My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 155

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Creates disability expense savings accounts   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend section 2329.66 and to enact sections 113.50, 113.51, 113.52, 113.53, 113.54, 113.55, and 113.56 of the Revised Code to require the Treasurer of State to create a program offering federally tax-advantaged savings accounts used to pay for a person's qualified disability expenses and to disregard the value of and income from that account in determining whether that person is eligible for state or local means-tested public assistance.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Dever, Representative Conditt

Version: As Enrolled

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
6/24/2015 Senate Passed
Yeas : 32
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Kevin Bacon (R) Troy Balderson (R)
Bill Beagle (R) Edna Brown (D)
Dave Burke (R) Bill Coley (R)
John Eklund (R) Keith Faber (R)
Randy Gardner (R) Lou Gentile (D)
Cliff Hite (R) Jay Hottinger (R)
Jim Hughes (R) Shannon Jones (R)
Kris Jordan (R) Frank LaRose (R)
Peggy Lehner (R) Gayle Manning (R)
Larry Obhof (R) Scott Oelslager (R)
Tom Patton (R) Bob Peterson (R)
Tom Sawyer (D) Joe Schiavoni (D)
Bill Seitz (R) Michael J. Skindell (D)
Charleta B. Tavares (D) Cecil Thomas (D)
Joe Uecker (R) Chris Widener (R)
Sandra R. Williams (D) Kenny Yuko (D)
6/17/2015 Senate Favorable Passage
Yeas : 10
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Bill Beagle (R) Capri S. Cafaro (D)
John Eklund (R) Cliff Hite (R)
Kris Jordan (R) Larry Obhof (R)
Bob Peterson (R) Charleta B. Tavares (D)
Chris Widener (R) Sandra R. Williams (D)
5/20/2015 House Passed
Yeas : 96
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Ron Amstutz (R) Marlene Anielski (R)
Niraj J. Antani (R) Nickie J. Antonio (D)
Michael Ashford (D) Nan A. Baker (R)
John Barnes (D) John Becker (R)
Heather Bishoff (D) Louis W. Blessing III (R)
Terry Boose (R) Kevin Boyce (D)
Janine R. Boyd (D) Andrew Brenner (R)
Tom Brinkman (R) Tim W. Brown (R)
Jim Buchy (R) Tony Burkley (R)
Jim Butler (R) Jack Cera (D)
Kathleen Clyde (D) Margaret Conditt (R)
Hearcel F. Craig (D) Robert R. Cupp (R)
Anthony DeVitis (R) Timothy Derickson (R)
Jonathan Dever (R) Mike Dovilla (R)
Denise Driehaus (D) Mike Duffey (R)
Teresa Fedor (D) Ronald V. Gerberry (D)
Timothy Ginter (R) Anne Gonzales (R)
Doug Green (R) Cheryl L. Grossman (R)
Bob D. Hackett (R) Christina Hagan (R)
David Hall (R) Stephen D. Hambley (R)
Bill Hayes (R) Michael Henne (R)
Brian Hill (R) Ron Hood (R)
Stephanie Howse (D) Stephen A. Huffman (R)
Greta Johnson (D) Terry Johnson (R)
J. Kyle Koehler (R) Steven W. Kraus (R)
Christie Bryant Kuhns (D) Stephanie Kunze (R)
Sarah LaTourette (R) Al Landis (R)
David Leland (D) Michele Lepore-Hagan (D)
Ron Maag (R) Nathan H. Manning (R)
Jeff McClain (R) Robert McColley (R)
Michael J. O'Brien (D) Sean O'Brien (D)
Bill Patmon (D) John Patterson (D)
Dorothy Pelanda (R) Rick Perales (R)
Debbie Phillips (D) Dan Ramos (D)
Alicia Reece (D) Bill Reineke (R)
Wes Retherford (R) Jeff Rezabek (R)
Kristina Roegner (R) John M. Rogers (D)
Mark J. Romanchuk (R)Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R)
Margaret Ann Ruhl (R) Scott K. Ryan (R)
Tim Schaffer (R) Gary Scherer (R)
Kirk Schuring (R) Barbara R. Sears (R)
Michael Sheehy (D) Marilyn Slaby (R)
Stephen Slesnick (D) Kent Smith (D)
Ryan Smith (R) Michael Stinziano (D)
Fred Strahorn (D) Martin J. Sweeney (D)
Emilia Strong Sykes (D) Louis Terhar (R)
Andy Thompson (R) A. Nino Vitale (R)
Ron Young (R) Paul Zeltwanger (R)
5/13/2015 House Favorable Passage
Yeas : 15
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Niraj J. Antani (R) Kevin Boyce (D)
Janine R. Boyd (D) Margaret Conditt (R)
Timothy Derickson (R) Jonathan Dever (R)
Timothy Ginter (R) Christina Hagan (R)
Bill Hayes (R) Ron Hood (R)
Stephanie Howse (D) Michele Lepore-Hagan (D)
Jeff McClain (R) Bill Patmon (D)
Ron Young (R) 
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.