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Highlights
Public Water Systems

®  Transient noncommunity public water systems may experience administrative cost
savings from no longer implementing and maintaining asset management programs and
reporting to OhioEPA.

®  OhioEPA may likewise experience some administrative cost savings as a result of no
longer overseeing these programs and reviewing the submitted asset inventories from
transient noncommunity public water systems.

EHS and EHS in training

®  The Ohio Department of Agriculture (AGR) and the Ohio Department of Health (ODH)
could incur some costs to adopt rules and to create and administer the written
assessment for registered environmental health specialists (EHS) and environmental
health specialists in training (EHS in training).

® Any costs incurred by AGR would likely be paid from either the Food Safety Fund
(Fund 4P70) or GRF line item 700407, Food Safety, that are used by AGR’s Food Safety
Division to enforce food safety laws.

®  Any costs incurred by ODH would likely be paid from either the General Operations Fund
(Fund 4700) or GRF line item 440454, Environmental Health/Radiation Protection.

D-9 liquor permits

"  The bill establishes a new D-9 liquor permit, with a $500 permit fee for establishments to
sell beer, wine, or mixed beverages where the establishment hosts automobile sports as
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its primary activity. Any revenue gains associated with this new permit are likely to be
negligible given the narrow qualifying criteria.

®  Liguor permit revenues are deposited into the Undivided Liquor Permit Fund (Fund 7066),
which collects and distributes liquor permit fees to the State Liquor Regulatory Fund
(Fund 5LPO0), municipalities and townships, and the Statewide Treatment and Prevention
Fund (Fund 4750).

Specialty license plate

®  Assuming the number of applicants for the “Chardon High School State Football Champs”
specialty license plate satisfies the minimum 150-person registration requirement, then,
in its first year, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will: (1) gain at least $1,500 in fee
revenues and (2) incur between $882 and $1,085 or more in license plate production
costs; the Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club will receive at least $3,000 in contributions.

" |n subsequent years, the BMV will gain $10 in fee revenue for each license plate newly
issued or renewed, and incur production costs of $5.88 and $7.23 for a new single plate
and pair of plates issued, respectively.

®  The actual BMV fee revenue and cost, as well as contributions to the Chardon Hilltopper
Gridiron Club, will depend upon demand in each year.

® A person who applies for the “Chardon High School State Football Champs” specialty
license plate must pay additional money, consisting of a $10 BMV administrative fee and
a contribution of $20.

Detailed Analysis

Public water systems

The bill changes current law provisions that require public water systems (PWSs) to
implement asset management programs. Specifically, the bill removes transient noncommunity
public water systems from these requirements.! The bill defines a transient noncommunity public
water system as a system that does not regularly serve at least 25 of the same persons over six
months per year and is not a community water system or a nontransient noncommunity water
system. Examples include gas stations, restaurants, and campgrounds.?

PWSs are regulated by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OhioEPA). PWS water
sources are derived either from a ground water source, a surface water source or a ground water
under the direct influence of surface water source. In Ohio, around 4,800 regulated public water
systems serve approximately 11 million people daily.

! The requirements for public water system asset management programs were first enacted by S.B. 2 of
the 132" General Assembly.

2 The other types of PWS are: (1) Community (serve at least 15 service connections used by year-round
residents or regularly serve at least 25 year-round residents; examples include cities, mobile home parks
and nursing homes), and (2) Nontransient noncommunity (serve at least 25 of the same persons over six
months per year; examples include schools, hospitals and factories).
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Locally managed public water systems

PWSs that meet the definition of a transient noncommunity public water system may
experience administrative cost savings from no longer implementing and maintaining asset
management programs and reporting to OhioEPA. Some systems may continue to implement
their own asset management programs based on best practices, but this would be a voluntary
measure once the bill is enacted.

Enforcement savings — fines and penalties

Because of the bill, OhioEPA will no longer be able to enforce certain administrative, civil
or criminal remedies as permitted under current law and specific to asset management program
reporting, including license revocation for a PWS that meets the definition of a transient
noncommunity public water system.? This change would result in administrative cost savings for
the agency. Generally speaking, fines and penalties may be as follows:

= Administrative — PWSs serving populations of more 10,000, not less than $1,000 for each
day of each violation, total amount cannot exceed $10,000 per violation; PWSs serving
populations of 10,000 or fewer, $1,000 multiplied by a number, expressed as a decimal,
in order to determine the penalty amount for each day of violation, total amount cannot
exceed $2,500 per violation;

= Civil — up to $25,000 for each violation;

®  Criminal — penalties vary depending on the culpable mental state of the offender and the
severity of the offense. For a reckless violation, a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of
up to $10,000 or imprisonment for up to four years, or both. For a reckless or knowing
violation that poses a significant threat to or causes significant harm to public health, a
felony, punishable by a fine of up to $25,000 or imprisonment for up to four years, or
both.

As a result of this change and to the extent that a PWS may have been found in violation
of any of the current asset management program requirements, these systems may experience
certain cost savings in terms of fines and penalties once the bill is enacted.

Evaluations of registered EHSs and EHSs in training

Under continuing law, a board of health issues licenses to food service operations, such
as restaurants, and retail food establishments, such as grocery stores. As part of that
responsibility, the board inspects the licensees to determine compliance with food safety
regulations. These inspections are conducted by registered environmental health specialists
(EHS) and (EHS) in training. At the state level, the Director of Health is responsible for evaluating
the local food service operations licensure programs and the Director of Agriculture is responsible
for evaluating the local retail food establishment licensure programs. At least once every three
years, the directors are required to survey each local licensing entity to determine if the entity is
qualified to administer and enforce food safety regulations.

3 For a complete listing of the fines and penalties that may be sought currently, see R.C. 6109.23, 6109.33,
and 6109.99, and O.A.C. 3745-81-04.
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The bill, as part of the survey process to determine if a board is qualified to administer
and enforce the laws governing food safety, requires the directors to each adopt rules
establishing a method for evaluating a registered EHS or EHS in training’s knowledge of the laws
governing food safety, including the Ohio Uniform Food Safety Code. Under the bill, the directors
may only evaluate a registered EHS or EHS in training through the use of an objective written or
electronic assessment that complies with all of the following: (1) it is developed by the
appropriate director in consultation with the Ohio Environmental Health Association and the
Association of Ohio Health Commissioners, (2) it does not exceed 50 questions, and (3) it requires
at least an 80% score for passage. Under the bill, EHSs and EHSs in training are allowed to review
the Ohio Uniform Food Safety Code during the assessment. If a survey demonstrates that a board
of health does not have the capacity to appropriately enforce these regulations, the board could
lose its authority as the licensor of food service operations or retail food establishments. The bill
requires the directors, in consultation with specified representatives, to review and update the
assessment on at least a biennial basis. Lastly, the bill allows the directors to require an EHS or
EHS in training to participate in a field review for training and educational purposes, but prohibits
the directors from using that participation to evaluate whether the EHS or EHS in training has
sufficient knowledge of the applicable laws or the Ohio Uniform Food Safety Code.

The Ohio Department of Agriculture (AGR) and the Ohio Department of Health (ODH)
could incur administrative costs in order to develop and administer the assessment. Any costs
incurred as a result of the assessment provisions of the bill would be paid from either the Food
Safety Fund (Fund 4P70) or GRF line item 700407, Food Safety, used by AGR’s Food Safety Division
to enforce food safety laws and the General Operations Fund (Fund 4700) or GRF line
item 440454, Environmental Health/Radiation Protection for ODH. If a board loses its authority
as a licensor as a result of the bill’s provisions, ODH or AGR may incur some costs if they assist in
any licensing responsibilities. However, it is unlikely that this would occur.

D-9 liquor permits

The bill would likely result in some minimal revenue gains to the Undivided Liquor Permit
Fund (Fund 7066) as a result of the newly created liquor permit for certain facilities that host
automobile sports. Specifically, the bill establishes a new D-9 liquor permit, which allows an
establishment to sell beer, wine, or mixed beverages in disposable containers at retail for
on-premises consumption, if the hosting facility meets the qualifications and operational
requirements stated in the bill (see LSC Bill Analysis). The fee for this new permit is $500. Because
the permit requirements under the bill appear to be crafted to apply to a small number of
facilities, very few of these new permits are likely to be issued, and quite possibly only one given
the qualifying criteria.

Liquor permit fee revenues are deposited into the Undivided Liquor Permit Fund
(Fund 7066). Of the money deposited into Fund 7066, 45% is distributed to the State Liquor
Regulatory Fund (Fund 5LPO0), 35% is distributed to the municipal corporations and townships in
which liquor premises are located, and 20% is deposited in the Statewide Treatment and
Prevention Fund (Fund 4750).
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“Chardon High School State Football Champs” specialty license
plate

The bill creates the “Chardon High School State Football Champs” specialty license plate
that is available to all persons with an eligible vehicle registered in Ohio. In addition to paying
taxes and fees applicable under current law, a person applying for the plate must pay a $10
Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) administrative fee and a $20 contribution to the Chardon
Hilltopper Gridiron Club.

“Chardon High School State Football Champs” Specialty License Plate

Required

Specialty License Plate BMV Fee Contribution

Contribution Recipient

“Chardon High School State $10 $20 Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club
Football Champs”

License plate implementation procedures

Under existing law, the Registrar of Motor Vehicles is not required to implement any
legislation that creates a specialty license plate until the Registrar receives written statements
from at least 150 persons indicating that they intend to apply for and obtain the license plate
(R.C. 4503.78).

Production costs and administrative fees

Under current law, a person may elect to purchase either a single plate or pair of plates.
The BMV currently produces specialty license plates via a digital print-on-demand process. The
cost to produce a single plate is $5.88. The production cost for a pair is $7.23.

Under the bill, a person obtaining the “Chardon High School State Football Champs”
specialty license plate is required to pay an administrative fee of $10, the purpose of which is to
compensate the BMV for additional services required in issuing the plate. The administrative fee
is credited to the Public Safety — Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TMO0), which is used in part to
pay the BMV’s expenses related to titling motor vehicles, licensing drivers, and registering motor
vehicles.

®  Assuming the number of applicants satisfies the minimum 150-person registration
requirement, then, in the first year, the annual production costs for the plate will total at
a minimum between $882 (150 persons x $5.88) and $1,085 (150 persons x $7.23), and
the administrative fees collected will total at least $1,500 (150 persons x $10).

" |n subsequent years, the BMV will collect $10 for each new or renewed license plate. For
each new plate issued, the production cost will be $5.88 and $7.23 for a single plate and
pair of plates, respectively.

Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club

The $20 contribution paid for the issuance of the “Chardon High School State Football
Champs” specialty license plate will be credited to the existing License Plate Contribution Fund
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(Fund 5V10), and then paid to the Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club to fund college and
career-technical training scholarships for students.

®  Assuming the number of applicants satisfies the minimum 150-person registration
requirement, then, in the first year, the Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club will receive at
least $3,000 (150 persons x $20 contribution).

® |n subsequent years, the Chardon Hilltopper Gridiron Club will collect $20 for each new
or renewed license plate.

State designations

Designations have no direct fiscal effect on the state or political subdivisions. They do not
require any action on the part of the state or local political subdivisions. The bill designates the
sugar cookie as the official cookie of the state and also designates the days listed below.

State Designations

I R S

Ohio Burn Awareness Week First full week of February
Pollinator Week Last full week of June
Eugene “Gene” F. Kranz Day August 17
Ohio Public Lands Day Last Saturday of September

Synopsis of Fiscal Effect Changes

The substitute bill (I_134-3029) contains provisions addressing a series of topics. These
provisions relate to: (1) Public water systems, (2) Environmental Health Specialist (EHS)
regulation, (3) D-9 liquor permits, (4) a new Chardon State Football Champs specialty license
plate, and (5) state designations and designation days. The fiscal effects related to items 1 to 4
are discussed in the detailed analysis. Item 5 has no fiscal effect.
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