## **Ohio Legislative Service Commission**

## **Bill Analysis**

**Bethany Boyd** 

H.B. 167
131st General Assembly
(As Introduced)

**Reps.** Sweeney, Hambley

## **BILL SUMMARY**

Revises the term of Ohio Legislative Service Commission members.

## **CONTENT AND OPERATION**

The bill eliminates the requirement that members of the Ohio Legislative Service Commission (LSC) serve on LSC during their term as a Senate or House member and until their successors are appointed and qualified, notwithstanding the adjournment of the General Assembly of which they are members or the expiration of their terms as General Assembly members. Rather, under the bill, LSC members must serve only so long as they are members of the General Assembly.<sup>1</sup>

Under continuing law, the Ohio Legislative Service Commission is a nonpartisan agency providing to the General Assembly drafting, research, budget, and fiscal services, along with training and other services. The Commission consists of 14 members: the Senate President, House Speaker, six members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate President, not more than four of whom may be members of the same political party, and six members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the House Speaker, not more than four of whom may be members of the same political party.

HISTORY	
ACTION	DATE
Introduced H0167-I-131.docx/emr	04-23-15

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> R.C. 103.11.