Skip to main content
Return To Search

Authorize nurses to compel mental health evaluations

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 140.01, 339.01, 2925.03, 3715.08, 3719.13, 3719.27, 3719.61, 3721.01, 4723.41, 4723.431, 4723.44, 4723.482, 4723.75, 4729.291, 4729.292, 4730.19, 4731.09, 4731.19, 4731.22, 4731.222, 4731.27, 4731.291, 4731.295, 4731.297, 4731.52, 4759.05, 4761.03, 4761.05, 4761.06, 4779.08, 4779.19, 4779.20, 5119.01, 5119.21, 5119.34, 5119.36, 5119.361, 5119.37, 5119.39, 5119.391, 5119.392, 5119.99, 5122.01, and 5122.10; to amend, for the purpose of adopting new section numbers as indicated in parentheses, sections 5119.37 (5119.431) and 5119.39 (5119.43); to enact new section 5119.37 and sections 5119.35 and 5119.371 of the Revised Code; and to amend Section 757.20 of Am. Sub. H.B. 49 of the 132nd General Assembly to authorize certain advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) to have a person involuntarily transported to a hospital for a mental health examination; to modify APRN standard care arrangement requirements; to clarify APRN license application requirements; to grandfather certain APRNs from meeting educational and examination requirements for licensure; to reduce the pre-examination practice requirement for certain dialysis technician applicants; to make changes in the laws administered by the State Medical Board, including those related to physician training certificates and limited permits to practice respiratory care; to coordinate procedures for investigating Respiratory Care Law violations with procedures governing State Medical Board investigations; to make changes relating to physician assistant supervision agreements; to authorize a board of county hospital trustees of a charter county hospital to have hospital facilities in a county contiguous to any charter county; to establish a biennial license renewal system for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists; to modify an allocation to children's crisis care facilities; to require certification of certain addiction services; to modify the requirements for licensure of methadone treatment programs and to require licensure of other opioid treatment programs; to repeal sections 5119.367, 5119.391, and 5119.392 of the Revised Code twelve months after the effective date of this act; and to declare an emergency.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

September 28, 2018
Emergency: Certain sections effective June 29, 2018; other sections effective June 29, 2019 or September 29, 2019

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Rick Carfagna
Scott Ryan


Edna Brown
Dave Burke
John Eklund
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Stephanie Kunze
Peggy Lehner
Sean O'Brien
Joseph Schiavoni
Vernon Sykes
Charleta B. Tavares
Cecil Thomas
Kenny Yuko
Marlene Anielski
Nickie J. Antonio
Steven M. Arndt
Heather Bishoff
Louis W. Blessing III
John A. Boccieri
Janine R. Boyd
Andrew Brenner
Jim Butler
Nicholas Celebrezze
Kathleen Clyde
Hearcel F. Craig
Robert R. Cupp
Jonathan Dever
Mike Duffey
Jay Edwards
Teresa Fedor
Theresa Gavarone
Timothy E. Ginter
Wesley A. Goodman
Doug Green
Dave Greenspan
Stephen D. Hambley
Glenn W. Holmes
Larry Householder
Stephanie D. Howse
Stephen A. Huffman
Catherine D. Ingram
Candice Keller
Bernadine Kennedy Kent
Darrell Kick
Sarah LaTourette
Al Landis
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Nathan H. Manning
Adam C. Miller
Michael J. O'Brien
Thomas F. Patton
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Daniel Ramos
Alicia Reece
Bill Reineke
Craig S. Riedel
John M. Rogers
Tim Schaffer
Gary Scherer
Bill Seitz
Robert Cole Sprague
Dick Stein
Fred Strahorn
Martin J. Sweeney
Thomas West
Scott Wiggam
Ron Young

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office at 180 S. Civic Center Dr., Columbus, OH 43215.