My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

Senate Bill 235

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Exempts pre-construction activities from property taxation   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 122.121, 149.311, 339.02, 339.05, 749.07, 749.18, 951.02, 951.13, 1711.50, 1711.57, 4141.01, 4141.25, 4141.30, 4727.02, 4727.03, 4727.06, 4727.10, 4727.11, 4727.12, 4727.19, 4727.20, 5709.20, 5709.45, 5726.01, 5739.02, and 5739.03, to enact sections 718.60, 4175.01, 4175.02, 4175.03, 4175.04, 4175.05, 4175.06, 4175.07, 4175.08, and 5709.52 of the Revised Code, and to repeal Section 4 of Sub. H.B. 5 of the 130th General Assembly to authorize political subdivisions to exempt from property taxation the increased value of property on which industrial or commercial development is planned for up to six years, to make changes to Ohio's unemployment compensation law, and to modify laws governing other state and local government authority and operations.

Primary Sponsor: Senator Beagle, Senator Coley

Version: As Enrolled

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
12/8/2016 House Passed
Yeas : 82
Nays : 10
[ Show Breakdown ]
Ron Amstutz (R) Marlene Anielski (R)
Niraj J. Antani (R) Nickie J. Antonio (D)
Steven Arndt (R) Nan A. Baker (R)
John Barnes (D) John Becker (R)
Louis W. Blessing III (R) John Boccieri (D)
Kristin Boggs (D) Terry Boose (R)
Janine R. Boyd (D) Andrew Brenner (R)
Jim Buchy (R) Tony Burkley (R)
Nicholas J. Celebrezze (D) Jack Cera (D)
Kathleen Clyde (D) Margaret Conditt (R)
Hearcel F. Craig (D) Robert R. Cupp (R)
Michael F. Curtin (D) Anthony DeVitis (R)
Jonathan Dever (R) Mike Dovilla (R)
Denise Driehaus (D) Mike Duffey (R)
Teresa Fedor (D) Theresa Gavarone (R)
Timothy Ginter (R) Anne Gonzales (R)
Doug Green (R) Cheryl L. Grossman (R)
Christina Hagan (R) David Hall (R)
Stephen D. Hambley (R) Bill Hayes (R)
Michael Henne (R) Brian Hill (R)
Stephanie Howse (D) Stephen A. Huffman (R)
Greta Johnson (D) J. Kyle Koehler (R)
Christie Bryant Kuhns (D) Stephanie Kunze (R)
Sarah LaTourette (R) Al Landis (R)
David Leland (D) Michele Lepore-Hagan (D)
Ron Maag (R) Nathan H. Manning (R)
Robert McColley (R) Michael J. O'Brien (D)
Sean O'Brien (D) Bill Patmon (D)
John Patterson (D) Dorothy Pelanda (R)
Rick Perales (R) Debbie Phillips (D)
Alicia Reece (D) Bill Reineke (R)
Wes Retherford (R) Jeff Rezabek (R)
John M. Rogers (D) Mark J. Romanchuk (R)
Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R) Margaret Ann Ruhl (R)
Tim Schaffer (R) Gary Scherer (R)
Kirk Schuring (R) Michael Sheehy (D)
Stephen Slesnick (D) Kent Smith (D)
Ryan Smith (R) Robert Sprague (R)
Fred Strahorn (D) Martin J. Sweeney (D)
Emilia Strong Sykes (D) Louis Terhar (R)
Andy Thompson (R) Ron Young (R)
Tom Brinkman (R) Jim Butler (R)
Bill Dean (R) Wesley A. Goodman (R)
Ron Hood (R) Candice R. Keller (R)
Derek Merrin (R) Dan Ramos (D)
Kristina Roegner (R) A. Nino Vitale (R)
12/8/2016 Senate Passed
Yeas : 29
Nays : 2
[ Show Breakdown ]
12/8/2016 House Favorable Passage
Yeas : 31
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Ron Amstutz (R) Marlene Anielski (R)
Nickie J. Antonio (D) Kevin Boyce (D)
Jim Buchy (R) Tony Burkley (R)
Jack Cera (D) Kathleen Clyde (D)
Robert R. Cupp (R) Mike Dovilla (R)
Denise Driehaus (D) Mike Duffey (R)
Doug Green (R) Cheryl L. Grossman (R)
David Hall (R) Ron Maag (R)
Robert McColley (R) Michael J. O'Brien (D)
John Patterson (D) Rick Perales (R)
Debbie Phillips (D) Alicia Reece (D)
Bill Reineke (R) Jeff Rezabek (R)
Mark J. Romanchuk (R) Margaret Ann Ruhl (R)
Gary Scherer (R) Ryan Smith (R)
Robert Sprague (R) Emilia Strong Sykes (D)
Ron Young (R) 
5/4/2016 Senate Passed
Yeas : 22
Nays : 11
[ Show Breakdown ]
Kevin Bacon (R) Troy Balderson (R)
Bill Beagle (R) Dave Burke (R)
Bill Coley (R) John Eklund (R)
Keith Faber (R) Bob D. Hackett (R)
Cliff Hite (R) Jim Hughes (R)
Shannon Jones (R) Kris Jordan (R)
Frank LaRose (R) Peggy Lehner (R)
Gayle Manning (R) Larry Obhof (R)
Scott Oelslager (R) Tom Patton (N)
Bob Peterson (R) Bill Seitz (R)
Cecil Thomas (D) Joe Uecker (R)
Edna Brown (D) Capri S. Cafaro (D)
Randy Gardner (R) Lou Gentile (D)
Jay Hottinger (R) Tom Sawyer (D)
Joe Schiavoni (D) Michael J. Skindell (D)
Charleta B. Tavares (D) Sandra R. Williams (D)
Kenny Yuko (D) 
4/27/2016 Senate Favorable Passage
Yeas : 7
Nays : 2
[ Show Breakdown ]
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.