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Local Impact Statement Procedure Required: No

Contents: Establishes licensing requirements for dental therapists

State Fiscal Highlights

e The State Dental Board could receive a gain in licensing and registration fee revenue.
The amount will depend on the number of dental therapists seeking licensure. On
the other hand, the Board would incur rule promulgation and administrative costs
associated with dental therapist regulation.

e The State Dental Board will incur costs of approximately $17,000 per year to add two
new members to the Board.

e The State Dental Board may also experience a negligible increase in costs to
determine whether the life-support training certified by American Safety and Health
Institute (ASHI) meets national standards.

e The State Dental Board will experience a minimal loss in revenue related to the
repeal of the Oral Health Access Supervision Program.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e There may be costs to local courts associated with violations of the bill regarding
unlicensed, unsupervised, and unqualified practice. The number of violations is
anticipated to be few, so any costs should be minimal. Additionally, some of these
costs could be offset by any court costs and fine revenue collected.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill provides for the regulation and licensure of dental therapists, a dental
health profession not provided for under current Ohio law.

Dental therapy

The bill outlines the scope of practice and eligibility requirements to obtain a
license to practice dental therapy. This includes an application fee to be paid to the State
Dental Board, which is $96 for a license issued in an odd-numbered year and $147 for a
license issued in an even-numbered year. The Board must issue a dental therapy license
to each applicant who submits a complete application and satisfies the eligibility
requirements. As a result, the State Dental Board would realize a gain in licensing
revenue. The total gain would depend on the number of individuals seeking licensure
as dental therapists. According to the State Dental Board, during the initial year of the
program there would likely be less than 20 applicants for licensure. However, these
numbers could increase in subsequent years as additional applicants sought licensure.
The Board would also realize a subsequent increase in investigative costs to regulate
dental therapists. The Board could also realize one-time costs, including information
technology costs to adjust the e-licensing system to include dental therapists and costs
to develop a licensure examination.

The bill adds two members to the State Dental Board who are dental therapists,
thereby increasing membership to 15 members. According to the Board, this will result
in additional costs for the Board of about $8,500 for each new member per year, for a
total annual cost of $17,000.

Registration

The bill requires each licensed dental therapist to register with the State Dental
Board on or before January 1 of each even-numbered year. The registration must be
made on a Board-prescribed form and must be accompanied by a $105 registration fee
paid to the state treasurer. Registration must be renewed in accordance with Ohio's
standard renewal procedure. The bill also outlines certain continuing education
requirements for renewal. Failure to renew registration results in the automatic
suspension of the dental therapist's license, unless the therapist is temporarily retired. A
dental therapist whose license has been suspended for failure to renew registration may
apply for license reinstatement. The reinstatement application must include payment of
the biennial registration fee plus an additional $31 to cover the costs of reinstatement.
The bill also provides for temporary retirement of a dental therapist, as well as
reinstatement from temporary retirement. The Board will realize an increase in
registration fee revenue. The amount of revenue collected will depend on the number of
dental therapists seeking renewal.




Limited teaching license

The bill permits the Board to issue a limited teaching license authorizing the
license-holder to teach and demonstrate the skills of a dental therapist in an educational
program by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. An application for a limited
teaching license must be endorsed by the dental therapy education program where the
applicant will be teaching and must be accompanied by a $58 payment. The license may
be issued without an examination and must be renewed annually in accordance with
Ohio's Standard License Renewal Procedure. The Board could realize a gain in licensing
revenue and a subsequent increase in costs for issuing these licenses. However, the
Board anticipates the number of licenses issued to be few, so any impact should be
negligible.

Prohibitions

Under the bill, a dental therapist may practice only under the supervision,
control, and full responsibility of a licensed dentist. The bill prohibits a dental therapist
from practicing independently from the supervising dentist's practice or the practice of
another dentist authorized by the supervising dentist. A violation of this prohibition is a
tirst degree misdemeanor for a first offense and a fifth degree felony for a subsequent
offense.

The bill prohibits a person from purposefully practicing as a dental therapist
unless the person has been licensed by the Board to practice as a dental therapist. The
bill also prohibits a person from knowingly employing a dental therapist who has not
complied with the laws regulating dental health professionals. A violation of either of
these prohibitions is a first degree misdemeanor for a first offense and a fifth degree
felony for a subsequent offense.

Continuing law prohibits a dentist from assigning to a dental assistant or other
qualified personnel any dental procedure that the assistant or personnel are not legally
authorized to perform. The bill extends this prohibition to dental hygienists and dental
therapists. A first-time violation of this prohibition is a first degree misdemeanor, and
each subsequent violation is a fifth degree felony.

There may be costs to local courts associated with violations of these
abovementioned prohibitions, as well as incarceration costs to the Department of
Rehabilitation and Correction for subsequent offenses. The number of any violations is
anticipated to be few. Thus, any costs are anticipated to be minimal. Additionally, some
of the costs may be offset by any court costs or fine revenue collected.

The bill extends continuing law permitting the Board to request the Attorney
General or a county prosecutor to apply for an injunction to restrain the unlicensed
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene by permitting the Board to make such a request
to restrain the unlicensed practice of dental therapy. This could result in related costs
for the Attorney General or a county prosecutor.




Life-support certification

To renew a dental therapy registration, a dental therapist must be certified to
perform basic life-support procedures. The certification must be the result of
completing a basic life-support training course certified by the American Red Cross, the
American Heart Association, or, if certain conditions are satisfied, the American Safety
and Health Institute (ASHI). The bill requires the Board to determine whether the life-
support training certified by ASHI meets national standards. The Board must compare
the ASHI-certified training with the training certified by the American Red Cross and
the American Heart Association. If the Board determines ASHI-certified training meets
national standards and is equivalent to the other courses, then ASHI-certified training
will satisfy the life-support certification requirements. The Board expects that it would
contract out for this work at a negligible cost.

Oral Health Access Supervision Program

The bill repeals the Oral Health Access Supervision Program. Under the
program, qualified dental hygienists are permitted to provide limited services in
underserved areas while a dentist is not physically present. The fee charged to
participate in the program is $20 for both dentists and dental hygienists each biennial
renewal period. According to the Board, there have been 69 dentists and 124 dental
hygienists who have participated in the program since its inception in 2010. As a result,
the Board will experience a minimal loss in revenue related to the repeal of the
program. There could also be a minimal decrease in administrative costs associated
with the Board's duties regarding the program.

Rule promulgation

Continuing law requires the Board to adopt rules establishing standards for the
safe practice of dentistry and dental hygiene, to promote such practice, and to examine
eligible applicants to practice dental therapy. The bill extends this requirement to
include the practice of dental therapy. The Board may experience a minimal increase in
costs to adopt such rules.

SB0330IN.docx/ts




