General Assembly


Short Title

Requires cardiopulmonary resuscitation training to graduate from high school 
Show Long Title
Long Title To amend sections 103.45, 103.48, 103.50, 311.01, 3301.54, 3311.191, 3313.60, 3313.617, 3313.662, 3313.717, 3314.03, 3314.08, 3317.03, 3317.064, 3317.25, 3326.11, 3328.24, 4109.06, 4510.32, 4709.04, 4723.651, 4723.74, 4735.09, 4747.10, 4758.46, 4758.47, 4779.13, 4779.25, 5104.035, 5104.036, 5107.281, 5107.40, 5107.60, 5107.62, 5120.031, and 5126.201; to amend, for the purpose of adopting a new section number as indicated in parentheses, section 3313.617 (3301.81); to enact new section 103.49 and sections 3301.80, 3313.6021, 3313.6023, and 3314.103; and to repeal section 103.49 of the Revised Code to require public schools to provide students with instruction in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated external defibrillator, to require training for certain school employees in the use of an automated external defibrillator, to revise the law regarding the Joint Education Oversight Committee, high school equivalency tests, and the awarding of certificates of high school equivalence, and to make other revisions regarding the operation of primary and secondary schools.


As Enrolled

Legislation Text

View Current Version

Effective Date

September 14, 2016


Senate Education Committee
House Education Committee

Primary Sponsors

Cheryl L. Grossman
Nathan H. Manning


Marlene Anielski
Nickie J. Antonio
Nan A. Baker
John Barnes
Louis W. Blessing III
John Boccieri
Kristin Boggs
Kevin Boyce
Tim W. Brown
Nicholas J. Celebrezze
Hearcel F. Craig
Anthony DeVitis
Jonathan Dever
Denise Driehaus
Teresa Fedor
Doug Green
Stephen D. Hambley
Stephen A. Huffman
Greta Johnson
Terry Johnson
J. Kyle Koehler
David Leland
Michele Lepore-Hagan
Jeff McClain
Michael J. O'Brien
John Patterson
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Debbie Phillips
Dan Ramos
Alicia Reece
John M. Rogers
Kirk Schuring
Michael Sheehy
Marilyn Slaby
Kent Smith
Michael Stinziano
Fred Strahorn
Emilia Strong Sykes
Louis Terhar
Ron Young
Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
Bill Coley
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Randy Gardner
Bob D. Hackett
Cliff Hite
Jay Hottinger
Jim Hughes
Shannon Jones
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Gayle Manning
Larry Obhof
Tom Patton
Bob Peterson
Tom Sawyer
Bill Seitz
Charleta B. Tavares
Cecil Thomas
Kenny Yuko
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.