My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

Senate Bill 162

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Prohibits death penalty if mentally ill   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 2929.02, 2929.022, 2929.024, 2929.03, 2929.04, 2929.06, 2953.21, and 2953.23 and to enact section 2929.025 of the Revised Code to provide that a person convicted of aggravated murder who shows that the person had a serious mental illness at the time of committing the offense cannot be sentenced to death for the offense and to provide a mechanism for resentencing to a life sentence a person previously sentenced to death who proves that the person had a serious mental illness at the time of committing the offense.

Primary Sponsor: Senator Seitz, Senator Williams

Version: As Reported by the Senate Criminal Justice Committee

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
11/30/2016 Senate Favorable Passage
Yeas : 9
Nays : 1
[ Show Breakdown ]
Kevin Bacon (R) John Eklund (R)
Bob D. Hackett (R) Peggy Lehner (R)
Bill Seitz (R) Michael J. Skindell (D)
Cecil Thomas (D) Joe Uecker (R)
Sandra R. Williams (D) 
Jim Hughes (R)  
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.