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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill creates the Towing and Quick Clear Board, permits it to appoint staff, and 

requires the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio to provide support if requested to 

do so. The bill also creates the Towing and Quick Clear Fund consisting of civil 

penalties imposed on towing companies, and requires the money in the fund be 

used to execute the Board's duties. The amount of money that may be generated 

annually is uncertain, as is the cost of the Board's annual operations.  

 Potential negligible annual revenue gain in the form of state court costs collected 

from violators of the bill's failure to display prohibition and deposited into the state 

treasury.1 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 The cost of any additional work for clerks of courts of common pleas to issue 

additional certificates of title may be more or less offset by the collection of related 

fees. 

 The bill's civil and criminal penalty provisions are likely to generate additional cases 

for county and municipal judicial systems to dispose of. The costs of doing so will 

not be significant, and are likely to be offset to some degree by court costs, fees, and 

fines. 

  

                                                 
1 The court costs are apportioned between the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020) and the 

Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0). 

http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill makes various changes to the state's motor vehicle towing requirements 

and procedures, many of which primarily affect private towing and salvage companies 

and do not have any fiscal impact on governmental entities.  

Bureau of Motor Vehicles record search 

Under current law, a sheriff, chief of police, or an Ohio State Highway Patrol 

trooper may, under certain conditions, order a motor vehicle into storage. For each 

motor vehicle that is so ordered, current law requires that sheriffs and chiefs of police 

conduct a search of Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) records to ascertain the identity of 

the owner and any lienholder of that motor vehicle. The bill changes the timeline for 

conducting a search of BMV records from "immediately" to "within five business days 

of the removal of the vehicle." Although this provision will not have a significant fiscal 

impact, it will give certain law enforcement agencies more flexibility generally in 

performing their duties and responsibilities by giving them more time in which to 

conduct the required search of BMV records. 

Certificates of title 

Salvage certificate of title 

The bill allows the agent of a towing service, storage facility, or repair garage, 

under certain conditions, to file an affidavit with a clerk of court of common pleas to 

obtain a salvage certificate of title to a vehicle in its possession for purposes of disposing 

of the vehicle through a motor vehicle salvage dealer or a scrap metal processing 

facility. In order to be eligible for a salvage certificate of title, the towing service or 

storage facility must follow a specified process that in part involves confirming that the 

vehicle in question: (1) has a value of less than $1,500 after reductions for repairs, 

towing, and up to 30 days of storage, (2) is apparently inoperable, and (3) is impossible 

to restore for highway operation.  

These changes may increase the workload for clerks of court, as they may have to 

issue salvage certificates of title for additional vehicles. The bill requires the payment of 

a $4 fee to issue such a title, and requires it be deposited into the county certificate of 

title administration fund. The cost of any additional work for a clerk will likely be offset 

to some degree by the fees collected.  

Unclaimed vehicle certificate of title 

Under current law, the owner of a repair garage or place of storage is permitted 

to file an affidavit with a clerk of court of common pleas to receive a certificate of title 

for certain vehicles that have been left unclaimed for more than 30 days. The bill 

changes the term "owner" to "agent" and specifies that an agent of a repair garage or 

place of storage is also permitted to file an affidavit seeking title of an unclaimed vehicle 

if the person who left the vehicle was not the owner or lienholder of that vehicle, 
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provided that the appropriate notice is filed with the appropriate law enforcement 

agency. These changes may increase the workload for clerks of court, as they may have 

to issue certificates of title for additional vehicles that could be declared unclaimed.  

Current law requires the owner of a repair garage or place of storage to pay the 

clerk of court, for deposit into the county general fund, the value of the motor vehicle 

for which the certificate of title is requested, less any expenses the owner may have 

incurred. The cost of any additional work for a clerk will likely be offset by the revenue 

received for the value of the motor vehicle. 

Value of an unclaimed vehicle  

The bill increases, from $3,500 to $4,400, the value of a motor vehicle for 

purposes of allowing an entity in possession of the vehicle to take title to it as described 

in the immediately preceding section, and specifies that the deduction of towing and 

storage fees for the period of time that the vehicle was stored without payment is not 

permitted as part of the value determination, but those fees may be deducted from the 

amount paid to a clerk of court. 

These changes may potentially increase the number of vehicles for which the 

owner of a repair garage or place of storage is permitted to file an affidavit with a clerk 

of court of common pleas to receive a certificate of title and for which the clerk of court 

collects a fee based on the value of the vehicle. They may also decrease the amount that 

the clerk otherwise might have collected by allowing the deduction of certain amounts 

used to calculate the vehicle's value and the clerk's related fee. The net annual fiscal 

effect on the amount that the clerks collect for deposit in the county's general fund is 

uncertain. 

Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity 

Current law requires a towing service to obtain a valid Certificate of Public 

Convenience and Necessity issued by the Public Utilities Commission and display both 

the certificate number and business telephone number on the left and right sides of the 

towing vehicle. The bill creates a penalty for the failure to display such information and 

classifies a first offense as a minor misdemeanor subject to a fine of up to $150. A second 

or subsequent violation is an unclassified misdemeanor subject to a mandatory $500 

fine, and the court is required to seize and impound all vehicles used to tow motor 

vehicles on behalf of the towing service until the required certificate is obtained.  

The penalty for failure to display may increase the number of misdemeanor cases 

for municipal and county courts to adjudicate. Presumably, towing services, for the 

most part, are generally complying with current law's requirement to display a valid 

certificate number and will continue to do so. As such, any increase in costs associated 

with disposing of additional cases under the bill is likely to be relatively small for any 

given court. For those courts that do experience an increase in caseload as a result of the 

bill, the bill requires the owner of a towing service who permitted the violation to 

appear in the appropriate court to answer the charge. Under current Supreme Court 
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Rule, a person who receives a citation for certain traffic violations is permitted to pay 

the amount of fines, fees, and court costs to the office of the clerk of the court in person 

or by mail thereby avoiding having to appear in court. As such, it may take more time 

to dispose of these cases than if the offender was permitted to settle the matter outside 

of court.  

Any increase in criminal cases and subsequent convictions as a result of the bill 

may lead to a gain in related state and local revenues. The state revenues would be in the 

form of locally collected state court costs, in the amount of $29 for a misdemeanor, that 

are forwarded for deposit in the state treasury and divided as follows: $20 to the 

Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and $9 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations 

Fund (Fund 4020). Counties and municipalities may gain revenues in the form of local 

court costs, fees, and fines. The amount of money that either the state or local 

governments may gain annually is likely to be negligible, as the number of affected cases 

is likely to be relatively small.  

Civil penalties for towing violations 

Current law permits the owner of a vehicle that was towed in violation of the 

towing law to file a civil action against the towing service or storage facility and 

requires the court, if it is determined that a violation occurred, to impose specified 

penalties on the towing service or storage facility. The bill modifies those penalties by 

creating and distinguishing between "major violations" and "minor violations," and 

adding failure to display the Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity number as 

a violation for which a civil action can be initiated. The bill specifies that if a vehicle 

owner brings an action for multiple violations, the court must consider each violation as 

a separate violation for purposes of awarding a civil penalty and determining the 

number of violations a towing service or storage facility has committed within the year.  

This civil penalty modification may result in a relatively small increase in the 

number of civil actions filed against towing services and storage facilities but will not 

likely have a discernible impact on courts, as they are not expected to significantly 

increase workload. The costs associated with any new civil actions filed as a result of 

the bill may be at least partially offset by the fee that is required to accompany each 

filing. Additionally, civil actions alleging towing violations generally involve private 

parties, so it is unlikely that the state or a political subdivision would be a defendant in 

such an action and subsequently required to pay the imposed penalty. Civil actions 

alleging towing violations fall under the subject matter jurisdiction of common pleas, 

municipal, and county courts. 

Judgment against a towing company or storage facility 

If a vehicle owner brings a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction against 

a towing service or storage facility that commits a major or minor violation and the 

court issues a judgment against a towing service or storage facility, the bill requires the 

court to send a copy of that judgment to the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio 

(PUCO). The PUCO must provide a copy of that judgment upon request. As a result, 
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affected local courts may incur negligible expenditures to provide the notice to the 

PUCO and the PUCO may incur negligible expenditures to comply with the bill's 

record-keeping policies. 

Public Utilities Commission 

Towing and storage fee establishment and review 

The bill requires the PUCO to establish, within one year of the bill's effective 

date, the maximum fees that may be charged by a for-hire motor carrier engaged in the 

towing of motor vehicles or a storage facility that accepts such vehicles. The bill also 

requires PUCO to establish a process for reviewing towing and storage fees every five 

years to determine whether the fees are just, reasonable, and compensatory and 

authorizes PUCO to adjust those fees to an appropriate amount. Any additional costs 

that PUCO may incur to comply with the bill's provisions are likely to be absorbed 

utilizing existing resources. 

Towing and Quick Clear Board 

The bill establishes the Towing and Quick Clear Board to resolve disputes filed 

by insurance companies over a bill for any portion of the towing of a motor vehicle for 

which the insurance company is responsible for payment. The Board consists of seven 

members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The bill 

specifies that a representative of the PUCO is to serve as the chairperson of the Board 

and that PUCO must provide the Board with a meeting place, supplies, and staff 

assistance. Board members are to serve without compensation, but must be reimbursed 

for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the discharge of their duties. The bill 

also requires the Board to issue a report to the General Assembly no later than 

25 months after the bill's effective date containing specific information regarding 

complaints filed with the Board over the previous two years. 

The bill permits the Board to impose financial penalties on towing companies or, 

in certain circumstances, recommend to PUCO that a towing company's Certificate of 

Public Convenience and Necessity be revoked if the Board finds the amount billed for 

the towing of a motor vehicle to be excessive. These financial penalties are deposited 

into the state treasury to the credit of the Towing and Quick Clear Fund, which the bill 

creates, for the purpose of executing the duties of the Board. The Board may also 

require an insurance company to pay a towing company if the Board finds that the 

disputed amount was appropriate. A decision of the Board may be appealed to the 

Franklin County Court of Common Pleas. 

As a result of the bill's Towing and Quick Clear Board requirements, the PUCO 

will experience an increase in expenditures, the magnitude of which is uncertain, but 

may be tens of thousands of dollars or more. While the bill specifies that the Towing 

and Quick Clear Fund is to be used for the purpose of executing the duties of the Board, 

there is no appropriation permitting PUCO (or any other state agency) to spend the 

proceeds collected by the fund. Additionally, it is possible that the Franklin County 
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Court of Common Pleas may experience a slight increase in caseload if decisions made 

by the Board are appealed. Any increase would likely be minimal with any additional 

costs at least partially offset by a filing fee. 
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