Skip to main content
Return To Search

Regards school security and youth suicide awareness/training

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 149.433, 3313.536, 3313.60, 3313.951, 3314.03, 3319.073, 3319.31, 3326.11, 3328.24, and 3737.73; to amend, for the purpose of adopting a new section number as indicated in parentheses, section 3313.536 (5502.262); and to enact sections 3301.221, 3313.669, 3313.6610, 3313.6611, and 5502.263 of the Revised Code and to amend Sections 221.30 and 265.210, as subsequently amended, of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly to enact the "Safety and Violence Education Students (SAVE Students) Act" regarding school security and youth suicide awareness education and training, to specify which public schools are eligible for school safety training grants, to establish, for fiscal year 2021, a pilot program to provide additional funding for students enrolled in grades eight through twelve in certain internet- or computer-based community schools in which a majority of the students were enrolled in a dropout prevention and recovery program for the 2019-2020 school year, to earmark an appropriation, and to declare an emergency.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

March 24, 2021

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Glenn W. Holmes
Gayle Manning


Louis W. Blessing, III
Andrew O. Brenner
Hearcel F. Craig
John Eklund
Teresa Fedor
Theresa Gavarone
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Jay Hottinger
Stephen A. Huffman
Stephanie Kunze
Tina Maharath
Nathan H. Manning
Sean J. O'Brien
Larry Obhof
Michael A. Rulli
Vernon Sykes
Cecil Thomas
Sandra R. Williams
Steve Wilson
Kenny Yuko
Gil Blair
Kristin Boggs
Juanita O. Brent
Richard D. Brown
Jamie Callender
Sara P. Carruthers
Randi Clites
Erica C. Crawley
Jeffrey A. Crossman
Anthony DeVitis
Tavia Galonski
Dave Greenspan
Stephen D. Hambley
Paula Hicks-Hudson
Adam Holmes
Stephanie D. Howse
Don Jones
Laura Lanese
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Mary Lightbody
Beth Liston
Adam C. Miller
Joseph A. Miller III
Michael J. O'Brien
Scott Oelslager
Thomas F. Patton
C. Allison Russo
Scott Ryan
Michael Sheehy
Kent Smith
Lisa A. Sobecki
Fred Strahorn
D. J. Swearingen
Bride Rose Sweeney
Emilia Strong Sykes
Terrence Upchurch
Casey Weinstein
Thomas West

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office at 180 S. Civic Center Dr., Columbus, OH 43215.