Skip to main content
Return To Search

Requires cardiopulmonary resuscitation training to graduate from high school

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 103.45, 103.48, 103.50, 311.01, 3301.54, 3311.191, 3313.60, 3313.617, 3313.662, 3313.717, 3314.03, 3314.08, 3317.03, 3317.064, 3317.25, 3326.11, 3328.24, 4109.06, 4510.32, 4709.04, 4723.651, 4723.74, 4735.09, 4747.10, 4758.46, 4758.47, 4779.13, 4779.25, 5104.035, 5104.036, 5107.281, 5107.40, 5107.60, 5107.62, 5120.031, and 5126.201; to amend, for the purpose of adopting a new section number as indicated in parentheses, section 3313.617 (3301.81); to enact new section 103.49 and sections 3301.80, 3313.6021, 3313.6023, and 3314.103; and to repeal section 103.49 of the Revised Code to require public schools to provide students with instruction in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated external defibrillator, to require training for certain school employees in the use of an automated external defibrillator, to revise the law regarding the Joint Education Oversight Committee, high school equivalency tests, and the awarding of certificates of high school equivalence, and to make other revisions regarding the operation of primary and secondary schools.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

September 14, 2016

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Cheryl L. Grossman
Nathan H. Manning


Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
William P. Coley, II
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Randy Gardner
Bob D. Hackett
Cliff Hite
Jay Hottinger
Jim Hughes
Shannon Jones
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Gayle Manning
Larry Obhof
Thomas F. Patton
Bob Peterson
Tom Sawyer
William Seitz
Charleta B. Tavares
Cecil Thomas
Kenny Yuko
Marlene Anielski
Nickie J. Antonio
Nan A. Baker
John Barnes, Jr.
Louis W. Blessing III
John Boccieri
Kristin Boggs
Kevin Boyce
Tim W. Brown
Nicholas Celebrezze
Hearcel F. Craig
Anthony DeVitis
Jonathan Dever
Denise Driehaus
Teresa Fedor
Doug Green
Stephen D. Hambley
Stephen A. Huffman
Greta Johnson
Terry Johnson
J. Kyle Koehler
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Jeffrey A. McClain
Michael J. O'Brien
John Patterson
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Debbie Phillips
Daniel Ramos
Alicia Reece
John M. Rogers
Kirk Schuring
Michael Sheehy
Marilyn Slaby
Kent Smith
Michael Stinziano
Fred Strahorn
Emilia Strong Sykes
Lou Terhar
Ron Young

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.