Skip to main content
Return To Search

Prevents the use of public funds for elective abortions

[ Show Long Title ]
To enact section 3701.034 of the Revised Code and to amend Section 289.20 of Am. Sub. H.B. 64 of the 131st General Assembly to require the Department of Health to ensure that state funds and certain federal funds are not used either to perform or promote nontherapeutic abortions, or to contract or affiliate with any entity that performs or promotes nontherapeutic abortions; to provide for health departments and WIC clinics to determine presumptive eligibility for pregnant women and children; and to allocate existing funding within the Ohio Department of Health's budget to the Ohio Association of Community Health Centers for safe sleep, birth spacing, and smoking cessation initiatives.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

May 23, 2016
Effective: May 23, 2016; Sections 3 and 4 effective February 21, 2016

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Bill Patmon
Margaret Conditt


Kevin Bacon
Troy Balderson
Bill Beagle
Dave Burke
William P. Coley, II
John Eklund
Keith Faber
Cliff Hite
Jay Hottinger
Shannon Jones
Kris Jordan
Frank LaRose
Peggy Lehner
Larry Obhof
Scott Oelslager
William Seitz
Joe Uecker
Chris Widener
Ron Amstutz
Niraj J. Antani
John Becker
Louis W. Blessing III
Terry Boose
Andrew Brenner
Thomas E. Brinkman, Jr.
Jim Buchy
Tony Burkley
Jim Butler
Timothy Derickson
Michael D. Dovilla
Timothy E. Ginter
Doug Green
Cheryl L. Grossman
Robert D. Hackett
Christina Hagan
David Hall
Stephen D. Hambley
Bill Hayes
Brian Hill
Ron Hood
Stephen A. Huffman
Terry Johnson
J. Kyle Koehler
Sarah LaTourette
Ronald Maag
Jeffrey A. McClain
Robert McColley
Dorothy Pelanda
Rick Perales
Wes Retherford
Kristina Roegner
Mark J. Romanchuk
Clifford A. Rosenberger
Tim Schaffer
Ryan Smith
Robert Cole Sprague
Lou Terhar
Andy Thompson
Ron Young
Paul Zeltwanger

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.