My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 172

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Creates fair and accurate publishing of criminal records law   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 1901.01, 1901.02, 1901.03, 1901.07, 1901.08, 1901.31, 1901.312, 1901.34, 1907.11, 2951.041, 2953.38, and 3772.99 and to enact sections 2927.21 and 2953.521 of the Revised Code to prohibit a person engaged in publishing or disseminating criminal record information from soliciting or accepting a fee to remove, correct, modify, or refrain from publishing or otherwise disseminating the information; to provide criminal and civil remedies for a violation of that prohibition; to provide that a person found not guilty of an offense or named in a dismissed complaint, indictment, or information may apply to the court for an order to expunge the person's official records in the case if the charge or finding was the result of the applicant having been a victim of human trafficking; to generally permit a person convicted of certain prostitution-related offenses to apply for the expungement of any record of conviction of an offense if the person's participation was a result of having been a victim of human trafficking; to authorize intervention in lieu of conviction for persons charged with committing an offense while a victim of compelling prostitution; to specify that the criminal penalty related to casino operators and employees participating in casino gaming applies at their casino facility or an affiliated casino facility to create the Perry County Municipal Court in New Lexington and abolish the Perry County County Court on January 1, 2018, establish one full-time judgeship in that court with the judge to be elected in 2017, provide for the nomination of the judge by petition only, and designate the Perry County Clerk of Courts as the clerk of that court.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Barnes

Version: As Passed by the Senate

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.