My Ohio Legislature - Register | Sign In | About

House Bill 48

General Assembly: 131

Short Title: Authorizes concealed carry in vulnerable areas   [ Show Long Title ]

Long Title: To amend sections 311.42, 2923.12, 2923.122, and 2923.126 and to enact section 5103.132 of the Revised Code to modify the prohibition against carrying a concealed handgun onto institutions of higher education, day-care facilities, aircraft, certain government facilities, public areas of airport terminals, and school safety zones, to allow a sheriff to use concealed handgun license fee revenue to purchase ammunition and firearms, and to authorize certain children's crisis care facilities to maintain firearms.

Primary Sponsor: Representative Maag

Version: As Passed by the Senate

Legislation Text : View Current Version

Date Chamber Results Vote
12/7/2016 Senate Passed
Yeas : 23
Nays : 9
[ Show Breakdown ]
Kevin Bacon (R) Troy Balderson (R)
Bill Beagle (R) Dave Burke (R)
Bill Coley (R) John Eklund (R)
Keith Faber (R) Randy Gardner (R)
Lou Gentile (D) Bob D. Hackett (R)
Cliff Hite (R) Jay Hottinger (R)
Jim Hughes (R) Shannon Jones (R)
Kris Jordan (R) Frank LaRose (R)
Gayle Manning (R) Larry Obhof (R)
Scott Oelslager (R) Tom Patton (R)
Bob Peterson (R) Bill Seitz (R)
Joe Uecker (R) 
Edna Brown (D) Peggy Lehner (R)
Tom Sawyer (D) Joe Schiavoni (D)
Michael J. Skindell (D) Charleta B. Tavares (D)
Cecil Thomas (D) Sandra R. Williams (D)
Kenny Yuko (D) 
12/7/2016 Senate Favorable Passage
Yeas : 8
Nays : 3
[ Show Breakdown ]
Troy Balderson (R) Dave Burke (R)
Bill Coley (R) Kris Jordan (R)
Frank LaRose (R) Tom Patton (R)
Bob Peterson (R) Bill Seitz (R)
Edna Brown (D) Michael J. Skindell (D)
Kenny Yuko (D) 
11/17/2015 House Passed
Yeas : 68
Nays : 29
[ Show Breakdown ]
Ron Amstutz (R) Marlene Anielski (R)
Niraj J. Antani (R) Steven Arndt (R)
Nan A. Baker (R) John Becker (R)
Louis W. Blessing III (R) Terry Boose (R)
Andrew Brenner (R) Tom Brinkman (R)
Tim W. Brown (R) Jim Buchy (R)
Tony Burkley (R) Jim Butler (R)
Jack Cera (D) Margaret Conditt (R)
Robert R. Cupp (R) Anthony DeVitis (R)
Timothy Derickson (R) Jonathan Dever (R)
Mike Dovilla (R) Timothy Ginter (R)
Anne Gonzales (R) Doug Green (R)
Cheryl L. Grossman (R) Bob D. Hackett (R)
Christina Hagan (R) David Hall (R)
Stephen D. Hambley (R) Bill Hayes (R)
Michael Henne (R) Brian Hill (R)
Ron Hood (R) Stephen A. Huffman (R)
Terry Johnson (R) J. Kyle Koehler (R)
Stephanie Kunze (R) Sarah LaTourette (R)
Al Landis (R) Ron Maag (R)
Nathan H. Manning (R) Jeff McClain (R)
Robert McColley (R) Sean O'Brien (D)
John Patterson (D) Dorothy Pelanda (R)
Rick Perales (R) Bill Reineke (R)
Wes Retherford (R) Jeff Rezabek (R)
Kristina Roegner (R) John M. Rogers (D)
Mark J. Romanchuk (R)Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R)
Margaret Ann Ruhl (R) Scott K. Ryan (R)
Tim Schaffer (R) Gary Scherer (R)
Kirk Schuring (R) Barbara R. Sears (R)
Marilyn Slaby (R) Ryan Smith (R)
Robert Sprague (R) Louis Terhar (R)
Andy Thompson (R) A. Nino Vitale (R)
Ron Young (R) Paul Zeltwanger (R)
Nickie J. Antonio (D) Michael Ashford (D)
John Barnes (D) Heather Bishoff (D)
John Boccieri (D) Kevin Boyce (D)
Janine R. Boyd (D) Nicholas J. Celebrezze (D)
Kathleen Clyde (D) Hearcel F. Craig (D)
Denise Driehaus (D) Teresa Fedor (D)
Stephanie Howse (D) Greta Johnson (D)
Christie Bryant Kuhns (D) David Leland (D)
Michele Lepore-Hagan (D) Michael J. O'Brien (D)
Bill Patmon (D) Debbie Phillips (D)
Dan Ramos (D) Alicia Reece (D)
Michael Sheehy (D) Stephen Slesnick (D)
Kent Smith (D) Michael Stinziano (D)
Fred Strahorn (D) Martin J. Sweeney (D)
Emilia Strong Sykes (D) 
6/17/2015 House Favorable Passage
Yeas : 9
Nays : 2
[ Show Breakdown ]
John Becker (R) Cheryl L. Grossman (R)
Bob D. Hackett (R) Ron Hood (R)
Stephen A. Huffman (R) Sarah LaTourette (R)
Ron Maag (R) Rick Perales (R)
Martin J. Sweeney (D) 
Michael F. Curtin (D) Ronald V. Gerberry (D)
2/18/2015 House Re-referred
Yeas : 11
Nays : 0
[ Show Breakdown ]
Louis W. Blessing III (R) Tim W. Brown (R)
Jim Buchy (R) Jim Butler (R)
Kathleen Clyde (D) Michael F. Curtin (D)
Ronald V. Gerberry (D) Doug Green (R)
David Leland (D) Dorothy Pelanda (R)
Ryan Smith (R) 
Learn More : Glossary of Terms | The Legislative Process
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.