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State Fiscal Highlights 

 Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act license. The Consumer Finance section of the 

Division of Financial Institutions within the Department of Commerce could incur 

minimal administrative costs to administer the new annual license under the Ohio 

Consumer Installment Loan Act. These costs will be offset by investigation, license, 

and assessment fees and fines deposited into the Consumer Finance Fund 

(Fund 5530). 

 Impact on number of licenses issued. Because the loan businesses affected by the 

bill are currently regulated under different licenses issued by the Consumer Finance 

section pursuant to the Ohio Mortgage Loan Act, seemingly there would be no net 

overall change in the number of licenses issued under the Ohio Consumer 

Installment Loan Act. However, it may be possible that a licensee would maintain 

both licenses. If so, this could increase license fee revenue deposited into Fund 5530.  

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 No direct fiscal effect on political subdivisions. 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill creates the Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act (OCILA) for a person 

engaged in the business of lending money that includes any credit transaction with a 

loan term more than six months. The responsibility for overseeing the provisions 

contained in the bill and the annual license would fall to the Consumer Finance section 

of the Division of Financial Institutions within the Department of Commerce (COM). 

Under the bill, a person who would be licensed to conduct the type of business 

under the OCILA would currently be licensed under a different Consumer Finance 

license under the Ohio Mortgage Loan Act (OMLA). According to COM, an estimated 

200 current licensees will either (1) surrender their OMLA license and apply for a 
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license under OCILA or (2) maintain both license types. Under the first scenario, there 

could either be an increase or decrease in license revenue depending on what license the 

person would surrender in favor of the OCILA license. Under the second scenario, 

where a licensee opts for one of the existing licenses as well as the new OCILA license, 

there would be some gain in license fee revenue. The OCILA license is valid for one 

year. The bill establishes a $200 nonrefundable investigation fee and a $300 annual 

registration fee. Fees are deposited into the Consumer Finance Fund (Fund 5530). The 

table below shows the Consumer Finance licenses issued by the Division over the 

previous three fiscal years from FY 2014-FY 2016 and the associated fees. 
 

Consumer Finance Licenses, FY 2014-FY 2016 

License Type FY 2014 FY 2015  FY 2016 License Fee 

Check Cashers  912 883 850 $500-$1,250 

Credit Service Organizations 45 51 56 $100 

Loan Originators  5,710 7,210 8,797 $150 

Loan Originators – Temporary  3 0 0 $150 

Mortgage Bankers  389 471 570 $350 

Mortgage Brokers  538 640 698 $500 

Mortgage Loan Originators  2,658 3,423 4,994 $150 

Mortgage Loan Originators – Temporary 0 1 0 $150 

Pawnbrokers  328 319 317 $300-$600* 

Precious Metal Dealers  123 101 133 $300 

Premium Finance Lenders  43 47 53 $375 

Short-Term Lenders 0 0 0 $500-$1,000 

Small Loan Licenses  202 189 169 $300 

TOTAL 10,951 13,335 16,637  

*Pawnbroker license is renewed biennially.  

 

Although the volume of new licenses might not increase as a result of the 

changes in the bill, the Division could incur some negligible additional administrative 

costs to administer the new license. This would include adopting rules, creating a 

license application, developing an annual report, and conducting investigations and 

inspections of licensees. However, any costs the Division might incur for administering 

the new license will at least be partially offset by investigation and license fees listed 

above. The bill also requires applicants to pay any of the actual expenses of the 

investigation when those expenses exceed $200. A licensee may also be required to pay 

in advance the estimated costs of an in-person examination. The Division may also 

require an assessment if the amount of renewal fees collected is less than the estimated 

expenditures of the Division. Lastly, the Division could impose a fine up to $25,000 if a 

licensee commits a violation. 
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Fees, assessments, and fines will be deposited into Fund 5530, which pays for the 

oversight of the various consumer loans regulated by the Division of Financial 

Institutions. In FY 2016, revenue deposited into Fund 5530 was approximately 

$4.7 million, a 20.5% increase over FY 2015 revenue of $3.9 million. Actual spending in 

FY 2016 was $3.2 million, a decrease of 8.6% over FY 2015 spending of $3.5 million. 
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