My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

Senate Bill 8

General Assembly: 132

Short Title: Establish 1:1 School Facilities Option Program   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 107.036, 122.174, 307.678, 311.29, 1901.32, 1907.53, 3309.374, 3333.051, 5595.04, 5595.13, 5709.48, 5709.49, 5709.50, 5725.98, 5729.98, 5733.40, 5739.01, 5739.09, 5739.213, and 5902.02, to enact sections 122.15, 122.151, 122.152, 122.153, 122.154, 122.155, 122.156, 1901.321, 1907.531, and 3318.39, and to repeal sections 126.211 and 3345.58 of the Revised Code and to amend Sections 259.100, 265.220, 265.233, 291.20, 297.10, 381.371, 395.10, 395.20, 413.50, and 512.12 of H.B. 49 of the 132nd General Assembly and Section 229.30 of S.B. 310 of the 131st General Assembly, as subsequently amended, to establish the 1:1 School Facilities Option Program, to revise the law regarding applied bachelor's degree programs offered at two-year state institutions of higher education, to modify the schedule for phasing down tangible personal property tax reimbursement payments to school districts, to modify the payment cap in the school funding formula, to modify the law governing the establishment and operation of transportation financing districts, to modify county funding sources for a tourism development district, to modify the veterans organizations grant program, to allow county sheriffs to contract with municipal courts and county courts for the transportation of persons between the county jail and a county court or municipal court, to make deputy sheriffs ex officio bailiffs of county courts and municipal courts, to revise eligibility for School Employees Retirement System pension and benefit recipients' annual cost-of-living adjustments, to repeal a provision regarding acceptance of prior college courses by state institutions of higher education, to authorize a tax credit for insurance companies that provide capital to investment funds investing in businesses in rural areas, to exempt corrective eyeglasses and contact lenses from sales and use tax beginning July 1, 2019, to provide that wages and guaranteed payments paid by a professional employer organization to the owner of a pass-through entity that has contracted with the organization may be considered business income, to make appropriations, to modify earmarks, and to make changes to reappropriations for grants related to the Lakes in Economic Distress Revolving Loan Program.

Primary Sponsor: Senator Gardner, Senator Terhar

Version: As Reported by the Committee of Conference

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
11/15/2017 Senate Passed
Yeas : 32
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
9/20/2017 Senate Failed
Yeas : 0
Nays : 32
[ Show Breakdown ]
7/6/2017 House Passed
Yeas : 97
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Marlene Anielski (R) Niraj J. Antani (R)
Nickie J. Antonio (D) Steven Arndt (R)
Michael Ashford (D) John Barnes (D)
John Becker (R) Louis W. Blessing III (R)
John A. Boccieri (D) Kristin Boggs (D)
Andrew Brenner (R) Tom Brinkman (R)
Richard Brown (D) Jim Butler (R)
Rick Carfagna (R) Nicholas J. Celebrezze (D)
Jack Cera (D) Kathleen Clyde (D)
Margaret Conditt (R) Hearcel F. Craig (D)
Robert R. Cupp (R) Anthony DeVitis (R)
Bill Dean (R) Jonathan Dever (R)
Mike Duffey (R) Jay Edwards (R)
Keith Faber (R) Teresa Fedor (D)
Tavia Galonski (D) Theresa Gavarone (R)
Timothy Ginter (R) Anne Gonzales (R)
Wesley Goodman (R) Doug Green (R)
Dave Greenspan (R) Christina Hagan (R)
Stephen D. Hambley (R) Michael Henne (R)
Brian Hill (R) Glenn W. Holmes (D)
Ron Hood (R) Larry Householder (R)
Stephanie Howse (D) Stephen A. Huffman (R)
Jim Hughes (R) Catherine D. Ingram (D)
Terry Johnson (R) Candice R. Keller (R)
Brigid Kelly (D) Bernadine Kennedy Kent (D)
Darrell Kick (R) J. Kyle Koehler (R)
Sarah LaTourette (R) Al Landis (R)
Laura Lanese (R) David Leland (D)
P. Scott Lipps (R) Nathan H. Manning (R)
Robert McColley (R) Derek Merrin (R)
Adam C. Miller (D) Michael J. O'Brien (D)
Bill Patmon (D) John Patterson (D)
Thomas F. Patton (R) Dorothy Pelanda (R)
Rick Perales (R) Dan Ramos (D)
Alicia Reece (D) Bill Reineke (R)
Wes Retherford (R) Jeff Rezabek (R)
Craig S. Riedel (R) Kristina Roegner (R)
John M. Rogers (D) Mark J. Romanchuk (R)
Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R) Scott K. Ryan (R)
Tim Schaffer (R) Gary Scherer (R)
Kirk Schuring (R) William Seitz (R)
Michael Sheehy (D) Marilyn Slaby (R)
Kent Smith (D) Ryan Smith (R)
Robert Sprague (R) Dick Stein (R)
Fred Strahorn (D) Martin J. Sweeney (D)
Emilia Strong Sykes (D) Andy Thompson (R)
A. Nino Vitale (R) Thomas West (D)
Scott Wiggam (R) Ron Young (R)
Paul Zeltwanger (R) 
5/17/2017 Senate Passed
Yeas : 33
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.