General Assembly


Short Title

Regards self-defense and handling firearms 
Show Long Title
Long Title To amend sections 9.68, 109.801, 307.93, 307.932, 2901.05, 2923.11, 2923.121, 2923.126, 2923.129, 2923.1212, 2923.18, 2923.20, and 2953.37 and to enact sections 9.69 and 2923.1214 of the Revised Code to modify the law governing state preemption of local firearm regulations and related remedies, the grounds for self-defense and the burden of proof, the authority of a law enforcement officer or investigator to carry a weapon, the offense of unlawful transactions in weapons, and other weapons-related laws.


As Enrolled

Legislation Text

View Current Version

Effective Date

March 28, 2019
Certain provisions effective 12/28/19


Senate Government Oversight and Reform Committee
House Federalism and Interstate Relations Committee

Primary Sponsors

Terry Johnson
Sarah LaTourette


Niraj J. Antani
John Becker
Andrew Brenner
Jim Butler
Rick Carfagna
Margaret Conditt
Bill Dean
Mike Duffey
Keith Faber
Theresa Gavarone
Timothy Ginter
Wesley Goodman
Doug Green
Christina Hagan
Michael Henne
Brian Hill
Ron Hood
James M. Hoops
Larry Householder
Stephen A. Huffman
Candice R. Keller
Darrell Kick
J. Kyle Koehler
P. Scott Lipps
Riordan T. McClain
Robert McColley
Derek Merrin
Thomas F. Patton
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Wes Retherford
Craig S. Riedel
Kristina Roegner
Mark J. Romanchuk
Tim Schaffer
Kirk Schuring
William Seitz
Marilyn Slaby
Ryan Smith
Todd Smith
Robert Sprague
Dick Stein
Andy Thompson
A. Nino Vitale
Scott Wiggam
Shane Wilkin
Ron Young
Kevin Bacon
Dave Burke
Bill Coley
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Jay Hottinger
Matt Huffman
Kris Jordan
Larry Obhof
Bob Peterson
Lou Terhar
Joe Uecker
Steve Wilson
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.