My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 233

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Authorizes downtown redevelopment and innovation districts   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 133.04, 133.06, 149.311, 709.024, 709.19, 3317.021, 4582.56, 5501.311, 5709.12, 5709.121, 5709.82, 5709.83, 5709.831, 5709.832, 5709.85, 5709.91, 5709.911, 5709.913, and 5715.27 and to enact sections 1710.14, 1724.12, 5709.45, 5709.46, and 5709.47 of the Revised Code to authorize municipal corporations to create downtown redevelopment districts and innovation districts for the purposes of promoting the rehabilitation of historic buildings, creating jobs, encouraging economic development in commercial and mixed-use areas, and supporting grants and loans to technology-oriented and other businesses, to specifically extend the charitable use property tax exemption to certain museum property that is open to the public and that belongs to a public or charitable organization, and to authorize collections of a special lodging tax that may be levied by certain counties to be used to not only construct, but to acquire or equip, a port authority facility.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Schuring

Version: As Enrolled

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Co-Sponsors Rep. Ashford, Rep. Baker, Rep. Blessing, Rep. Boyd, Rep. Fedor, Rep. Hackett, Rep. Hambley, Rep. Kraus, Rep. Lepore-Hagan, Rep. Patmon, Rep. Reineke, Rep. Scherer, Rep. Sears, Rep. Sheehy, Rep. Green, Rep. McColley, Rep. Brown, Rep. Smith, Rep. Amstutz, Rep. Anielski, Rep. Antonio, Rep. Arndt, Rep. Boccieri, Rep. Boose, Rep. Boyce, Rep. Buchy, Rep. Burkley, Rep. Celebrezze, Rep. Cera, Rep. Clyde, Rep. Conditt, Rep. Craig, Rep. Cupp, Rep. Derickson, Rep. Dever, Rep. Dovilla, Rep. Driehaus, Rep. Duffey, Rep. Ginter, Rep. Grossman, Rep. Hagan, Rep. Hall, Rep. Hayes, Rep. Henne, Rep. Hill, Rep. Howse, Rep. Huffman, Rep. Johnson, Rep. Kuhns, Rep. Leland, Rep. Maag, Rep. Manning, Rep. O'Brien, Rep. O'Brien, Rep. Patterson, Rep. Pelanda, Rep. Ramos, Rep. Reece, Rep. Retherford, Rep. Rezabek, Rep. Rogers, Rep. Romanchuk, Rep. Ruhl, Rep. Ryan, Rep. Schaffer, Rep. Slaby, Rep. Slesnick, Rep. Smith, Rep. Stinziano, Rep. Strahorn, Rep. Sweeney, Rep. Sykes, Rep. Terhar, Rep. Young, Rep. Zeltwanger, Speaker Rosenberger, Sen. Tavares, Sen. Bacon, Sen. Balderson, Sen. Beagle, Sen. Brown, Sen. Burke, Sen. Cafaro, Sen. Eklund, Sen. Gentile, Sen. Hite, Sen. LaRose, Sen. Manning, Sen. Oelslager, Sen. Patton, Sen. Peterson, Sen. Schiavoni, Sen. Seitz, Sen. Thomas, Sen. Uecker, Sen. Williams
Subjects Economic Development, State and Local Government : Local Government, Taxation
Committees Senate Ways and Means, House Government Accountability and Oversight
Effective Date August 5, 2016
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.