Skip to main content
Return To Search

Enact Reagan Tokes Law-indefinite prison terms

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 109.42, 121.22, 149.43, 1901.021, 2903.06, 2903.08, 2903.11, 2903.12, 2905.01, 2905.32, 2907.02, 2907.03, 2907.05, 2907.07, 2907.321, 2907.322, 2907.323, 2919.22, 2919.25, 2921.321, 2921.36, 2923.132, 2925.01, 2925.02, 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.041, 2925.05, 2925.11, 2929.01, 2929.13, 2929.14, 2929.142, 2929.15, 2929.18, 2929.19, 2929.191, 2929.20, 2929.61, 2930.16, 2943.032, 2953.08, 2967.01, 2967.021, 2967.03, 2967.13, 2967.19, 2967.191, 2967.193, 2967.26, 2967.28, 2971.03, 3719.99, 5120.021, 5120.53, 5120.66, and 5120.80 and to enact sections 109.68, 2901.011, 2929.144, 2967.271, and 5120.038 of the Revised Code to provide for indefinite prison terms for first or second degree felonies, with presumptive release of offenders sentenced to such a term at the end of the minimum term; to generally allow the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction with approval of the sentencing court to reduce the minimum term for exceptional conduct or adjustment to incarceration; to allow the Department to rebut the release presumption and keep the offender in prison up to the maximum term if it makes specified findings; to require the Adult Parole Authority to study the feasibility of certain GPS monitoring functions; to prioritize funding for residential service contracts that reduce homeless offenders; to name those provisions of the act the Reagan Tokes Law; to include conduct involving an impaired person within certain sex offenses relating to conduct involving a minor; to require the Attorney General to create and maintain a statewide tracking system for the processing of sexual assault examination kits; and to eliminate the requirement that one of the judges of the Wayne County Municipal Court sit within the municipal corporation of Orrville.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

March 22, 2019

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Sent To The Governor Checked Sent To The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Kevin Bacon
Sean O'Brien


Troy Balderson
Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
William P. Coley, II
Matt Dolan
John Eklund
Randy Gardner
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Jay Hottinger
Matt Huffman
Stephanie Kunze
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Gayle Manning
Scott Oelslager
Bob Peterson
Joseph Schiavoni
Lou Terhar
Sandra Williams
Steve Wilson
Kenny Yuko
Marlene Anielski
Niraj J. Antani
Nickie J. Antonio
Andrew Brenner
Richard D. Brown
Jim Butler
Rick Carfagna
Nicholas Celebrezze
Hearcel F. Craig
Bill Dean
Mike Duffey
Jay Edwards
Tavia Galonski
Theresa Gavarone
Dave Greenspan
Christina Hagan
Stephen D. Hambley
Michael Henne
James M. Hoops
Jim Hughes
Terry Johnson
Bernadine Kennedy Kent
Darrell Kick
Sarah LaTourette
Laura Lanese
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Nathan H. Manning
Riordan T. McClain
Derek Merrin
Adam C. Miller
Michael J. O'Brien
John Patterson
Thomas F. Patton
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Daniel Ramos
Bill Reineke
Wes Retherford
Craig S. Riedel
Kristina Roegner
John M. Rogers
Mark J. Romanchuk
Tim Schaffer
Gary Scherer
Ryan Smith
J. Todd Smith
Dick Stein
Bride Rose Sweeney
Andy Thompson
Scott Wiggam
Ron Young

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.