Skip to main content
Return To Search

Prohibits certain persons from making life support decisions

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 1337.13, 1337.17, 2133.05, 2133.08, 2133.09, and 2133.12 of the Revised Code to provide that an individual's statutory priority to decide whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatment for the individual's relative is forfeited if the individual is the subject of a temporary protection order or civil protection order and the relative is the alleged victim or if the individual and the relative are married and the parties to a divorce, dissolution, legal separation, or annulment proceeding, to void any objections to a living will made by a person whose statutory priority would be so forfeited, and to provide that an attorney in fact under a durable power of attorney for health care is competent to make decisions pertaining to life-sustaining treatment, nutrition, or hydration, only if the attorney in fact is not subject to a temporary protection order or civil protection order in which the principal is the alleged victim.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

April 6, 2017

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Sent To The Governor Checked Sent To The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Terry Boose


Kevin Bacon
Troy Balderson
William P. Coley, II
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Bob D. Hackett
Jim Hughes
Gayle Manning
Scott Oelslager
Bob Peterson
Tom Sawyer
William Seitz
Charleta B. Tavares
Cecil Thomas
Ron Amstutz
Nickie J. Antonio
Michael Ashford
Nan A. Baker
John Barnes, Jr.
John Becker
Louis W. Blessing III
Kristin Boggs
Janine R. Boyd
Tim W. Brown
Jim Buchy
Jim Butler
Nicholas Celebrezze
Margaret Conditt
Hearcel F. Craig
Jonathan Dever
Denise Driehaus
Teresa Fedor
Cheryl L. Grossman
David Hall
Stephen D. Hambley
Bill Hayes
Greta Johnson
Christie Bryant Kuhns
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Nathan H. Manning
Jeffrey A. McClain
Michael J. O'Brien
Sean O'Brien
John Patterson
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Daniel Ramos
Alicia Reece
Jeffery S. Rezabek
John M. Rogers
Scott Ryan
Gary Scherer
Kirk Schuring
Michael Sheehy
Marilyn Slaby
Kent Smith
Ryan Smith
Martin J. Sweeney
Emilia Strong Sykes
Lou Terhar
Andy Thompson
Ron Young
Paul Zeltwanger

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office at 180 S. Civic Center Dr., Columbus, OH 43215.