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ACT SUMMARY 

Volunteer Peace Officers' Dependents Fund 

 Creates the Volunteer Peace Officers' Dependents Fund to provide death benefits to 

survivors of volunteer, part-time, and reserve police officers, sheriffs' deputies, 

constables, and deputy marshals killed in the line of duty and disability benefits to 

such disabled officers and deputies. 

 Makes each political subdivision with a police or sheriff's department that employs 

volunteer peace officers a member of the Fund and requires each Fund member to 

establish a volunteer peace officers' dependents fund board to administer claims for 

benefits from the Fund. 

 Requires the following benefit amounts to be paid from the Fund: (1) surviving 

spouses, a lump-sum award of $1,000, plus a benefit of $300 per month, 

(2) dependent children, a benefit of $125 per month, and (3) disabled volunteer 

peace officers, a disability benefit of $300 per month. 
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 To pay for benefits disbursed by the Fund, requires each Fund member to pay the 

Treasurer of State an initial premium of $300 to $500, which is based on the 

member's assessed property valuation. 

 If claims against the Fund have reduced it to 95% or less of its basic capital account, 

requires Fund members to pay additional premiums of $90 to $150, depending on 

the member's assessed property valuation. 

Ohio Public Safety Officers Death Benefit Fund  

 Makes survivors of gaming agents and Department of Taxation investigators eligible 

for benefits from the Ohio Public Safety Officers Death Benefit Fund. 

CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Volunteer Peace Officers' Dependents Fund 

The act creates the Volunteer Peace Officers' Dependents Fund to provide death 

benefits to survivors of volunteer, part-time, and reserve police officers, sheriffs' 

deputies, constables, and deputy marshals killed in the line of duty, and disability 

benefits to such officers and deputies who are totally and permanently disabled as a 

result of discharging their duties.1 The act is similar to the continuing Volunteer 

Firefighters' Dependents Fund, which provides (1) death benefits to surviving spouses 

and dependent children of volunteer firefighters killed in the line of duty and 

(2) disability benefits to volunteer firefighters who are totally and permanently disabled 

as a result of discharging duties as a firefighter.2  

The act defines "volunteer peace officer" as any person who is employed as a 

police officer, sheriff's deputy, constable, or deputy marshal in a part-time, reserve, or 

volunteer capacity by a county sheriff's department or the police department of a 

municipal corporation, township, township police district, or joint police district and is 

not a member of the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS), Ohio Police and Fire 

Pension Fund (OP&F), State Highway Patrol Retirement System (SHPRS), or Cincinnati 

Retirement System (CRS).3  

                                                 
1 R.C. Chapter 143. 

2 R.C. Chapter 146., not in the act. 

3 R.C. 143.01(C). 
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The act is referred to as the "Jason Gresko Act."4   It specifies that it is to have no 

impact on PERS, OP&F, or SHPRS.5 

Volunteer peace officers' dependents fund boards 

The act makes each county, municipal corporation, township, township police 

district, and joint police district with a police or sheriff's department that employs 

volunteer peace officers a member of the Fund. Each Fund member must establish a 

volunteer peace officers' dependents fund board. The boards administer claims for 

benefits from the Fund. 

Each board is to consist of the following members: 

(1) Two members, elected by the legislative authority of the Fund member that 

maintains the police or sheriff's department; 

(2) Two members, elected by the volunteer peace officers of the police or sheriff's 

department; 

(3) One member, elected by the members specified in (1) and (2), above. The 

member must be an elector of the Fund member in which the police or sheriff's 

department is located, but not be a public employee, member of the legislative 

authority, or peace officer of that police or sheriff's department.6 

Election of members 

The legislative authority of the Fund member that maintains the police or 

sheriff's department must hold the election for the initial board members by April 22, 

2016. After that, the election of the board members specified in (1) above must be held 

each year between November 1 and the second Monday in December. The election of 

the member specified in (3) above must be held each year by December 31.7 

The board members specified in (2) above must be elected by the second Monday 

in December. The board's secretary (or, in the case of the initial election, the legislative 

authority of the Fund member that maintains the department) must give notice of the 

election by posting it in a conspicuous place at the police or sheriff's department 

                                                 
4 Section 3. 

5  Section 5. 

6 R.C. 143.02(A). 

7 R.C. 143.02(C)(1) and Section 4. 
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headquarters. Between 9 a.m. and 9 p.m. on the day designated, each person eligible to 

vote must send in writing the name of two persons eligible to be elected to the board 

who are the person's choices. The board (or, for the initial election, the legislative 

authority) must count and record all votes cast at the election, and announce the result. 

The two persons receiving the highest number of votes are elected. If there is a tie vote 

for any two persons, the election is to be decided by lot or in any other way agreed on 

by the persons for whom the tie vote was cast.8 

Except for initial terms of office, terms of office of board members are one year 

and begin the first day of January. For the initially elected members, a member's term 

begins on the day after the member is elected and ends on December 31 of the year in 

which the member is elected. Any vacancy occurring on a board is to be filled at a 

special election called by the board's secretary.9 

Organization 

A Fund board is to meet promptly after election of its members and organize. 

The board must select from among its members a chairperson and secretary. The 

board's secretary must keep a complete record of the board's proceedings, which must 

be maintained as a permanent file. 

Board members are to serve without compensation. The legislative authority of 

the Fund member must provide sufficient meeting space and supplies for the board to 

carry out its duties. 

The board's secretary must submit all of the following to the Director of 

Commerce: (1) the name and address of each board member and the group or authority 

that elected the member, (2) the names of the board chairperson and secretary, and (3) a 

certificate indicating the current assessed property valuation of the Fund member that 

is prepared by the clerk of the Fund member.10 

Each board may adopt rules as necessary for handling and processing claims for 

benefits. The board must perform other duties as necessary to implement the law 

governing the Fund.11  

                                                 
8 R.C. 143.02(C)(2) and Section 4. 

9 R.C. 143.02(B) and (D) and Section 4. 

10 R.C. 143.03.  The term "clerk" probably is a drafting error and should be replaced with "secretary." 

11 R.C. 143.04. 
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The prosecuting attorney of the county in which a Fund member is located 

serves as the legal advisor for the board.12 

Benefits 

Death benefits 

Under the act, death benefits must be paid from the Fund to the surviving spouse 

or dependent children of a volunteer peace officer who is killed in the line of duty, 

regardless of whether disability benefits were paid from the Fund to that officer. Death 

benefits are to be paid as follows: 

--A surviving spouse receives a lump-sum award of $1,000 and a benefit of $300 

per month. 

--Each dependent child under age 18, or under age 22 if in school, receives a 

benefit of $125 per month.13 

"Killed in the line of duty" is defined as either (1) death in the line of duty or (2) 

death from injury sustained in the line of duty, including heart attack or other fatal 

injury or illness caused while in the line of duty.14 

Disability benefits 

Under the act a volunteer peace officer who is totally and permanently disabled 

as a result of discharging the duties of a volunteer peace officer receives a disability 

benefit from the Fund of $300 per month. The act provides, however, that no payment is 

to be made to a volunteer peace officer who is receiving the officer's full salary during 

the time of the officer's disability.15 

The act defines "totally and permanently disabled" as unable to engage in any 

substantial gainful employment for a period of not less than 12 months by reason of a 

medically determinable physical impairment that is permanent or presumed to be 

permanent.16 

                                                 
12 R.C. 143.05. 

13 R.C. 143.09(B). 

14 R.C. 143.01(A). 

15 R.C. 143.09(A). 

16 R.C. 143.01(B). 
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Application for benefits 

An individual eligible for benefits from the Fund must file a claim for benefits 

with the appropriate Fund board on a form provided by the board. All of the following 

information must be submitted with the claim: 

(1) In the case of a totally and permanently disabled volunteer peace officer: (a) 

the name of the police or sheriff's department for which the officer was a volunteer 

peace officer, (b) the date of the injury, and (c) satisfactory medical evidence that the 

officer is totally and permanently disabled. 

(2) In the case of a surviving spouse or a parent, guardian, or other person in 

charge of a dependent child: (a) the deceased officer's full name, (b) the name of the 

police or sheriff's department for which the deceased officer was a volunteer peace 

officer, (c) the name and address of the surviving spouse, as applicable, (d) the names, 

ages, and addresses of any dependent children, and (e) any other evidence required by 

the board.17 

All claimants must certify that neither the claimant nor the person on whose 

behalf the claim is filed qualifies for other benefits from any of the following based on 

the officer's service as a volunteer peace officer: PERS, OP&F, SHPRS, CRS, or the Ohio 

Public Safety Officers Death Benefit Fund.18 

The act requires initial claims to be filed with the board of the Fund member in 

which the officer was a volunteer peace officer. Thereafter, on request of the claimant or 

the board, claims may be transferred to a board near the claimant's current residence, if 

the boards concerned agree to the transfer.19 

Consideration of claims 

Not later than five days after receiving a claim for benefits, a board must meet 

and determine the validity of the claim. If the board determines that the claim is valid, it 

must make a determination of the amount due and certify its determination to the 

Director of Commerce for payment. The certificate must show (1) the board's name and 

address, (2) the name and address of each beneficiary, (3) the amount to be received by 

each beneficiary, and (4) the name and address of the person to whom payments are to 

be made. 

                                                 
17 R.C. 143.09(C). 

18 R.C. 143.09(D). 

19 R.C. 143.09(E). 



Legislative Service Commission -7- Sub. S.B. 11  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

If the Board determines that a claimant is ineligible for benefits, it must deny the 

claim and issue to the claimant a copy of its order.20 

The act authorizes a board to make a continuing order for monthly payments to a 

claimant for a period not exceeding three months from the date of the determination. 

The determination may be modified after issuance to reflect any changes in the 

claimant's eligibility. If no changes occur at the end of the three-month period, the 

Director may provide for payment if the board certifies that the original certificate is 

continued for an additional three-month period.21  

Exemption from garnishment and attachment 

Under the act, an individual's right to the benefits provided by the act (1) are 

exempt from execution, garnishment, attachment, and bankruptcy or insolvency laws, 

and (2) are unassignable, except for orders concerning the division of marital property 

and withholding orders to satisfy child support obligations.22 

Funding of benefits 

Initial premiums 

The Fund is to be maintained in the state treasury. All investment earnings of the 

Fund must be collected by the Treasurer of State and placed to the credit of the Fund.23 

To pay for benefits disbursed by the Fund, each Fund member must pay the 

Treasurer of State an initial premium, which is credited to the Fund. The amount of the 

premium depends on the member's assessed property valuation, as indicated in the 

table below.24 

Member's assessed property valuation Initial premium amount 

Less than $7 million $300 

$7 million or more, but less  
than $14 million 

$350 

$14 million or more, but less  
than $21 million 

$400 

                                                 
20 R.C. 143.10(A). 

21 R.C. 143.10(B). 

22 R.C. 143.11 and 2329.66. 

23 R.C. 143.06(A). 

24 R.C. 143.06(B). 
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Member's assessed property valuation Initial premium amount 

$21 million or more, but less  
than $28 million 

$450 

$28 million or more $500 

 

Additional premiums 

The act makes the total of all initial premiums collected by the Treasurer of State 

the basic capital account of the Fund. No further contributions are required of its 

members until claims against the Fund have reduced it to 95% or less of its basic capital 

account. In that event, additional premiums must be paid by Fund members and the 

Director must cause the following assessments, based on current property valuation, to 

be made and certified to the legislative authority of each member:25 

     Member's assessed property valuation Assessment amount 

Less than $7 million $90 

$7 million or more, but less 
than $14 million 

$105 

$14 million or more, but less  
than $21 million 

$120 

$21 million or more, but less  
than $28 million 

$135 

$28 million or more $150 

 

Failure to pay premiums 

If a Fund member fails to pay the initial premium, the Director must certify the 

failure as an assessment against the member to the auditor of the county within which 

the member is located. The county auditor must (1) withhold the amount of the 

assessment plus interest at the rate of 6% from the due date of the premium, from the 

next ensuing tax settlement due the member and (2) pay the amount to the Treasurer of 

State to the credit of the Fund. 

If a board secretary fails to submit to the Director a certificate of the member's 

current assessed property valuation, the Director must use the highest assessed 

                                                 
25 R.C. 143.07. 
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property valuation ($28 million or more) as a basis for the assessment. As a result, the 

member will pay an initial premium of $500.26 

If a member does not pay the additional premium within 45 days after receiving 

notice of the assessment, the Director must proceed with collection in accordance with 

the act's procedures for collecting initial premiums that have not been paid.27 

Ohio Public Safety Officers Death Benefit Fund 

The act extends eligibility for benefits from the Ohio Public Safety Officers Death 

Benefit Fund to eligible survivors of gaming agents and Department of Taxation 

investigators who are killed in the line of duty or die of injuries or diseases incurred in 

the performance of official duties.28    

Gaming agents are peace officers employed by the Casino Control Commission 

to enforce the state's casino gaming laws and conduct investigations into casino gaming 

and maintenance of gaming equipment.29 Department of Taxation investigators have 

been delegated investigation powers by the Tax Commissioner to enforce the state's 

laws governing income, sales, use, storage, cigarette, fuel use, and motor fuel taxes.30 

Under the Death Benefit Fund, certain survivors of a number of different public 

safety officers who are killed in the line of duty or die of their injuries are eligible for 

benefits, including survivors of police officers, firefighters, certain correction officers, 

and drug agents. 

The Death Benefit Fund is administered by OP&F and financed through 

legislative appropriations. Survivors eligible to receive a Death Fund benefit are: the 

deceased officer's: (1) spouse, (2) unmarried children who are under age 18 or between 

18 and 22 and in school, (3) surviving child of any age who is mentally or physically 

disabled and was totally dependent on the officer at the time of the officer's death, (4) a 

dependent parent of the officer, if the officer died on or after January 1, 1980, and was 

not survived by a spouse or child.31  

                                                 
26 R.C. 143.08(A). 

27 R.C. 143.08(B). 

28 R.C. 742.63(A)(1)(xiii) and (xiv). 

29 R.C. 3772.01(K), not in the act. 

30 R.C. 5743.45. 

31 R.C. 742.63. 
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The death benefit amount depends on whether the officer had, at the time of 

death, reached the officer's retirement eligibility date, which is defined as the last day of 

the month in which a deceased officer would have first become eligible for the 

retirement pension of the retirement system to which the officer belonged.32  

For survivors of a deceased officer who had not reached the retirement eligibility 

date prior to death, the death benefit generally equals the deceased officer's full 

monthly salary at the time of death, plus any salary increase that would have been 

granted had the officer not died, minus any survivor benefit from the officer's 

retirement system. The benefit is divided among the eligible survivors in accordance 

with a formula specified in statute. The benefit generally terminates on the deceased 

officer's retirement eligibility date.33  

For a deceased officer who reached the retirement eligibility date prior to death, 

the benefit equals one-half of the monthly salary received by the officer before death. If 

the officer was a member of OP&F, the benefit is reduced by any amount a survivor 

receives from OP&F as a contingent dependent beneficiary. The benefit terminates on 

the death of the surviving spouse or surviving children or when the surviving children 

are no longer eligible, as applicable.34  
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32 R.C. 742.63(A)(10). 

33 R.C. 742.63(B) to (E). 

34 R.C. 742.63(F) and (G). 


