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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill imposes a 4% fee on purchasers of 1.4G consumer fireworks sold in the state 

beginning January 1, 2021, to be deposited into the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund, 

which the bill creates. Revenue from the 4% fee may be up to $1.5 million per year.  

 The State Fire Marshal Fund (Fund 5460) will gain revenue from the transfer of the 

fee revenue from the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund. Seven-eighths of the revenue 

deposited into Fund 5460 (i.e., approximately $1.3 million annually) will support 

firefighter training programs.  

 One-eighth of the fee revenue (i.e., an estimated $200,000 annually) will support the 

State Fire Marshal's activities related to the enforcement and regulation of the 

fireworks industry. Enforcement responsibilities include preparing and distributing 

fireworks safety pamphlets to all licensed manufacturers and wholesalers of 

consumer fireworks, and ensuring that safety glasses are available to buyers.  

 The bill extends an existing moratorium on issuing annual fireworks manufacturer 

and wholesaler licenses, from the current lapse date of December 15, 2017 to July 1, 

2020. If the moratorium is lifted, beginning in July 2020, there may be a gain in 

annual license revenue deposited into Fund 5460.  

 Legalizing use of consumer fireworks in Ohio may increase sales and associated tax 

revenue, benefitting primarily the GRF. Estimated sales are subject to state sales and 

use tax estimated at $2.2 million annually; it is likely that most of this amount is 

being collected under current law.   

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 If the new 4% state fee on fireworks sales reduces the quantity of fireworks 

demanded, revenue from permissive sales and use taxes may decrease. If legalizing 

use of consumer fireworks results in more sales in Ohio, county and transit 

authority sales tax revenue could increase. Estimated sales are subject to permissive 

local sales taxes estimated at $0.5 million annually.  
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 Counties, townships, or municipal corporations may incur additional enforcement 

costs to ensure compliance with the consumer fireworks provisions in the bill. If 

there are more violations cited, adjudication costs for counties and municipalities 

could minimally increase. However, these costs would be at least be partly offset by 

revenue from fines and court costs that may be imposed.   

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Overview  

The bill allows individuals to purchase and use 1.4G consumer grade fireworks 

in Ohio. Under current law, consumer grade fireworks may be purchased legally in 

Ohio, but such fireworks are required to be transported out of Ohio within 48 hours of 

purchase. The bill eliminates the requirement that the consumer fireworks must be 

transported out of the state beginning July 1, 2020. Under current law, consumer grade 

fireworks are subject to state and permissive local sales and use taxes. Beginning 

January 1, 2021, the bill imposes an additional 4% fee on the retail sale of consumer 

grade fireworks in the state and creates the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund. Additionally, 

the bill extends the moratorium on issuing fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler 

licenses to July 1, 2020. Lastly, the bill establishes a Fireworks Study Group to review 

any sections of the Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the General 

Assembly including recommendations on licensure of the manufacture of fireworks, 

purchase of 1.4G consumer fireworks, and moratorium on licenses. The fiscal effects are 

described in more detail below.  

Department of Taxation  

The Department of Taxation is responsible for administration of many of the 

provisions of the bill including the new 4% fee, which is to be administered in the same 

manner as the sales and use tax. The new fee would go into effect January 1, 2021. 

Fireworks vendors are to collect the 4% fee from consumers along with the sales tax. 

Vendors are to file a return and remit payment of fees collected monthly, or less often 

for smaller vendors at the discretion of the Tax Commissioner. The bill permits the 

Department to impose a charge of the greater of $50 or 10% of the fee owed for failure 

of a fireworks vendor to file a required return, as well as interest for failure to make 

timely payment and a penalty of up to 15%. 

The amount of additional tax revenue that may be received under the bill 

appears quite uncertain. According to the American Pyrotechnics Association (APA), 

consumer fireworks revenue in the United States totaled $775 million in 2015. Based on 

past growth of spending on consumer fireworks, consumer fireworks revenue 

nationwide might be around $850 million this year, and $1,070 million in 2021 when the 

new fee would go into effect. Ohio's pro rata share of this total, based solely on 

population, would be about $38 million. The restrictions on use of consumer fireworks 

in the state may have held down sales to consumers who would have bought fireworks 

for use in Ohio if such use was legal. However, casual observation suggests that use of 
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such fireworks in Ohio is widespread, and the constraint posed by the illegality of such 

use may be small. Some Ohio sales may be lost to other states with more permissive 

consumer fireworks laws, which include all states bordering Ohio according to the 

APA, and consumers may not be paying use taxes on consumer fireworks purchased 

elsewhere and brought into Ohio. Expanding the ability of individuals to obtain 

consumer fireworks in the state may increase payment of sales tax, though the extent of 

any such increase appears uncertain. Assuming sales of consumer fireworks in this state 

of $38 million in 2021 implies that the new 4% fee would raise about $1.5 million per 

year.  

State Fire Marshal 

Use of additional 4% fee  

The bill requires that the 4% fee imposed on consumer fireworks be deposited 

into the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund and transferred to the State Fire Marshal Fund 

(Fund 5460). Specifically, the bill specifies that 7/8 of the 4% fee collected is to be used 

solely to fund firefighter training programs. The remaining one-eighth of the proceeds 

from the new fee is to be used to fund activities and operations of the State Fire Marshal 

that are related to the regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry. As 

described above, the 4% fee could result in an additional $1.5 million to be deposited 

into Fund 5460, although that figure is speculative and based on national fireworks 

sales data from 2015.   

The State Fire Marshal will also incur minimal costs for enforcing the changes 

related to consumer fireworks in the Fireworks Law. Under the bill, the State Fire 

Marshal is to prepare a pamphlet that explains how to use consumer grade fireworks 

safely and distribute the pamphlet to licensed wholesalers and manufacturers to 

distribute to each purchaser, and that licensed wholesalers and manufacturers are 

distributing the pamphlet to buyers. The State Fire Marshal is also to ensure that 

licensees have safety glasses available for free or at a nominal charge if they are selling 

consumer grade fireworks. This will result in a minimal enforcement cost that would at 

least partially be offset by the additional funding from the 4% fee, one-eighth of which 

is to be used for this purpose. Based on the overall estimated annual take of $1.5 million 

from the 4% fireworks fee, this means that about $200,000 annually would be available 

for enforcement of the bill's provisions.  

Extension of fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler license moratorium 

The bill also extends a general moratorium on the issuance of licenses to 

fireworks manufacturers and fireworks wholesalers until July 1, 2020. However, it 

eliminates, beginning January 1, 2021, the moratorium on geographic transfer of 

fireworks manufacturers and fireworks wholesalers licenses. Currently, both of these 

restrictions end December 15, 2017. If the moratorium is not extended, the State Fire 

Marshal could issue new licenses. The fees are $2,750 and are deposited into Fund 5460. 

Any additional license revenue collected as a result of the moratorium ending will 
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depend on the number of new manufacturers and wholesalers wishing to sell fireworks 

in Ohio.  

Fireworks Study Group  

The bill provides for creation of a Fireworks Study Group to review storage of 

1.3G fireworks, purchase of 1.4G fireworks, the moratorium on licenses, and building 

code requirements for 1.3G manufacturers. The Group, to consist of 13 members from 

the public and private sectors selected according to criteria specified in the bill, is to 

submit recommendations by July 1, 2019. The bill (Section 4) states that the General 

Assembly intends most provisions of the bill to go into effect July 1, 2020, unless other 

legislation based on the Group's recommendations is enacted by then. The Group will 

incur costs for meetings and preparation of a final report and possibly additional 

reports. The bill does not provide for these costs. 

Local governments 

Law enforcement  

The bill allows counties, townships, or municipal corporations to restrict or ban 

the discharge, ignition, or explosion of consumer fireworks. Additionally, the bill 

requires that people who are discharging, igniting, or exploding consumer fireworks 

not be under the influence of intoxicating liquor, alcohol, or controlled substances. 

Altogether, it may be that local governments incur additional enforcement costs to 

ensure that people are complying with the provisions of the bill. If there are more 

violations cited and prosecuted under the bill, adjudication costs for counties and 

municipalities could increase. However, these costs would be at least partially offset by 

revenue from more citations being issued. 

Sales tax collections  

Sales of consumer fireworks in Ohio of $38 million in 2021, as described above, 

would result in state sales and use taxes owed of about $2.2 million annually, based on 

the state's tax rate of 5.75%, and permissive county and transit authority sales and use 

taxes due of approximately $0.5 million, based on a statewide average of local sales tax 

rates; some, likely most, of these revenues may be collected under current law. To the 

extent that demand for fireworks is price sensitive, the higher price represented by the 

additional 4% fee may reduce the quantity of consumer fireworks sold, and may be 

absorbed in part by sellers accepting smaller margins. State sales and use tax revenue 

might be reduced if the added fee resulted in lower sales. How much sales might 

change with passage of the bill is unknown. On the other hand, the legalization of use 

of consumer fireworks may also result in higher state and local revenue from increased 

demand and sales of fireworks (due in part to the reduction of lost sales to bordering 

states), along with any charges for failure of fireworks vendors to file or pay on time. 
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Any change in state sales tax collections resulting from passage of the bill would 

alter the amount of transfers through the Local Government Fund (LGF, Fund 7069) to 

units of local government, calculated as 1.66% of total GRF revenues. Any such change 

appears likely to be quite small. The LGF would not be affected directly by the new 

state 4% tax on consumer fireworks sales since these revenues would not be deposited 

into the GRF. 
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