules it adopts, that the requirements for 
registration, licensure, or certification under the laws of the other state are substantially 
equal to the requirements for licensure in Ohio and that the other state extends similar 
reciprocity to persons licensed by OCILB.32 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 03-10-21 

Reported, H. State & Local Gov’t 04-12-22 
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31 R.C. 4740.06. 
32 R.C. 4740.08, repealed. 


