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Local Impact Statement Procedure Required: No

Contents: Elimination of concealed handgun license requirements and purchase restrictions for active
duty armed forces members

State and Local Fiscal Highlights

e There will be a negligible fiscal effect on state and local revenues and expenditures,
as the bill's changes to the Concealed Handgun Law may result in a slight reduction
in licenses issued and prohibition violations prosecuted.

e The effect of the bill's employment discrimination provision on the caseloads and
related annual operating expenses of the Ohio Civil Rights Commission or any given
court of common pleas is likely to be minimal at most.

Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Concealed carry

The bill specifies that active duty members of the U.S. armed forces: (1) do not
need a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed handgun if they are carrying a
valid military identification and documentation of successful completion of specified
tirearms training, and (2) if under the age of 21, may be sold or furnished a handgun if
the member has received military or equivalent small arms training.

Concealed carry licenses

The bill may result in a very slight reduction in the number of new and renewed
concealed handgun licenses issued, as active duty military members will no longer be
required to obtain a concealed handgun license. The specific number of active duty
military personnel that are issued a new or renewed concealed handgun license in any
given year is unclear.

We do know that, in 2015, counties statewide issued 116,140 new and renewed
concealed handgun licenses. This constitutes about 1% of the population of Ohio, which
totals approximately 11.6 million. According to the Defense Manpower Data Center,
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there were 7,218 active duty military members in Ohio as of August 2013. If 1% of the
general Ohio population is issued a new or renewed concealed handgun license each
year, and we assume that a similar 1% would reasonably represent the active duty
military in Ohio, then we estimate that around 72 persons on active military duty are
issued a new or renewed license each year. This suggests that, as a result of the bill, an
estimated 72 active military duty members would no longer be required to secure a
license each year.

Under current law, the cost of a concealed carry license is as follows: new
($67/$91) and renewal ($50/$74).! A license is valid for five years. The fees are collected
by the county sheriff as part of their duties and responsibilities to administer and
enforce the state's Concealed Handgun Law. The sheriff retains a portion of the fee ($40
of a new license and $35 of the renewal license) for deposit into the Sheriff's Concealed
Handgun License Issuance Expense Fund, which is used solely to pay for related
administrative and enforcement costs. The remainder is forwarded for deposit into the
state treasury to the credit of the General Reimbursement Fund (Fund 1060), which the
Attorney General uses, in part, to fund the cost of background checks performed by the
Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI), as well as any checks requested from the FBI.

If, under the bill, around 72 active duty military members are exempted from the
requirement to obtain a concealed handgun license, the estimated amount of license fee
revenue lost statewide could run between $5,000 and $6,500 per year. The annual
revenue loss to Fund 1060 and the Sheriff's Concealed Handgun License Issuance
Expense Fund across the state will be minimal at most. It is also likely that any revenue
loss would to some extent be offset by expenditure reductions, as county sheriffs and

BCI will have fewer concealed carry-related tasks to perform.

Concealed carry violations

As a result of the bill, there may be slightly fewer arrests for concealed carry
violations, and a corresponding reduction in the number of prosecutions, and
sanctioning, which could include the possibility of jail or prison.

The number of active duty military members incarcerated for this type of offense
is likely to be extremely small because all active duty military members are subject to
the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCM]J). Most crimes in civilian criminal codes are
also included in the UCM]J, which has jurisdiction over active military personnel. If a
crime committed by a person on active duty violates both the UCM]J and civilian law,
that offense could be tried in both systems; however, the two systems typically
coordinate how the case will be adjudicated.

! Applicants residing in Ohio for five years or more pay a fee of $67 for a new license or $50 for a renewal
license. Applicants residing in Ohio for less than five years pay an additional $24 for a new or renewal
license for the cost of the required FBI background check (R.C. 2923.125).




To the extent that county and municipal criminal justice systems defer to the
jurisdiction of the military, the few cases that might occur under current law could
become even fewer. There will be a very small savings effect for those local systems, as
a result of having fewer persons to arrest, prosecute, and sanction for concealed carry
violations. This may also entail a related negligible loss in court costs, fees, and fines
that might otherwise have been collected from persons on active military duty
convicted of a concealed carry violation. This potential revenue loss may be offset to
some extent by a provision in the bill creating a civil penalty of up to $500 if a member
of the military is stopped by law enforcement and they are not carrying the required
identification and documentation. Estimating the revenue is difficult because the civil
penalty must be waived if the offender produces their military identification and
training documentation within ten days of receiving the citation. Little civil penalty
revenue is likely to be collected.

The annual fiscal effect on the state may be a minimal reduction in state
incarceration costs and a negligible loss in locally collected state court costs.

Employment discrimination

The bill makes it unlawful for any employer to discharge without cause or
otherwise discriminate against a person who holds a valid concealed handgun license
with respect to any matter related to their employment because the licensee possessed a
tirearm within either the person's private real property or within a motor vehicle.

Ohio Civil Rights Commission

It is unclear how many new cases of alleged employment discrimination will
result from the bill, but given the nature of this type of discrimination, the potential
number will likely be small. Upon receipt of a complaint, the Commission will typically
investigate to determine whether it is probable that an unlawful discriminatory practice
occurred. The Commission would likely have sufficient state and/or federal funds to
absorb such a small increase in workload.

Courts of common pleas

In general, allegations of discriminatory practices will be resolved by the filing of
a complaint with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission as opposed to the filing of a civil
action in the appropriate court of common pleas. Under current law however, an
aggrieved individual generally has the right to file an action in the appropriate court of
common pleas. Commission staff has generally indicated that the filing of a civil action
is more often the exception rather than the rule, and that the Commission's findings are
quite often accepted and not appealed. Assuming this were true, then the bill's effect on
the caseloads and related annual operating expenses of any given court of common
pleas is likely to be minimal at most.
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