Skip to main content
Return To Search

Modifies penalties for drunk driving

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 1547.99, 1905.01, 2903.06, 2903.08, 2929.142, 2951.01, 2951.02, 3327.10, 4505.11, 4510.13, 4510.17, 4510.43, 4510.44, 4510.45, 4510.46, 4511.19, 4511.191, 4511.193, and 4511.195 and to enact section 4510.022 of the Revised Code to authorize a court to grant unlimited driving privileges with an ignition interlock device to a first-time OVI offender, to expand the penalties related to ignition interlock device violations, to modify the law governing the installation and monitoring of ignition interlock devices, to extend the look back period for OVI and OVI-related offenses from six to ten years, to modify the penalties for OVI offenses, and to alter the notice requirements applicable to a salvage auction or pool that obtains a salvage certificate of title for a motor vehicle.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

April 6, 2017

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Sent To The Governor Checked Sent To The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Gary Scherer


Kevin Bacon
Troy Balderson
Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
Capri S. Cafaro
William P. Coley, II
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Randy Gardner
Bob D. Hackett
Cliff Hite
Jay Hottinger
Jim Hughes
Shannon Jones
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Larry Obhof
Scott Oelslager
Thomas F. Patton
Tom Sawyer
William Seitz
Charleta B. Tavares
Cecil Thomas
Joe Uecker
Marlene Anielski
Niraj J. Antani
Nickie J. Antonio
Steven Arndt
John Barnes, Jr.
Terry Boose
Tim W. Brown
Jim Buchy
Jim Butler
Margaret Conditt
Hearcel F. Craig
Bill Dean
Michael D. Dovilla
Mike Duffey
Cheryl L. Grossman
Christina Hagan
Stephen D. Hambley
Bill Hayes
Stephanie D. Howse
Terry Johnson
Stephanie Kunze
Al Landis
David Leland
Jeffrey A. McClain
Michael J. O'Brien
Bill Patmon
Rick Perales
Bill Reineke
John M. Rogers
Margaret Ann Ruhl
Marilyn Slaby
Robert Cole Sprague
Martin J. Sweeney
Lou Terhar
A. Nino Vitale
Ron Young
Paul Zeltwanger

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.