My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 172

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Creates fair and accurate publishing of criminal records law   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 1901.01, 1901.02, 1901.03, 1901.07, 1901.08, 1901.31, 1901.312, 1901.34, 1907.11, 2951.041, 2953.38, and 3772.99 and to enact sections 2927.21 and 2953.521 of the Revised Code to prohibit a person engaged in publishing or disseminating criminal record information from soliciting or accepting a fee to remove, correct, modify, or refrain from publishing or otherwise disseminating the information; to provide criminal and civil remedies for a violation of that prohibition; to provide that a person found not guilty of an offense or named in a dismissed complaint, indictment, or information may apply to the court for an order to expunge the person's official records in the case if the charge or finding was the result of the applicant having been a victim of human trafficking; to generally permit a person convicted of certain prostitution-related offenses to apply for the expungement of any record of conviction of an offense if the person's participation was a result of having been a victim of human trafficking; to authorize intervention in lieu of conviction for persons charged with committing an offense while a victim of compelling prostitution; to specify that the criminal penalty related to casino operators and employees participating in casino gaming applies at their casino facility or an affiliated casino facility to create the Perry County Municipal Court in New Lexington and abolish the Perry County County Court on January 1, 2018, establish one full-time judgeship in that court with the judge to be elected in 2017, provide for the nomination of the judge by petition only, and designate the Perry County Clerk of Courts as the clerk of that court.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Barnes

Version: As Passed by the Senate

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
12/8/2016 Senate Passed
Yeas : 31
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Kevin Bacon (R) Troy Balderson (R)
Bill Beagle (R) Edna Brown (D)
Dave Burke (R) Bill Coley (R)
John Eklund (R) Keith Faber (R)
Randy Gardner (R) Lou Gentile (D)
Bob D. Hackett (R) Cliff Hite (R)
Jay Hottinger (R) Jim Hughes (R)
Shannon Jones (R) Kris Jordan (R)
Frank LaRose (R) Peggy Lehner (R)
Gayle Manning (R) Larry Obhof (R)
Scott Oelslager (R) Tom Patton (R)
Bob Peterson (R) Tom Sawyer (D)
Joe Schiavoni (D) Bill Seitz (R)
Michael J. Skindell (D) Charleta B. Tavares (D)
Cecil Thomas (D) Joe Uecker (R)
Sandra R. Williams (D) 
5/18/2016 House Passed
Yeas : 96
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Ron Amstutz (R) Marlene Anielski (R)
Niraj J. Antani (R) Nickie J. Antonio (D)
Steven Arndt (R) Nan A. Baker (R)
John Barnes (D) John Becker (R)
Heather Bishoff (D) Louis W. Blessing III (R)
John Boccieri (D) Kristin Boggs (D)
Terry Boose (R) Kevin Boyce (D)
Janine R. Boyd (D) Andrew Brenner (R)
Tom Brinkman (R) Tim W. Brown (R)
Jim Buchy (R) Tony Burkley (R)
Jim Butler (R) Nicholas J. Celebrezze (D)
Jack Cera (D) Margaret Conditt (R)
Hearcel F. Craig (D) Robert R. Cupp (R)
Michael F. Curtin (D) Anthony DeVitis (R)
Bill Dean (R) Timothy Derickson (R)
Jonathan Dever (R) Mike Dovilla (R)
Denise Driehaus (D) Mike Duffey (R)
Teresa Fedor (D) Timothy Ginter (R)
Anne Gonzales (R) Doug Green (R)
Cheryl L. Grossman (R) Christina Hagan (R)
David Hall (R) Stephen D. Hambley (R)
Bill Hayes (R) Michael Henne (R)
Brian Hill (R) Ron Hood (R)
Stephanie Howse (D) Stephen A. Huffman (R)
Greta Johnson (D) Terry Johnson (R)
J. Kyle Koehler (R) Christie Bryant Kuhns (D)
Stephanie Kunze (R) Sarah LaTourette (R)
Al Landis (R) David Leland (D)
Michele Lepore-Hagan (D) Ron Maag (R)
Nathan H. Manning (R) Jeff McClain (R)
Robert McColley (R) Michael J. O'Brien (D)
Sean O'Brien (D) Bill Patmon (D)
John Patterson (D) Dorothy Pelanda (R)
Rick Perales (R) Debbie Phillips (D)
Dan Ramos (D) Alicia Reece (D)
Bill Reineke (R) Wes Retherford (R)
Jeff Rezabek (R) Kristina Roegner (R)
John M. Rogers (D)Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R)
Margaret Ann Ruhl (R) Scott K. Ryan (R)
Tim Schaffer (R) Gary Scherer (R)
Kirk Schuring (R) Barbara R. Sears (R)
Michael Sheehy (D) Marilyn Slaby (R)
Stephen Slesnick (D) Kent Smith (D)
Ryan Smith (R) Robert Sprague (R)
Fred Strahorn (D) Martin J. Sweeney (D)
Emilia Strong Sykes (D) Louis Terhar (R)
Andy Thompson (R) A. Nino Vitale (R)
Ron Young (R) Paul Zeltwanger (R)
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.