Skip to main content
Return To Search

Regards companion animal cruelty; destruction by gas chamber

[ Show Long Title ]
To amend sections 923.41, 923.48, 923.51, 959.06, 959.131, 959.99, 2901.01, 3381.17, 5743.01, 5743.021, 5743.025, 5743.03, 5743.05, 5743.33, 5743.52, 5743.54, 5743.55, 5743.56, 5743.57, 5743.59, 5743.60, 5743.62, 5743.63, and 5743.64 and to enact sections 5743.511, 5743.521, 5743.621, and 5743.631 of the Revised Code to revise the law and penalties associated with companion animal cruelty, to generally prohibit an animal shelter from destroying a domestic animal by the use of a gas chamber, and to authorize Cuyahoga County to convert its existing cigarette tax to a wholesale tax and levy a new wholesale tax on vapor products.

Current Version

As Enrolled PDF

Effective Date

April 3, 2023

Introduced In House Checked Introduced In House
In House Committee Checked In House Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By House Checked Passed By House
Introduced In Senate Checked Introduced In Senate
In Senate Committee Checked In Senate Committee
Reported By Committee Checked Reported By Committee
Passed By Senate Checked Passed By Senate
Signed By The Governor Checked Signed By The Governor



Primary Sponsors

Jay Hottinger
Kenny Yuko


Nickie J. Antonio
Andrew O. Brenner
Jerry C. Cirino
Hearcel F. Craig
Matt Dolan
Bob D. Hackett
Stephen A. Huffman
Terry Johnson
Stephanie Kunze
George F. Lang
Mark Romanchuk
Michael A. Rulli
Tim Schaffer
Kirk Schuring
Vernon Sykes
Cecil Thomas
Cindy Abrams
Sara P. Carruthers
Mark Fraizer
James M. Hoops
Latyna M. Humphrey
J. Kyle Koehler
David Leland
Joseph A. Miller III
Michael J. O'Brien
Sharon A. Ray
Elgin Rogers, Jr.
Michael Sheehy
Kent Smith
Thomas West
Tom Young

Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process

The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.