Skip to main content
Return To Search

Study and reform unemployment compensation system

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 4141.13 and 4141.28 and to enact sections 3333.93 and 4141.12 of the Revised Code and to amend Section 11 of H.B. 197 of the 133rd General Assembly and Sections 27, 207.26, 223.10, and 223.15 of H.B. 481 of the 133rd General Assembly to create the Unemployment Compensation Modernization and Improvement Council, to revise the claims process and duties related to that process, to require the Auditor of State to examine and make recommendations on the efficiency of the process, to require the Director of Job and Family Services to create a strategic staffing plan for employees who handle inquiries and claims for unemployment benefits, to require the Chancellor of Higher Education to create a template for workforce-education partnership programs, to provide for the distribution of some federal coronavirus relief funding to local subdivisions, to extend the renewal deadline for concealed handgun licenses for ninety days or until June 30, 2021, whichever is later, to allow licensees to apply for or renew licenses with any county sheriff until that date, to authorize the conveyance of certain state-owned land, to provide funding for community projects, to make approprations, and to declare an emergency.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

October 1, 2020
Emergency: Effective 10/1/2020

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Tracy M. Richardson


Nickie J. Antonio
Louis W. Blessing, III
Andrew O. Brenner
Hearcel F. Craig
Matt Dolan
Theresa Gavarone
Bob D. Hackett
Frank Hoagland
Matt Huffman
Stephen A. Huffman
Terry Johnson
Stephanie Kunze
Nathan H. Manning
Michael A. Rulli
Tim Schaffer
Vernon Sykes
Steve Wilson
Brian Baldridge
Sara P. Carruthers
Al Cutrona
Jay Edwards
Tavia Galonski
Haraz N. Ghanbari
Brett Hudson Hillyer
Adam Holmes
Don Jones
Jeff LaRe
Beth Liston
Riordan T. McClain
Derek Merrin
Phillip M. Robinson, Jr.
Bill Roemer
Bill Seitz
Dick Stein
Jason Stephens
Reggie Stoltzfus
D. J. Swearingen
Bride Rose Sweeney

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.