General Assembly


Short Title

Limits testing time and provides other exemptions for schools  
Show Long Title
Long Title To amend sections 9.833, 149.431, 311.29, 2744.081, 3301.079, 3301.0711, 3301.0712, 3301.0715, 3302.034, 3302.13, 3311.19, 3311.191, 3313.46, 3313.482, 3313.5311, 3313.603, 3313.6013, 3313.618, 3313.6110, 3314.02, 3314.03, 3314.06, 3319.111, 3319.223, 3319.26, 3319.271, 3326.03, 3326.032, 3326.11, 3328.24, 3333.93, 3345.202, and 5709.084; to amend, for the purpose of adopting a new section number as indicated in parentheses, section 3319.271 (3319.272); to enact sections 3301.0729, 3302.151, 3311.051, 3313.5314, 3313.6111, 3313.903, and 3345.203 of the Revised Code; to amend Section 733.40 of Am. Sub. H.B. 59 of the 130th General Assembly, as subsequently amended; to amend Section 369.473 of Am. Sub. H.B. 64 of the 131st General Assembly; and to amend Section 733.40 of Am. Sub. H.B. 59 of the 130th General Assembly, as subsequently amended, to codify it as section 3319.271 of the Revised Code to exempt from certain education laws school districts that meet specified benchmarks; to revise the administration of state assessments; to make other revisions regarding the operation of primary and secondary schools; to authorize county sheriffs to contract to provide services to community schools, nonpublic schools, and private higher education institutions; to revise the Workforce Grant Program; to validate a tax levy question the ballot for which stated an erroneous term; to exempt an arena owned by a convention facilities authority from property taxation; and to enable state colleges and universities to establish joint self-insurance pools and make other changes regarding joint self-insurance pools.


As Enrolled

Legislation Text

View Current Version

Effective Date

March 16, 2017


House Education Committee
Senate Education Committee

Primary Sponsors

Cliff Hite
Keith Faber


Andrew Brenner
Jim Buchy
Doug Green
Stephen D. Hambley
Robert McColley
Bill Reineke
Tim Schaffer
Kirk Schuring
Troy Balderson
Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
Bill Coley
John Eklund
Randy Gardner
Jay Hottinger
Jim Hughes
Shannon Jones
Kris Jordan
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Gayle Manning
Larry Obhof
Scott Oelslager
Tom Patton
Bob Peterson
Bill Seitz
Joe Uecker
Chris Widener
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.