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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The annual operating expenses of the State Board of Pharmacy will increase by an 

uncertain degree to register and regulate approximately 42,000 registered pharmacy 

technicians, certified pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy technician trainees plus 

approximately 1,000 additional licensed office-based opioid treatment facilities.  

 The fees to be collected by the State Board of Pharmacy are estimated to generate 

between $1.2 million and $2.3 million in the first year and will be deposited in the 

state's existing Fund 4K90, the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund. Most 

of the money needed to cover the Board's annual operating expenses is appropriated 

from this fund. 

 There could be a decrease in Medicaid prescription drug costs if the Medicaid prior 

authorization requirements or utilization review measures for opioid analgesics 

prescribed for the treatment of chronic pain result in fewer prescriptions of opioid 

analgesics filled. There could also be an increase in administrative costs to the Ohio 

Department of Medicaid to process additional prior authorizations received.  

 The requirement that health insurers apply prior authorization requirements or 

utilization review measures as conditions of providing opioid analgesics prescribed 

for the treatment of chronic pain could decrease the costs for the state to provide 

health benefits to workers and their dependents. 

 The State Medical Board could experience an increase in costs to take certain 

disciplinary actions if a certificate holder is found to practice at or own a facility or 

clinic subject to licensure as a category III terminal distributor of dangerous drugs 

with an office-based opioid treatment classification. Any increase will depend on the 

number of disciplinary actions taken. However, certain disciplinary actions could 

result in some fine revenues being collected. 

http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/
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 The Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OMHAS) may 

realize an increase in administrative costs to adopt rules regarding methadone 

provider licensure requirements. 

 OMHAS will realize an increase in administrative costs to analyze the unmet needs 

for methadone treatment in Ohio and to publish a report regarding its findings. 

 OMHAS could realize an increase in costs to establish a waiver process regarding 

continuum of care essential elements. 

 Violations of the bill's minor misdemeanor prohibition against the dispensing of an 

opioid analgesic under certain circumstances may generate, at most, a minimal 

amount of locally collected court cost revenue annually for deposit into the Indigent 

Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund 

(Fund 4020). 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 Pharmacists and terminal distributors of dangerous drugs will generally comply 

with the bill's minor misdemeanor prohibition against the dispensing of an opioid 

analgesic under certain circumstances, making violations infrequent. It is likely that 

revenues collected from violators (fines, court costs, and fees) will offset to some 

degree the costs that counties and municipalities incur to process minor 

misdemeanors. 

 The requirement that health insurers apply prior authorization requirements or 

utilization review measures as conditions of providing opioid analgesics prescribed 

for the treatment of chronic pain could decrease the costs for local governments to 

provide health benefits to workers and their dependents. 

 A local board of health could experience an increase in administrative costs if it 

chooses to establish a naloxone distribution or administration protocol or to 

authorize individuals to furnish or administer naloxone. 

 A county board of health that currently receives state grant funding to enhance 

naloxone access across the state can also, as a result of the bill, use grant funds to 

provide naloxone through a Project DAWN Program within the county under 

certain conditions.1 

 Local court systems could realize a decrease in costs if the bill's provisions result in 

fewer abuse, neglect, or dependent cases being filed and adjudicated.  

 Public children services agencies could realize a minimal decrease in administrative 

costs related to filing complaints.  

  

                                                 
1 Project DAWN (Deaths Avoided with Naloxone) is a community-based overdose education and 

naloxone distribution program. 
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

State Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy technician licensing  

The bill requires pharmacy technicians to register with the State Pharmacy 

Board, establishes a process for those registrations, and creates three professional 

registration categories: registered pharmacy technician, certified pharmacy technician 

and pharmacy technician trainee. The Board is required to adopt rules governing 

registration and regulation of pharmacy technicians. Pharmacy technicians and 

pharmacy technician trainees who violate those rules will be subject to the Board's 

disciplinary procedures.2 

To process and regulate what they estimate to be over 42,000 new registrations, 

the Board will need to hire additional licensing and compliance staff and at least one 

hearing officer. The Board's annual costs to register and regulate pharmacy technicians 

are not known, but increased revenues noted immediately below may offset some, if not 

all, of the expense increase.  

Applicants for registration as a registered or certified pharmacy technician are 

required to pay a $50 fee and applicants for registration as a pharmacy technician 

trainee are required to pay a $25 fee. All registrants are required to pay a renewal fee at 

a time and cost to be determined by the Board. Based on the Board's estimate of over 

42,000 new registrants, the total amount of money that could be generated in the first 

year by these fees will be in the range of $1.1 million to $2.1 million. The money 

generated from these fees will be deposited in the state's existing Fund 4K90, the 

Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund. Most of the money needed to cover the 

Board's annual operating expenses is appropriated from this fund.  

Operations generally 

The bill permits the Board: (1) to keep electronic books to include records of its 

proceedings, and a register of all identification cards, licenses and registrations granted, 

renewed, suspended, or revoked, (2) to adopt rules requiring reporting of violations of 

state and federal laws, and (3) to hire one or more attorneys at law to serve as hearing 

examiners. These examiners may hear and consider evidence and send findings to the 

Board for a final decision in an administrative hearing. 

                                                 
2 The disciplinary actions the Board of Pharmacy may take include revoking, suspending, or limiting the 

pharmacy technician or trainee's registration; placing the pharmacy technician or trainee's registration on 

probation; refusing to grant or renew the pharmacy technician or trainee's registration; or imposing a 

monetary penalty or forfeiture not to exceed $500. Any forfeiture collected would be deposited to the 

credit of Fund 4K90, the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund.  
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Opioid prescription limitations 

The bill prohibits pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and terminal distributors of 

dangerous drugs from dispensing an opioid analgesic in an amount greater than a 

90-day supply (based on prescription instructions) and from dispensing an opioid 

analgesic for any prescription older than 14 days with certain exceptions. A violation of 

that prohibition is a minor misdemeanor. Under current law, unchanged by the bill, law 

enforcement can only issue a citation for a minor misdemeanor; the person being cited 

generally cannot be arrested. If the person pays the associated fine of up to $150, court 

costs, and fees, that person is in effect pleading guilty and waiving the requirement that 

they make a court appearance. 

Presumably, once the bill's prohibition is enacted, pharmacists, pharmacy 

interns, and terminal distributors will discontinue dispensing opioid analgesics in a 

way that would violate the prohibition. Most violations will be first-time offenders and 

subsequent violations will be relatively few in number.  

The amount of locally collected state court costs that might be forwarded to the 

state treasury annually is likely to be no more than minimal. The state court costs for a 

misdemeanor conviction generally total $29, with $20 of that amount being deposited in 

the state treasury to the credit of the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and 

the remainder, or $9, being credited to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund 

(Fund 4020). 

The time and cost to process a minor misdemeanor is relatively low, with most 

persons cited typically opting to pay the fine, court costs, and fees, and waive a court 

appearance. This likely means that in many cases the fines, court costs, and fees 

collected will offset some, if not all, of the cost associated with processing citations. 

Office-based opioid treatment classification 

The bill requires any facility which provides office-based opioid treatment to 

more than 30 patients to hold a category III terminal distributor of dangerous drugs 

license with an office-based opioid treatment classification. The Board estimates that 

just over 1,000 facilities statewide will require licensing, including paying a fee of 

$150 annually. The additional amount of money that will be generated annually from 

the fee is estimated at $150,000 and will be deposited in Fund 4K90.  

The Board is required to adopt rules to administer this new licensing 

classification and is authorized to impose a fine of up to $5,000 per day of violation on 

any person who operates an office-based opioid treatment facility without the proper 

licensing or fails to remain in compliance with other statutory requirements. The 

amount of fine revenue that may be generated annually for deposit in Fund 4K90 is 

uncertain. 
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Community addiction services 

The bill removes the requirement that a community addiction services provider: 

(1) be operated by a private, nonprofit organization or by a government entity, and 

(2) that the provider has been fully certified by the Ohio Department of Mental Health 

and Addiction Services (OMHAS) for at least two years immediately preceding the date 

of application in order to be licensed to maintain methadone treatment. The bill 

specifies that the provider meet any additional requirements established under rules. 

The bill requires OMHAS to adopt rules that revise the requirements governing 

licensure of methadone treatment providers. In addition, the bill specifies what the 

rules must require for licensure. The bill specifies that if OMHAS has not adopted the 

rules to revise the requirements, or if the rules are not in effect on, June 1, 2017, OMHAS 

is not to issue any methadone treatment licenses. There could be administrative costs to 

adopt rules and to modify the licensure process if the rules are different than the 

current process. 

OMHAS waivers  

The bill permits, beginning on July 1, 2017, the OMHAS Director to issue to an 

alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services board (ADAMHS board) a 

time-limited waiver of the requirement that the board's continuum of care include all of 

the specified essential elements if the Director determines that the board has made 

reasonable efforts to include in the continuum the elements being waived. The bill also 

permits, beginning July 1, 2017, the OMHAS Director to issue to an ADAMHS board a 

waiver of a requirement that addiction services and recovery supports for opioid and 

co-occurring drug addiction include ambulatory detoxification and medication-assisted 

treatment if the Director makes certain determinations. As a result, OMHAS could 

experience an increase in administrative costs to establish the waiver process and to 

review waiver requests. However, if a waiver is granted, an ADAMHS board would not 

be penalized for not providing an essential element as they would have been starting 

July 1, 2017. 

Withholding of ADAMHS board funds 

The bill requires OMHAS, beginning on July 1, 2017, to withhold in whole or in 

part an ADAMHS board's allocated funds if the board's use of state and federal funds 

fails to comply with the board's approved budget. Current law requires, beginning on 

July 1, 2017, OMHAS to withhold all of a board's allocated funds in this scenario. 

Other OMHAS changes 

The bill makes several changes to behavioral health statutes. These include, 

among others: (1) adding recovery supports to many provisions of law regarding 

addiction services and mental health services, (2) requiring ADAMHS boards to make 

recovery supports available, (3) requiring OMHAS to perform the same types of 

administrative functions for recovery supports that OMHAS performs for addiction 

services and mental health services, (4) revising and providing for the consistent use of 
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terminology, (5) requiring addiction services providers to submit reports about the 

waiting lists for addiction services and recovery supports to OMHAS instead of 

ADAMHS boards and revising the contents of the reports, (6) requiring the compilation 

of statistics regarding gambling addiction, and (7) provisions regarding class two 

residential facilities. According to OMHAS, all of these changes either clarify existing 

practice or codify existing practice or modify law that has not yet taken effect in a few 

instances. Thus, these provisions should have no fiscal effect. 

The bill requires that OMHAS conduct an analysis of unmet needs for 

methadone treatment in Ohio and the impact of the abovementioned changes on the 

overall treatment capacity in Ohio within two years of the bill's effective date. OMHAS 

must also complete a report of its finding within 180 days after beginning the analysis 

and must publish a copy of the report on its website. There would be a cost to OMHAS 

to conduct the analysis and to complete the report. 

The bill permits a community addiction services provider providing services for 

a drug court in the Medication-Assisted Treatment Drug Court Program for Specialized 

Docket Programs to provide access to time-limited recovery supports.  

State Medical Board 

The bill requires the State Medical Board, by an affirmative vote of at least six of 

its members, to limit, revoke, or suspend an individual's certificate to practice; refuse to 

issue a certificate to an individual, refuse to renew a certificate; refuse to reinstate a 

certificate; or reprimand or place on probation the holder of a certificate if the certificate 

holder is found by the Board to practice at or own a facility, clinic, or other location that 

is subject to licensure as a category III terminal distributor of dangerous drugs with an 

office-based opioid treatment classification unless the person operating that place has 

obtained and maintains the license with the classification. The Board may experience an 

increase in costs to take disciplinary action. Any increase will depend on the number of 

disciplinary actions taken. However, certain disciplinary actions could result in some 

fine revenues being collected. 

Naloxone exemption 

Under the bill, an individual who is an employee, volunteer, or contractor of a 

public or private entity that provides services to individuals who may be at risk of an 

opioid-related overdose3 and has been authorized to administer naloxone to a person 

who is apparently experiencing such an overdose is exempt from civil damages, 

criminal prosecution, or disciplinary action based on the administration of naloxone.  

                                                 
3 Such entities include colleges, universities, schools, local health departments, addiction treatment 

facilities, courts, probation departments, halfway houses, prisons, jails, community residential centers, 

homeless shelters, or similar locations.  
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Civil immunity for naloxone use by peace officers 

Under current law, a peace officer who obtains naloxone from his or her law 

enforcement agency and administers it in good faith to someone who is apparently 

experiencing an opioid-related drug overdose is not subject to administrative action or 

criminal prosecution. Current law also provides immunity from civil damages for the 

administration of emergency care in an emergency situation.4 The bill adds immunity 

from civil liability for any injury, death, or loss to person or property that allegedly 

arises from an officer's acts or omissions in obtaining and administering the naloxone.  

This change makes it even less likely that a person will file a civil action against a 

peace officer related to the administration of naloxone, or if an action is filed, for that 

person to prevail. There will be no discernible fiscal effect on the courts with 

jurisdiction over such matters, most likely courts of common pleas, as cases of this 

nature are relatively infrequent. 

Naloxone protocol 

The bill specifies that a board of health, through a physician serving as the 

board's health commissioner or medical director, may establish a protocol for 

personally furnishing naloxone. The bill specifies what must be included in the 

protocol. Additionally, the bill specifies that a board that establishes a naloxone 

distribution protocol may, through a physician serving as the board's health 

commissioner or medical director, authorize one or more individuals to personally 

furnish a supply of naloxone pursuant to the protocol to certain individuals. The bill 

also specifies that an authorized individual may personally furnish naloxone to an 

individual as long as certain conditions are met, including completion of training 

required under the established naloxone distribution protocol. 

Additionally, the bill specifies that a board of health that has established a 

naloxone administration protocol may authorize an individual who is an employee, 

volunteer, or contractor of a service entity to administer naloxone to an individual who 

is apparently experiencing an opioid-related overdose. These individuals may 

administer naloxone if certain conditions are met. 

The bill also permits a physician who has established a naloxone administration 

protocol to authorize an individual who is an employee, volunteer, or contractor of a 

service entity to administer naloxone to an individual who is apparently experiencing 

an opioid-related overdose if certain conditions are met. 

The bill specifies that a board of health is not liable for damages in any civil 

action for any act or omission of the individual to whom the naloxone is furnished. The 

bill also specifies certain individuals under the bill are not liable for or subject to 

damages in any civil action, prosecution in any criminal proceeding, or professional 

disciplinary action related to the administration of naloxone. 

                                                 
4 R.C. 2305.23. 
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A local board of health could experience an increase in administrative costs to 

establish a naloxone distribution or administration protocol and to authorize 

individuals to furnish or administer naloxone. However, the provision is permissive, so 

any costs would be due to a board's decision to establish such a protocol.  

County boards of health – grant funds 

In Am. Sub. H.B. 64 of the 131st General Assembly, up to $500,000 of GRF line 

item 336504, Community Innovations, is to be allocated by the Ohio Department of 

Mental Health and Addiction Services in each of FYs 2016 and 2017 to enhance 

naloxone access across the state for county health departments to disburse through a 

grant program to local law enforcement, emergency personnel, and first responders. 

The bill permits the county health department to use grant funding to provide naloxone 

through a Project DAWN Program within the county if these entities are not making 

use of the naloxone grant. 

Prior authorization requirement for certain opioids 

The bill requires certain health insurers, including public employee benefit plans, 

and the Medicaid Program to apply prior authorization requirements or utilization 

review measures as conditions of providing coverage of opioid analgesics prescribed 

for the treatment of chronic pain. When implementing the required prior authorization 

or utilization review, the bill requires the health insurer or the Medicaid Program to 

consider all of the following: (1) if the course of treatment with the drug continues for 

more than 90 days, the current law requirements regarding physician management of 

chronic pain, and (2) if the morphine equivalent daily dose for the drug exceeds 

80 milligrams or the individual is being treated with a benzodiazepine at the same time 

the opioid analgesic is prescribed, the current opioid prescribing guidelines established 

by the Governor's Cabinet Opiate Action Team. The bill specifies when prior 

authorization requirements or utilization review measures are not required. 

As a result, there could be a decrease in Medicaid prescription drug costs if the 

prior authorizations result in fewer prescriptions of opioid analgesics being filled. There 

could also be an increase in administrative costs to the Ohio Department of Medicaid to 

process additional prior authorizations received. 

Because the requirement applies to public employee benefit plans, it applies to 

self-insured government-sponsored health plans, like the plan for state employees. 

Thus, the bill's requirement could reduce the state's costs of providing health benefits to 

employees and their dependents. Similarly, any local government-sponsored health 

plan that does not currently employ prior authorization or utilization review measures 

for opioid analgesics, prescribed for the treatment of chronic pain, may experience a 

decrease in costs of providing health benefits to employees and their dependents. 
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Abuse and neglect reports 

The bill prohibits a public children services agency (PCSA) from filing an abuse, 

neglect, or dependent complaint regarding a newborn solely because the mother used a 

controlled substance while pregnant so long as the mother enrolled in a treatment 

program before the end of her 20th week of pregnancy, successfully completed the 

program or is in the process of completing the program, and maintained her regularly 

scheduled appointments and prenatal care recommended by her health care provider. 

The bill also permits a court to hold such a complaint in abeyance or dismiss such a 

complaint if the mother is enrolled in drug treatment after her 20th week of pregnancy, 

is in the process of completing a treatment program, and maintained her regularly 

scheduled appointments and prenatal care. These provisions could result in fewer cases 

being filed and adjudicated, which could decrease costs for local court systems. 

According to the Public Children Services Association of Ohio, there would be no 

changes in caseload for PCSAs. However, there could be a minimal reduction in 

administrative costs related to filing complaints. If these measures lead to additional 

women seeking treatment, costs for local alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health 

services boards and the Medicaid Program could indirectly increase. On the other hand, 

if fewer babies are born with complications due to addiction, then Medicaid Program 

costs could decrease. 

In addition, the bill requires the Department of Mental Health and Addiction 

Services to give priority to the treatment of pregnant women addicted to drugs of 

abuse, including by requiring community addiction services providers that receive 

public funds to give priority to pregnant women referred for treatment. According to 

the Department, funding is currently prioritized in this manner. Thus, this provision 

would codify the existing practice and have no fiscal effect. 
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