Skip to main content
Return To Search

Revise humane society law

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 109.73, 935.19, 935.20, 955.16, 959.131, 959.132, 959.15, 959.21, 959.99, 1717.01, 1717.02, 1717.05, 1717.06, 1717.07, 1717.08, 1717.09, 1717.10, 2151.421, 2921.02, 2931.18, 4729.01, 4729.531, 4729.532, 4729.54, 4729.55, 5101.63, and 5147.22; to enact sections 955.151, 959.134, 1717.061, 1717.062, 1717.16, 1717.17, 1717.18, 4729.533, 4729.534, 4729.535, 4729.542, 4729.991, and 4741.201; and to repeal sections 1717.03, 1717.04, 1717.14, and 3113.10 of the Revised Code to make changes to humane society law, to make humane society agents subject to bribery law, to establish procedures for the seizure and impoundment of certain animals and livestock, to make changes to animal euthanasia and animal seizure laws, and to re-enact provisions of law governing animal fighting and bestiality.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

March 31, 2021

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Sent To The Governor Unchecked Sent To The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Stephen D. Hambley
Darrell Kick


Nickie J. Antonio
Louis W. Blessing, III
Andrew O. Brenner
Dave Burke
William P. Coley, II
Hearcel F. Craig
John Eklund
Theresa Gavarone
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Matt Huffman
Stephen A. Huffman
Terry Johnson
Stephanie Kunze
Peggy Lehner
Rob McColley
Sean J. O'Brien
Larry Obhof
Bob Peterson
Kristina D. Roegner
Michael A. Rulli
Vernon Sykes
Cecil Thomas
Steve Wilson
Cindy Abrams
Richard D. Brown
Jim Butler
Jamie Callender
Rick Carfagna
Sara P. Carruthers
Jeffrey A. Crossman
Bill Dean
Sedrick Denson
Tavia Galonski
Haraz N. Ghanbari
Timothy E. Ginter
Doug Green
Dave Greenspan
Diane V. Grendell
Brett Hudson Hillyer
Adam Holmes
Don Jones
J. Kyle Koehler
Jeff LaRe
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Mary Lightbody
P. Scott Lipps
Beth Liston
Don Manning
Michael J. O'Brien
Thomas F. Patton
Rick Perales
Phil Plummer
Bill Reineke
Bill Roemer
John M. Rogers
Bill Seitz
J. Todd Smith
Dick Stein
Terrence Upchurch
Scott Wiggam

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office at 180 S. Civic Center Dr., Columbus, OH 43215.