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Contents: Failure to display a license plate on the front of a motor vehicle  

State Fiscal Highlights 

 There may be a minimal at most loss in fine revenue that would otherwise have 

been collected from drivers cited for failure to display two license plates by the Ohio 

State Highway Patrol and deposited in the state treasury to the credit of the Security, 

Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400). Presumably, there will be some 

operational savings if the trooper who issued the citation would otherwise have had 

to appear in court if the charge had been contested. 

 The state may lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue that would 

otherwise have been collected for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of certain 

state funds.1 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 As a result of making failure to display two plates a secondary traffic offense, 

counties, municipalities, and townships are likely to lose revenue from ticketing 

activity that generates money from court costs, fees, and fines. That statewide loss is 

estimated at up to between $120,000 and $240,000 or more annually. The annual loss 

in certain local jurisdictions will be in the tens of thousands of dollars. That revenue 

loss may be offset to some degree by the savings produced from no longer issuing 

and then processing citations for failure to display two license plates. 
  

                                                 

1 The state funds that receive court costs from various traffic and criminal violations include: the Indigent 

Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0), the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020), the Drug Law 

Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ET0), and the Justice Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60). 
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill specifies that failure to display a license plate on the front of a motor 

vehicle when required by law is a secondary traffic offense and establishes a maximum 

fine of $25 for failure to display a license plate on both the front and back of a vehicle. 

Under current law, the failure to display a front license plate when required is enforced 

as a primary traffic offense, a violation of which is a minor misdemeanor and carries a 

fine of up to $150. As a secondary traffic offense, a law enforcement officer will not be 

permitted to issue a citation for failure to display a front license plate unless the officer 

also arrests or issues a citation for a primary traffic offense. If, as a result of the bill, the 

number of citations issued decreases, then state and local revenues (from court costs, 

fees, and fines) that would otherwise have been collected from such violations will be 

lost. 

State fiscal effects 

Ohio State Highway Patrol 

Under current law, if a Highway Patrol trooper cites a driver for failure to 

display two plates, the resulting fine is deposited in the state treasury to the credit of 

the Security, Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400). As a result of the bill, such 

citations are likely to decrease. The resulting loss in fine revenue deposited to the credit 

of Fund 8400 will be minimal at most annually, and could be offset to some degree by 

eliminating the need for troopers to appear in court for contested citations. 

Revenues 

With the possibility of a decrease in citations being issued for failure to display 

two license plates, the state may lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue 

that would otherwise have been collected for deposit in the state treasury to the credit 

of certain state funds. The state funds that receive court costs from various traffic and 

criminal violations include: the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0), the 

Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020), the Drug Law Enforcement Fund 

(Fund 5ET0), and the Justice Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60).  

Local fiscal effects 

Under current law, a violation of the requirement to display two license plates is 

a primary traffic offense likely to result in a law enforcement officer issuing a citation 

for the commission of a minor misdemeanor, the penalty for which would be a fine of 

up to $150. In lieu of making a court appearance on the citation, a person is permitted to 

pay the amount of fines, fees, and court costs to the office of the clerk of the court in 

person or by mail. Under the bill, the offense can only be enforced as a secondary traffic 

offense and the associated fine is up to $25. 

As a result of the bill, counties, municipalities, and townships statewide are 

likely to see some loss in fine, fee, and court cost revenues, the magnitude of which in 
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any given local jurisdiction will depend upon the number of citations typically issued to 

drivers annually solely for failure to display two plates as a primary traffic offense.  

In 2013, the Department of Public Safety reported that 36,500 tag/sticker violations 

statewide, which included failure to display: (1) any license plate (front or rear), (2) a 

current validation sticker, (3) a county sticker, or (4) a temporary tag. The number of 

citations issued specifically for failure to display a front license plate is uncertain.  

Statistics for the Franklin County Municipal Court, which has countywide 

jurisdiction, indicate that, on average, close to 300 failure to display charges have been 

filed with the court annually from calendar years 2012-2014. The total cost of the ticket 

associated with each charge is around $100, including court costs, fees, and a $45 fine. 

Annualized that means that the total amount of local revenue being collected in the 

Franklin County Municipal Court from failure to display charges is approximately 

$30,000. Under the bill, all or some portion of that revenue will no longer be collected 

and distributed to the appropriate local jurisdictions. 

A simple population-based extrapolation from the Franklin County Municipal 

Court's charging data suggests that the total number of failure to display charges being 

filed annually statewide could be at least 1,200 or more. The total cost of the ticket in 

local jurisdictions around the state varies between $100 and $200 (court costs, fees, and 

fine). Annualized that means that the total amount of local revenue being collected from 

failure to display charges statewide could be between $120,000 and $240,000, if not 

more. Under the bill, all or some portion of that revenue will no longer be collected and 

distributed to the appropriate local jurisdictions. Presumably, the revenue loss will be 

offset to some degree by a decrease in citation processing activity. 

Basic fine, court costs, and fees breakdown 

The table below provides a basic breakdown of the state and local revenue 

collected from individuals for failure to display two plates on a motor vehicle. 
 

Fine, Fees, and Costs for Failure to Display Two Plates 

Financial Penalty 
Component 

Amount Paid by 
Violator 

Recipient of Amount 

Fine  Up to $150, minor 
misdemeanor fine 
that varies by local 

jurisdiction 

 Retained by county if violation of state law 

 Retained by municipality or township if violation of local ordinance 

 Forwarded for deposit in state Security, Investigations, and 
Policing Fund (Fund 8400) if violator cited by the Ohio State 
Highway Patrol 

Local court costs 
and fees 

Varies by local 
jurisdiction 

Generally retained by the county or municipality with subject matter 
jurisdiction over traffic violations 

State court costs  $37.50 Deposited in state treasury as follows: 

 $25 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) 

 $9 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020) 

 $3.40 to the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ET0) 

 $0.10 to the Justice Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60) 
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