General Assembly


Short Title

Includes University of Akron nonteaching employees in PERS 
Show Long Title
Long Title To amend sections 143.09, 145.011, and 3309.011 and to enact section 143.091 of the Revised Code to include certain nonteaching employees of The University of Akron as members in the Public Employees Retirement System and to retroactively extend eligibility for benefits from the Volunteer Peace Officers' Dependents Fund regarding volunteer peace officers who are totally and permanently disabled or killed in the line of duty.


As Enrolled

Legislation Text

View Current Version

Effective Date

September 28, 2016




Senate State and Local Government Committee
House Finance Committee
House Rules and Reference Committee
House Health and Aging Committee

Primary Sponsors

Kirk Schuring


Ron Amstutz
Marlene Anielski
Nickie J. Antonio
Steven Arndt
Michael Ashford
Nan A. Baker
John Barnes
Kristin Boggs
Janine R. Boyd
Tim W. Brown
Jim Buchy
Tony Burkley
Nicholas J. Celebrezze
Jack Cera
Hearcel F. Craig
Anthony DeVitis
Jonathan Dever
Mike Dovilla
Denise Driehaus
Teresa Fedor
Timothy Ginter
Doug Green
Cheryl L. Grossman
Christina Hagan
David Hall
Stephen D. Hambley
Bill Hayes
Stephanie Howse
Greta Johnson
Terry Johnson
Christie Bryant Kuhns
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Nathan H. Manning
Jeff McClain
Robert McColley
Michael J. O'Brien
Sean O'Brien
John Patterson
Rick Perales
Debbie Phillips
Dan Ramos
Alicia Reece
Wes Retherford
Kristina Roegner
John M. Rogers
Margaret Ann Ruhl
Scott K. Ryan
Tim Schaffer
Michael Sheehy
Marilyn Slaby
Stephen Slesnick
Kent Smith
Fred Strahorn
Martin J. Sweeney
Emilia Strong Sykes
Andy Thompson
Ron Young
Troy Balderson
Edna Brown
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Bob D. Hackett
Cliff Hite
Jay Hottinger
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Larry Obhof
Tom Patton
Joe Uecker
Kenny Yuko
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.