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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill requires the Director of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 

(ODJFS) to establish a licensure program for sick-child care centers at an estimated 

one-time cost of up to $200,000. 

 ODJFS will spend up to $1,500 to inspect each sick-child care center that applies for a 

license. This cost will be partially offset by an application fee, the amount of which 

will likely be $500.  

 ODJFS will also incur continuing costs to monitor the newly licensed centers. ODJFS 

will likely need to inspect each center at least once annually, again at a cost of about 

$1,500 per center, and will need to investigate any complaints and pursue 

disciplinary action as necessary.  

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill could result in an increase in complaints filed with common pleas courts for 

sick-child care centers operating without a license. There could be an increase in 

court costs and a subsequent gain in court fine revenue for any violations. 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill requires the Director of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 

(ODJFS) to license sick-child care centers, which are defined as facilities that provide 

child care on a temporary, irregular basis to children with short-term illnesses. ODJFS 

estimates it will cost up to $200,000 to establish the licensure program, including system 

changes, policy and training development, and customer service. The bill requires 

ODJFS, in consultation with the Ohio Department of Health (ODH), to adopt rules 

governing the operation of sick-child care centers, including procedures for issuing, 

denying, and revoking a license; receiving and responding to complaints; and 

conducting inspections. Both departments will realize a minimal increase in costs to 

promulgate rules. 
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Continuing costs will largely depend on the number of facilities that receive 

licenses. The bill requires the ODJFS Director to issue a license to a center after 

investigating and inspecting it and determining it satisfies licensing requirements. 

ODJFS estimates the cost of this investigation and inspection will be up to $1,500. 

However, if adopted rules require staff from ODH to be involved, the cost could be 

higher. The bill provides for an initial application fee to be set by the ODJFS Director in 

rules. According to ODJFS, the license application fee will likely be $500 per address, 

which is the same fee amount currently charged to child care centers. The bill requires 

the fee to be credited to the General Revenue Fund.  

In addition to initial licensing costs, ODJFS will incur continuing costs to monitor 

licensed sick-child care centers. Current rules for licensed child care centers require 

inspection of a center at least once each state fiscal year;1 however, sick-child care 

centers could be inspected more frequently than child care centers depending on 

adopted rules. As with the initial inspection, the costs of each inspection is estimated at 

about $1,500. ODJFS will also incur costs to conduct investigations of complaints that 

could result in disciplinary actions and to carry out any disciplinary and appeal 

hearings.  

The bill further requires the ODJFS Director to notify the Attorney General, 

prosecuting attorney of the county in which the sick-child care center is located, or the 

city attorney, village solicitor, or other chief legal officer of the municipal corporation in 

which the sick-child care center is located, if a sick-child care center is operating without 

a license. The entity receiving this notification will be required to file a complaint in the 

court of common pleas in which the sick-child care center is located requesting that the 

court grant an order enjoining the owner from operating the sick-child care center 

without a license. The number of complaints filed will likely be few, so associated costs 

will likely be minimal.  

The bill contains criminal penalties for operating a sick-child care center without 

a license, including a fine of $100 to $500 multiplied by the average number of children 

receiving child care at the sick-child care center. Additional fines might be levied if an 

individual has violated this provision two or more times. As a result, there could be an 

increase in court costs if criminal cases are brought and a gain in fine revenue if 

criminal charges are brought and defendants are found guilty.  
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1 Ohio Administrative Code 5101:2-12-03. 


