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SUMMARY 

 Levies a tax on any landlord that owns 50 or more single-, two-, or three-family houses 
in a single county. 

 Imposes the tax on a monthly basis, at a rate of $1,500 for each such house owned on 
the first day of the month. 

 Requires a group of commonly owned or controlled persons to file and pay the tax as a 
combined taxpayer group. 

 Divides the revenue from the new tax equally between the Low- and Moderate-Income 
Housing Trust Fund and the Local Government Fund. 

 Imposes a penalty for failure to file or pay the tax equal to the number of taxable houses 
owned multiplied by 5% of the median Ohio home price. 

 Imposes a criminal penalty for filing a fraudulent refund claim, classified as a fifth 
degree felony and punishable by a fine of up to $750,000. 

 Requires pass-through entities to provide the applicable county auditor with contact 
information related to each taxable house the entity owns or transfers. 

 Requires taxpayers to provide information on their income tax or commercial activity 
tax returns about any taxable house that gave rise to taxable income or gross receipts. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-SB-76
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DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Housing market impact tax 

The bill imposes a new tax on certain high-volume landlords, beginning in the first full 
calendar year after the tax’s effective date.1 The tax, referred to as the “housing market impact 
tax,” is imposed on any person or combined taxpayer group that owns 50 or more “taxable 
houses” in a single county. A taxable house is any single-family, two-family, or three-family 
dwelling.2 When a county auditor is aware that a landlord owns the requisite number of 
houses, the auditor must provide notice on the landlord’s tax bill. 

The tax is imposed monthly, and equals $1,500 for each taxable house owned by the 
taxpayer on the first day of each month.3 Taxpayers must file a return and pay the tax for the 
preceding tax period by the 21st of each month.4 

The Tax Commissioner may prescribe rules and adopt applicable forms to implement 
the tax. These rules are not subject to the requirements in continuing law governing agency 
review of rules to identify regulatory restrictions or the removal of two regulatory restrictions 
upon adoption of one regulatory restriction.5 

Persons subject to tax 

The tax applies to any landlord owning the requisite number of houses in Ohio, 
regardless of the landlord’s organizational form, e.g., corporation, pass-through entity, sole 
proprietor, business trust, estate, etc., but does not apply to 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations, 
port authorities, or county land reutilization corporations, i.e., land banks.6  

Combined taxpayer group 

The bill requires a group of commonly owned or controlled persons, including the 
common owner, to file and pay the tax as a combined taxpayer group. Common ownership or 
control means a more-than-50% ownership interest. A combined taxpayer group must 
designate a reporting person to file returns and receive legal notices. Each member of the 
group remains jointly and severally liable for the tax and associated penalties and interest, and 
each member is subject to assessment.7 

                                                      

1 Section 4. 

2 R.C. 5755.01(A). 
3 R.C. 5755.01(G) and 5755.02. 
4 R.C. 5755.03(A), with conforming change in R.C. 113.061. 
5 R.C. 5755.07. 
6 R.C. 5755.01(B), (D), and (E), with conforming change in R.C. 5725.26. 
7 R.C. 5755.01(C) and (F) and 5755.011. 
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Use of revenue 

On the 28th day of each month, the Director of Budget and Management is required to 
transfer 50% of the revenue from the new tax to the Low- and Moderate-Income Housing Trust 
Fund, which is administered by the Ohio Housing Finance Agency and the Department of 
Development and funds housing grants and loans for community development corporations, 
emergency shelters, nonprofit organizations, families, and individuals.8 The remaining 50% is 
transferred to the Local Government Fund (LGF).9 The LGF, which is currently funded from a 
percentage of monthly state tax collections, is allocated monthly to counties, municipalities, 
townships, and park districts through various statutory and locally adopted allocation 
formulas.10 

Penalties and interest 

The bill imposes a penalty on any taxpayer who fails to file a required return or pay the 
full amount of tax owed. The penalty is calculated by multiplying the number of taxable houses 
the taxpayer owns on the first day of the tax period by 5% of the median Ohio home price 
according to the most recent American Community Survey published by the U.S. Census 
Bureau. 

Interest accrues against unpaid amounts at the normal statutory rate of three 
percentage points above the current yield on marketable United States government securities 
having a remaining maturity of three years or less. The interest accrues from the due date to 
the time the tax is paid or an assessment is issued, whichever occurs first.11 

The Tax Commissioner is authorized to waive penalties, but not interest.12 

Refunds 

Refunds are available for overpaid, illegal, or erroneously paid taxes. A taxpayer must 
generally apply for a refund within four years of the overpayment. Interest accrues on refund 
amounts at the same rate as it accrues on underpayments.13 

As with other taxes, refunds must be offset for various debts to the state, including 
unpaid taxes, workers compensation premiums, unemployment compensation contributions, 
and motor vehicle fees, and incorrect medical assistance payments.14 

                                                      

8 R.C. 174.02. 

9 R.C. 5755.03(C)(3). 
10 R.C. 131.51, 5747.50, 5747.503, 5747.51, and 5747.53, not in the bill. 
11 R.C. 5703.47, not in the bill. 
12 R.C. 5755.04, with conforming change in R.C. 5703.263. 
13 R.C. 5755.05, with conforming changes in R.C. 5703.052, 5703.053, 5703.70, and 5703.77. 
14 R.C. 5755.051, with conforming change in R.C. 4303.26. 
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The bill imposes a criminal penalty on anyone who files a fraudulent refund claim, 
classifying the offense as a fifth degree felony and subjecting the taxpayer to a fine of up to 
$750,000, in addition to the standard penalties.15 

Assessments 

As with other taxes, the Tax Commissioner may issue assessments for unpaid or 
unreported taxes. The assessment provisions are substantially the same as for other state 
taxes. The statute of limitations for issuing an assessment is four years unless fraud or failure to 
file is involved, in which case there is no time limit.16  

Municipal housing market impact tax prohibition 

The bill prohibits municipal corporations from using their home rule authority to levy a 
tax that is the same as or similar to the housing market impact tax.17 

Reporting of taxable houses 

The bill requires that any pass-through entity (PTE) − i.e., any S corporation, partnership, 
and or limited liability company − that owns a taxable house, even if it owns less than 50 such 
houses, provide and maintain a record of contact information for each house with the county 
auditor of the county in which the house is located. 

The bill requires an initial filing from any such PTE within one year of the provision’s 
effective date. The entity must file a statement with the applicable county auditor reporting the 
address and parcel number of the house and providing contact information for the PTE and one 
of its owners.18 

The bill imposes a similar reporting requirement whenever a taxable house is conveyed 
to a PTE or more than 50% of an ownership interest in a PTE that directly or indirectly owns a 
taxable house is transferred. When a taxable house is conveyed to a PTE, the property transfer 
statement that the grantee must submit to the county auditor under continuing law must 
include contact information for the entity and one of its owners. The same information must be 
reported within 30 days of the over-50% transfer of an ownership interest in a PTE that directly 
or indirectly owns a taxable house.19 

The bill also requires that taxpayers of the income tax and the CAT report information 
about any taxable houses that give rise to reportable income or losses or taxable gross receipts. 
Any such taxpayer must report on the applicable tax return the parcel identification number 
and county of any taxable house to which the person’s income, losses, or taxable gross receipts 

                                                      

15 R.C. 5755.052 and 5755.99. 
16 R.C. 5755.06, with conforming changes in R.C. 131.02, 5703.19, 5703.50, and 5703.90. 
17 R.C. 715.013. 
18 Section 3. 
19 R.C. 319.202. 
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are attributable, even if the taxpayer owns less than the 50-house threshold of the housing 
market impact tax.20 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 02-28-23 
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20 R.C. 5747.081 and 5751.051. 


