Ohio Constitution
The 1851 Constitution with Amendments to 2017


XI.11 [Repealed on 1/1/2021] Senate districts

Senate districts shall be composed of three contiguous House of Representatives districts. A county having at least one whole Senate ratio of representation shall have as many Senate districts wholly within the boundaries of the county as it has whole Senate ratios of representation. Any fraction of the population in excess of a whole ratio shall be a part of only one adjoining Senate district. Counties having less than one senate ratio of representation, but at least one House of Representatives ratio of representation shall be part of only one senate district.

The number of whole ratios of representation for a county shall be determined by dividing the population of the county by the ratio of representation in the senate determined under section 2 of this Article.

Senate districts shall be numbered from one through thirty-three and as provided in section 12 of this Article.

(To be repealed on Jan. 1, 2021, per HJR 12 of the 130th General Assembly, approved by voters Nov. 3, 2015.)

(As enacted Nov. 7, 1967. Former § 11 repealed, see SJR 24, 107th General Assembly.)

This site is not the official publication of Ohio's Constitution. For the official publication, please contact the Secretary of State's office. This version is published with approval from the Secretary of State's office. To report any problems with this site, or errors to the content, please write to the webmaster@lis.state.oh.us.