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Highlights

®  The bill may result in a minimal increase in fine revenue generated annually, the
magnitude of which will vary based on the number of convictions for failing to yield to a
funeral procession. Such fine revenue would be credited to certain counties and the
state’s Security, Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400).

Detailed Analysis

The bill doubles the fine imposed for failing to yield to a funeral procession and specifies
that the fine is in addition to all other penalties provided by law. Under continuing law, failure to
yield to a funeral procession is generally a minor misdemeanor that elevates to a fourth or third
degree misdemeanor based on the violator’s prior traffic offenses.

Failure to yield to a funeral procession

The bill is not likely to have a discernible impact on local criminal justice systems and is
likely to impact a very small number of cases. According to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV),
there were a total of 160 convictions statewide for failing to yield to a funeral procession from
CY 2020 through CY 2024, averaging 32 convictions annually. The BMV data does not reflect the
number of offenders that had prior traffic offenses within one year, which may have subjected
them to higher penalties.

Penalties

The following table shows the penalties for failure to yield to a funeral procession under
current law and S.B. 97. As seen in the table, the amount of the fine imposed could increase by
$150, $250, or S500 based on the violator’s prior traffic offenses. The bill does not impact any jail
term that may otherwise apply. Assuming the average number of convictions for failing to yield
to a funeral procession from CY 2020 through CY 2024 is representative of future years, the
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amount of revenue gain statewide could range from a minimum of $4,800 ($150 x 32) to a
maximum of $16,000 ($500 x 32) annually.

Penalties for Failing to Yield to a Funeral Procession

Offense Level Current Fine S.B. 97 Fine Term of Incarceration
Minor misdemeanor Up to $150 Up to $300 Citation issued; no jail
Misdemeanor 4" degree Up to $250 Up to $500 Jail, not more than 30 days

(second violation of a
predicate traffic offense
within one year)

Misdemeanor 3™ degree Up to $500 Up to $1,000 Jail, not more than 60 days

(third and subsequent
violation of a predicate
traffic offense within one
year)

Fine revenue distribution

Based on existing fine distribution rules, unchanged by the bill, fine revenue for violations
of state law that are enforced by local law enforcement is retained by the county in which the
violation occurred. If the violator is cited by the Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP), that revenue
is forwarded for deposit into the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Security, Investigations, and
Policing Fund (Fund 8400). As a result the bill, certain counties and Fund 8400 may experience a
minimal increase in the amount of fine revenue generated annually. The exact magnitude of any
increase would depend on the number of convictions for failure to yield to a funeral procession
in each county and which law enforcement agency issues the citation (local or OSHP), as well as
whether the offender is subjected to the higher fine amounts due to prior traffic offenses.
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