Skip to main content
Return To Search

Expand penalty for theft in office/restitution for audit costs

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 319.16, 2307.382, 2921.41, 2953.32, 2953.321, 2953.36, 2953.51, 2953.54, and 5747.12 and to enact section 117.116 of the Revised Code and to amend Section 22 of H.B. 197 of the 133rd General Assembly to expand the penalties for theft in office based on the amount stolen, to include as restitution audit costs of the entity that suffered the loss, to modify various aspects of the laws regarding criminal and delinquency record sealing and expungement, to expand the list of debts toward satisfaction of which the Tax Commissioner may apply a tax refund due to a taxpayer, to expand the basis of a court's exercise of personal jurisdiction, to specify a separate standard for the issuing of warrants upon presentation of a court order, and to declare an emergency.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

January 7, 2021
Emergency: Act effective January 7 2021; certain provisions effective April 7, 2021

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Steve Wilson


Nickie J. Antonio
William P. Coley, II
Hearcel F. Craig
Matt Dolan
John Eklund
Theresa Gavarone
Bob D. Hackett
Brian Hill
Frank Hoagland
Jay Hottinger
Matt Huffman
Stephen A. Huffman
Stephanie Kunze
Peggy Lehner
Tina Maharath
Rob McColley
Sean J. O'Brien
Larry Obhof
Bob Peterson
Kristina D. Roegner
Michael A. Rulli
Vernon Sykes
Cecil Thomas
Joe Uecker
Sandra R. Williams
Randi Clites
Jeffrey A. Crossman
Robert R. Cupp
Tavia Galonski
Dave Greenspan
Diane V. Grendell
Stephen D. Hambley
George F. Lang
David Leland
Gayle Manning
Thomas F. Patton
Rick Perales
Phil Plummer
John M. Rogers
Bill Seitz
J. Todd Smith
Thomas West

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.