My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 110

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Increases penalty if fail to stop after accident   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 2925.11, 2929.13, 2929.141, 2929.15, 2929.25, 2967.28, 4549.02, 4549.021, and 4742.03 and to enact sections 128.04 and 4765.44 of the Revised Code to increase the penalty for failure to stop after a traffic accident that results in the death of a person or serious physical harm to a person; to name those penalty changes Brandon's Law; to require emergency medical service personnel to report the administration of naloxone on request of a law enforcement agency in specified circumstances; to provide immunity from arrest, prosecution, or conviction, or to permit a court to consider drug treatment or as a mitigating factor in supervised release sanctioning, for a minor drug possession offense for a person who seeks or obtains medical assistance for self or another person who is experiencing a drug overdose or for a person who is experiencing such an overdose and for whom medical assistance is sought; to require training of certain 9-1-1 operators regarding the immunity; and to require those 9-1-1 operators who receive a call about an apparent drug overdose to make reasonable efforts, upon the caller's inquiry, to inform the caller about the immunity.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Hill

Version: As Enrolled

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Co-Sponsors Rep. Blessing, Rep. Brown, Rep. Rezabek, Rep. Rogers, Rep. Dever, Rep. Antonio, Rep. Baker, Rep. Boose, Rep. Buchy, Rep. Duffey, Rep. Green, Rep. Grossman, Rep. Hambley, Rep. Johnson, Rep. Kraus, Rep. Landis, Rep. Manning, Rep. O'Brien, Rep. O'Brien, Rep. Patterson, Rep. Perales, Rep. Phillips, Rep. Ruhl, Rep. Schaffer, Rep. Slaby, Rep. Smith, Rep. Stinziano, Rep. Young, Speaker Rosenberger, Sen. Eklund, Sen. Balderson, Sen. Burke, Sen. Coley, Sen. Hackett, Sen. Hite, Sen. Jones, Sen. LaRose, Sen. Manning, Sen. Seitz, Sen. Uecker
Subjects Transportation, Transportation : Traffic Offenses
Committees Senate Criminal Justice, House Judiciary
Effective Date September 13, 2016
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.