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State Fiscal Highlights 

 Department of Commerce – Division of Financial Institutions. The bill makes 

changes to the existing Mortgage Loan Law and creates the Ohio Residential 

Mortgage Lending Act (RMLA) based on existing R.C. Chapter 1322. Mostly, the bill 

continues the same registration, licensure, and investigation fees as under current 

law. The Consumer Finance Section of the Division of Financial Institutions would 

oversee the provisions in the bill. 

 Current mortgage banker registration exemption. The bill eliminates the exemption 

of mortgage bankers from the registration requirements that otherwise apply to 

individuals in the mortgage industry under current R.C. Chapter 1322. The current 

annual exemption fee is $350 per each location maintained by the applicant. Under 

the bill, the annual registration fee is $500. Consequently, there would be a $150 per 

registration gain in annual fee revenue deposited into the Consumer Finance Fund 

(Fund 5530). In FY 2016, there were 570 mortgage bankers who paid the annual $350 

exemption fee. 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Overview 

The bill limits the application of the existing Mortgage Loan Law to unsecured 

loans, and loans secured by other than residential real estate or a dwelling. Conversely, 

nondepository lenders that make loans secured by real estate would instead be 

governed by the proposed Ohio Residential Mortgage Lending Act (RMLA). RMLA is 

based on existing R.C. Chapter 1322., which regulates mortgage brokers and loan 

originators. The responsibility for overseeing the provisions contained in the bill would 

fall to the Consumer Finance Section of the Division of Financial Institutions within the 

Department of Commerce.  
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Fiscal effects 

The RMLA is based on the existing Mortgage Loan Law and continues to have 

the same registration, license, and investigation fees as under current law. These fees 

are deposited into the Consumer Finance Fund (Fund 5530). Under the bill, registrants 

(mortgage lenders and brokers) and licensees (mortgage loan originators) that would 

fall under the proposed RMLA registration and licensure requirements are currently 

being licensed under the existing Mortgage Loan Law or existing R.C. Chapter 1322. 

Consequently, with one exception, the changes under this part of the bill would not 

have any effect on operating costs of the Consumer Finance Section of the Division of 

Financial Institutions or the fees collected for registering mortgage lenders and brokers 

or licensing mortgage loan originators.  

However, the exception is the way mortgage bankers would be handled under 

the bill. Under current law, mortgage bankers are exempt from registering under 

R.C. Chapter 1322. and pay a $350 annual fee per location. The bill eliminates the 

exemption, meaning that mortgage bankers would most likely register under the 

proposed RMLA. The registration application and annual renewal fee under the RMLA 

is $500. Thus, there could be a slight increase in revenue deposited into Fund 5530. As 

shown in the table below, there were 570 mortgage bankers that applied for the 

exemption in FY 2016. If that many mortgage bankers were to register under the bill, it 

would increase revenue deposited into Fund 5530 by over $85,000 (570 mortgage 

bankers x $150 annual fee difference). Additionally, the table displays the number of 

exemptions, licenses, and registrations that are currently regulated under the Mortgage 

Loan Law and R.C. Chapter 1322. and are affected by the bill.  
 

Exemptions, Licenses, and Registrations Affected by H.B. 199, FY 2014-FY 2016 

Exemption, License, or Registration  FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 Annual Fee 

Loan Originator License (active) 4,751 6,300 7,932 $150 

Loan Originator License (temporary) 3 0 0 $150 

Exemption of Mortgage Banker  389 471 570 $350 

Mortgage Broker Registration 538 640 698 $500 

Mortgage Loan Originator License (active) 2,196 3,010 4,453 $150 

Mortgage Loan Originator License (temporary) 0 1 0 $150 

OMLA Registration  1,439 1,641 1,644 $300 

TOTAL 3,123 4,122 5,721  
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